The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2024-06-29 10:56:29

mclien
Member
Registered: 2020-02-29
Posts: 99  

Firefox broken?

running Devuan daedalus, firefox 115.9.1 (latest version on daedalus as it seems).

I have problems on various different sites.
My online banking site won't show some buttons, like sorting an already filtered result. (works with chromium)
Just now an order won't show me the "order now" button after returning from the PayPal site. (can't check that one, because that might end in an double order).

Am I doing something wrong? IIRC firefox should update more regularly.

Offline

#2 2024-06-29 11:15:30

igorzwx
Member
Registered: 2024-05-06
Posts: 59  

Re: Firefox broken?

firefox --version
Mozilla Firefox 115.12.0esr
apt show firefox-esr
Package: firefox-esr
Version: 115.12.0esr-1~deb12u1
Priority: optional
Section: web
Maintainer: Maintainers of Mozilla-related packages <team+pkg-mozilla@tracker.debian.org>
Installed-Size: 237 MB
Provides: gnome-www-browser, www-browser
Depends: libasound2 (>= 1.0.16), libatk1.0-0 (>= 1.12.4), libc6 (>= 2.36), libcairo-gobject2 (>= 1.10.0), libcairo2 (>= 1.10.0), libdbus-1-3 (>= 1.9.14), libdbus-glib-1-2 (>= 0.78), libevent-2.1-7 (>= 2.1.8-stable), libffi8 (>= 3.4), libfontconfig1 (>= 2.12.6), libfreetype6 (>= 2.3.5), libgcc-s1 (>= 4.0), libgdk-pixbuf-2.0-0 (>= 2.22.0), libglib2.0-0 (>= 2.37.0), libgtk-3-0 (>= 3.13.7), libnspr4 (>= 2:4.32~), libnss3 (>= 2:3.82), libpango-1.0-0 (>= 1.14.0), libstdc++6 (>= 12), libvpx7 (>= 1.12.0), libx11-6, libx11-xcb1 (>= 2:1.8.4), libxcb-shm0, libxcb1, libxcomposite1 (>= 1:0.4.5), libxdamage1 (>= 1:1.1), libxext6, libxfixes3, libxrandr2 (>= 2:1.4.0), libxtst6, zlib1g (>= 1:1.2.11.dfsg), fontconfig, procps, debianutils (>= 1.16)
Recommends: libavcodec60 | libavcodec-extra60 | libavcodec59 | libavcodec-extra59 | libavcodec58 | libavcodec-extra58 | libavcodec57 | libavcodec-extra57 | libavcodec56 | libavcodec-extra56 | libavcodec55 | libavcodec-extra55 | libavcodec54 | libavcodec-extra54 | libavcodec53 | libavcodec-extra53
Suggests: fonts-stix | otf-stix, fonts-lmodern, libgssapi-krb5-2 | libkrb53, libcanberra0, pulseaudio
Breaks: xul-ext-torbutton
Download-Size: 63.1 MB
APT-Manual-Installed: no
APT-Sources: http://deb.devuan.org/merged daedalus-security/main amd64 Packages
Description: Mozilla Firefox web browser - Extended Support Release (ESR)
 Firefox ESR is a powerful, extensible web browser with support for modern
 web application technologies.

Offline

#3 2024-06-29 11:19:01

Ron
Member
Registered: 2018-04-22
Posts: 498  

Re: Firefox broken?

Are you blocking any scripts? Have you tried problem websites in a brand new clean profile?

Offline

#4 2024-06-29 15:13:33

Andre4freedom
Member
Registered: 2017-11-15
Posts: 155  

Re: Firefox broken?

I had the same problem with some websites, and e-banking too, (Devuan 5 Daedalus, FF esr, all updated).
It used to work well, and more and more web sites started to not work correctly or at all, any-more.
Chromium did work.
So I decided to install the firefox .deb package directly from Mozilla's download page - and all worked well again.
I guess web designers include new things to their web-sites that require fresher web-browsers.
But anyway, Chromium from Devuan's Daedalus repo does work well.

