The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2024-02-14 00:18:19

GlennW

wasted $ on multi function keyboard and mouse

Hi, just a heads up, as far as I can find...

I was reminded by a post here, I just went through my /etc/apt/sources-list.d/ and found the useless razer repo there... and deleted it.

I use a Razer Blackwidow Ultimate RZ03-0038 keyboard. It has macro recording for some special keys.

It worked really good in M$win-blows, but is mostly useless with GNU/Linux as far as I have found.

May as well just use software based macro recording. Up to now I haven't bothered to get into that.

I have not found any open-source apps or driver modules that enable macro keys to this date that just works. ( i am not a programmer)

With M$win I had it setup to do multiple keystrokes for gaming. But it was also very useful for programs like Excel and Word, while I was at University.

Just recently my logitech bt mouse failed (the type that comes with it's own usb bt dongle),

So I hunted down a decent replacement, but using my wifi/bt card resources instead of a usb dongle.

I got a logi MX Master 3S, it has multiple scroll wheels (2) scroll latching/smooth button and 3 extra side buttons.

With out hacking it too much, it's mostly useless (VLC has some default settings that switches thing around a bit),

but generally does function as any other simple mouse.

I have solaar, that keeps an eye on the battery level, and some simple adjustments, like resolution.

The BT registration is useless, if I pair it to another OS on this box, it unpairs from the other.

Pain in the butt! I still need a usb mouse on the desk in case I want to try anything else.

It does have 3 different (what I thought were) pairing options with a special button but no info about them in the manual, or online as far as I have found.

I hope this helps someone save some money and brain-power trying to maximise their usage of these somewhat expensive door stops.