The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2021-05-04 13:35:14

Rpisp
Member
Registered: 2021-04-19
Posts: 30  

networking

I normally would plug in the network cable to install Devuan.

But I now have to install on a computer with no wired Network.

If I have to I will get a USB wired network card.

My question is, durring install, I can get the wireless to list Networks and select one.

It however refuses to connect.

Is there anyone with tips on how to enter the wifi password properly?

It does try to connect but then Cycles through the whole select your network again.

Thanks in advance

Offline

#2 2021-05-04 14:16:49

Andre4freedom
Member
Registered: 2017-11-15
Posts: 52  

Re: networking

Just a hint: be sure to type in the password correctly. That requires a correct keyboard setup!!
The WiFi PreShared Keys are, of course, case sensitive.
Good luck.

Offline

#3 2021-05-04 14:21:31

dice
Member
Registered: 2020-11-22
Posts: 448  
Website

Re: networking

What installation medium are you using?

I noticed this on the alpha chimaera iso, what i did was go back to previous steps and or abort installation and start again. This happened in my second install of chimaera, the first went fine so not sure why this was happening.


Do good things.  Share.  Be helpful.  Be decent.  Live large.
E.V.I.L = Electronic Virtual Intelligent Life

Offline

#4 2021-05-04 17:51:02

Rpisp
Member
Registered: 2021-04-19
Posts: 30  

Re: networking

I just downloaded the devuan iso.

I think it was a bit of a minimalistic one.

I think I should try the live desktop iso

Might go better

At any rate im putting it on a usb drive via mkusb

Its interesting the mentioning of the keyboard layout

What is the default?

Thanks in advance

Last edited by Rpisp (2021-05-04 17:57:10)

Offline

#5 2021-05-04 18:02:33

Rpisp
Member
Registered: 2021-04-19
Posts: 30  

Re: networking

Just curious does the desktop iso include non-free?

Offline

#6 2021-05-04 19:48:58

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,857  

Re: networking

I'm another one who saw this on the chimaera isos. I don't know if it's in any of the beowulf isos. My solution was to change the wireless password to one that contained only lower-case characters, and it worked. Disabling the password worked, too.

It only seems to be a problem with the installer. The installed system works fine with the original password that contains other characters.

All the installer isos have non-free firmware that gets installed if your hardware needs it unless to choose expert install and tell it you don't want non-free. In the live-isos, most of the wireless firmware packages are already installed.

Offline

#7 2021-05-04 21:14:00

Rpisp
Member
Registered: 2021-04-19
Posts: 30  

Re: networking

Okay well I see the desktop ISO

I am currently searching for the Live Iso that you're mentioning

I think that would be the easiest way to go

Can you possibly direct me to the live ISO (or i will search after work)

Thanks


Edit

Is there a live iso with an actual desktop?

Found the minimal live

Thanks

Last edited by Rpisp (2021-05-04 21:18:46)

Offline

#8 2021-05-04 22:18:26

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 2,184  

Re: networking

Rpisp wrote:

Is there a live iso with an actual desktop?

Yes.  The desktop-live.

All available isos are described at https://www.devuan.org/get-devuan  The two you mentioned are quite different:

desktop-live (1.2 GB): Explore the default Xfce desktop before installing. Then install easily and quickly from the live session using the refractainstaller. Firmware is installed but can easily be removed.

minimal-live (~460 MB): A full-featured, console-based recovery tool with a focus on accessibility for visually-impaired and blind users. Uses the refractainstaller.

Offline

#9 2021-05-05 02:46:32

Rpisp
Member
Registered: 2021-04-19
Posts: 30  

Re: networking

So this tablet has 64 bit architecture and 32 bit uefi

As such the 64 bit netinstall loads but won't connect

The 64 bit desktop ones won't load due to uefi

I am running out of ideas

Edit

Forgot, the desktop live says no sutable screens found loading visually impared mode

Then i get 1000 errors

Last edited by Rpisp (2021-05-05 02:47:45)

Offline

#10 2021-05-05 02:57:51

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 2,184  

Re: networking

Are you sure you aren't confusing the minimal-live and desktop-live isos

Offline

#11 2021-05-05 03:13:25

Rpisp
Member
Registered: 2021-04-19
Posts: 30  

Re: networking

The errors are because the visually impared stuff is missing

Offline

#12 2021-05-05 12:31:22

Rpisp
Member
Registered: 2021-04-19
Posts: 30  

Re: networking

I just ordered a $15 linux compatible usb nic

Offline

Board footer