Offline

#5 2024-06-29 16:17:32

chris2be8
Member
Registered: 2018-08-11
Posts: 275  

Re: Firefox broken?

What country are you in? There was problem affecting several banking sites in the UK yesterday. So it might not be firefox (although it probably is if it affected other sites as well).

Offline

#6 2024-06-29 23:17:29

GlennW
Member
From: Brisbane, Australia
Registered: 2019-07-18
Posts: 612  

Re: Firefox broken?

I get similar problems when a browser update has been released and I'm still using an out-dated version. And upgrade may sort you out.


pic from 1993, new guitar day.

Offline

#7 2024-06-30 08:00:15

Andre4freedom
Member
Registered: 2017-11-15
Posts: 155  

Re: Firefox broken?

@chris2be8
Switzerland.
But firefox-esr was definitely the problem. Firefox-"fresh" really resolves the issue.

Offline

#8 2024-06-30 12:57:52

Micronaut
Member
Registered: 2019-07-04
Posts: 214  

Re: Firefox broken?

Odds are very good this is not Firefox, it's the sites. I've had several banking sites that used to work in Firefox stop working. But I've not forgotten the current problem with the web, called Chrome. Back in the day, MS was actually investigated for twisting HTML to suit themselves and lock out other browsers. Now, Chrome is being used to do the same and no one bats an eyelid. When I switch to Chrome the sites I was having problems with work fine.

We might try filing customer service complaints with the websites that only work with Chrome. But I suspect it's too late. Firefox is now 1 percent or less of usage and they won't care. Where are the antitrust investigators now?

Offline

#9 2024-07-01 07:30:56

Andre4freedom
Member
Registered: 2017-11-15
Posts: 155  

Re: Firefox broken?

Of course, it's the "sites" that are broken. But Firefox-fresh can cope with them, Firefox-esr cannot.
Good luck to file complaints to those corporate WEB-sites.... I can imagine the outcome.

Offline

#10 2024-07-01 09:28:18

Ron
Member
Registered: 2018-04-22
Posts: 498  

Re: Firefox broken?

Andre4freedom wrote:
Good luck to file complaints to those corporate WEB-sites.... I can imagine the outcome.

I can say from being on the Pale Moon forum, which suffers from this problem even worse than Firefox, that the usual outcome is to be told "Use Chrome."

And it's not only the sites that are the problem, but also Gooble which has the power to change internet/browsing/web standards, and who also happens to have the most used browser. It's a case of the fox guarding the hen house.

Last edited by Ron (2024-07-01 10:04:43)

Offline

#11 2024-07-07 17:11:22

mclien
Member
Registered: 2020-02-29
Posts: 99  

Re: Firefox broken?

Sorry for starting this and then taking this long to reply.
But I can confirm that things re working better with the updated version of FF-esr (but the problems started when 115.9 was the up to date version).
I am aware of the "same as the IE shit" situation.
Using chrome(ium) is not my prefered way. Is there even the equivalent to the script/add blocking plugin system for chrome?

Offline

#12 2024-07-07 18:06:08

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 3,229  

Re: Firefox broken?

Is there even the equivalent to the script/add blocking plugin system for chrome?

uBlock Origin works just fine and has an option to block JS and also options to block stuff with a click..

Online

#13 2024-07-08 17:52:18

Micronaut
Member
Registered: 2019-07-04
Posts: 214  

Re: Firefox broken?

But those sorts of extensions are about to be severely cut back. Chrome will not allow effective ad-blocking in the very near future when the new "more secure" extension standards are enforced. I haven't seen the 'warnings' yet, but I think they are coming soon.

Offline

#14 2024-07-08 18:42:00

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 3,229  

Re: Firefox broken?

Well, there is always Stylus which is a bit of a pain but gets the job done. I was using it before uBlock Origin and it is still running and working. Oops . . . power just winked in and out. Thankful to have everything important hooked to a UPS . . .

Online

#15 2024-07-09 09:53:18

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,498  

Re: Firefox broken?

Hello:

Micronaut wrote:

... banking sites that used to work in Firefox ...

Same here but in only one bank out of two I use.

But then that second bank decided that I can only do home banking by doing 2FA with a smartphone and only with a smartphone (!)
I have no with 2FA, it is necessary/essential but only with a smartphone? -> Just a metadata harvesting scheme.

I was unable get them to do it via text msg to my cellphone (much safer/secure), like other banks (still) do.
Or to understand that not every one has/needs or wants a smartphone.

So I told them to FO.
Won't catch me doing any banking authentications with a smartphone.
My cell phone is a very nicely working 3G Blackberry 9320, thank you very much.

Once a month I walk to an ATM and transfer the whole of my pension to the other bank.

Curiously enough, I was able to work around the problem with this other bank last using a LibreWolf.x86_64.AppImage v.123.0.1-1, with uBlock Origin 1.58.0 and Pihole 5.18.3+Unbound 1.13.1 running in a Chimaera VM inside my Daedalus box, all behind a FO router and a passive Gigabit switch.

All this while the latest PaleMoon (33.2.0) and Firefox (115.12.0esr) will not work.
No, I have not tried and will not try with Chrome ...

Best,

A.

Offline

#16 2024-07-09 10:56:52

aluma
Member
Registered: 2022-10-26
Posts: 617  

Re: Firefox broken?

My cell phone is a very nicely working 3G Blackberry 9320, thank you very much.

Once a month I walk to an ATM and transfer the whole of my pension to the other bank.

Hello!
I'm afraid they will simply leave us no choice.
For now, my push-button phone is enough for me (I charge it once, rarely twice a month), it receives an SMS from the bank when I log in from the computer.
I don’t know about you, but we charge a fee for such a bank transfer.
I don’t know what will happen next.
And secondly, all life is increasingly adapting to smartphone, NFC technology, etc.

P.S. And sometimes today the choice of a smartphone has advantages. A specific example of my conditions - ZTE Blade A51 provides 4G without recharging for 1.5...2 days. Laptop - 4...6 hours.

Last edited by aluma (2024-07-09 11:13:08)

Offline

#17 2024-07-09 11:54:06

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,498  

Re: Firefox broken?

Hello:

aluma wrote:

... receives an SMS ...

Yes, same here.

But only to change any of the entries in previously used/verified transfer destinations or to add a new one.
Those are mostly public service accounts, municipal taxes, appartment building maintenance fees or other such payments.

aluma wrote:

... charge a fee ...

Not at the moment.

aluma wrote:

... don’t know what will ...

Eventually, we will all get screwed over.
Repeatedly and on a daily basis.

aluma wrote:

... provides 4G without recharging ...

I don't need to use my cell phone for anything but making/receiving phone calls or receiving the ocassional text message.

If I need to take photos, I have a relatively decent camera for that.
And when that is not enough, I have a pair of old smartphones which I received as gifts (no SIM installed) which have very nice screens and cameras.

I have no use for (4G) access to the web with a smartphone, never considered it to be convenient in any way.

Best,

A.

Offline

#18 Yesterday 19:05:07

Marjorie
Member
From: Teignmouth, UK
Registered: 2019-06-09
Posts: 220  

Re: Firefox broken?

I recently started to find issues with Firefox-esr 115.
However installing the Firefox PPA and using the latest version (then 127) seemed to sort it.

There is a new firefox-esr version coming out that will be based on Firfox 128. Not sure when this will hit the repositories. but I have version 128 from the Firefox PPA

 deb [signed-by=/etc/apt/keyrings/packages.mozilla.org.asc] https://packages.mozilla.org/apt mozilla main

The instructions on how to install the latest version automatically are here:
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/in … tributions

However there is an issue in that 118 has a new section in Settings:

Web Site Advertising Preferences
[X] Allow web sites to perform privacy-preserving ad measurement
This helps sites understand how their ads perform without collecting data about you.

And this is enabled by default.

Will Debian (or failing that Devuan) change this default behavior for the firefox-esr that will land in the Debian/Devuan repositories?

Last edited by Marjorie (Yesterday 19:23:01)

Offline

Board footer