The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2023-09-15 13:02:43

jemadux
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2023-03-09
Posts: 30  

[SOLVED] gimp not showing the menus .

hello i am using devuan stable and i have one problem ..
gimp not showing the menus .. is that problem of devuan or debian problem ?

Screenshot-from-2023-09-15-15-54-55.png


Dev1 Stable | openrc | XFCE
Greetings from Greece

Offline

#2 2023-09-16 18:52:58

Questionaut
Member
Registered: 2023-09-16
Posts: 6  

Re: [SOLVED] gimp not showing the menus .

As debian user i say no its not normal behaviour every version of gimp works there so its devuan bug.

Offline

#3 2023-09-16 18:56:48

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 1,112  

Re: [SOLVED] gimp not showing the menus .

Questionaut wrote:

As debian user i say no its not normal behaviour every version of gimp works there so its devuan bug.

I wouldn't blame it to Devuan. Gimp works fine and shows full menues on my Daedalus with Cinnamon DE.

@OP: which DE do you use?

Edith: by the way, except for banned packages that rely on or are systemd, the vast majority of Devuan packages are 1:1 Debian packages.

Last edited by rolfie (2023-09-16 19:51:32)

Offline

#4 2023-09-16 21:16:08

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 3,228  

Re: [SOLVED] gimp not showing the menus .

Questionaut wrote:

As debian user i say no its not normal behaviour every version of gimp works there so its devuan bug.

As a "Debian" user . . .  are you currently or have you ever actually used Devuan? Until you are more familiar with Devuan, it's probably best not to make sweeping, misleading and erroneous statements like that unless you like egg-on-face, of course . . . smile

Online

#5 2023-09-17 08:04:55

delgado
Member
Registered: 2022-07-14
Posts: 182  

Re: [SOLVED] gimp not showing the menus .

Did you reset gimp's config?

 mv .config/GIMP .config/GIMP_DEF

To be sure: Create a new user and start gimp.

Offline

#6 2023-09-17 11:54:23

OddS
Member
Registered: 2023-09-09
Posts: 11  

Re: [SOLVED] gimp not showing the menus .

jemadux wrote:

...gimp not showing the menus

Does this link provide useful info? https://superuser.com/questions/1650353 … et-it-back

Offline

#7 2023-09-17 12:04:19

jemadux
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2023-03-09
Posts: 30  

Re: [SOLVED] gimp not showing the menus .

rolfie wrote:
Questionaut wrote:

As debian user i say no its not normal behaviour every version of gimp works there so its devuan bug.

I wouldn't blame it to Devuan. Gimp works fine and shows full menues on my Daedalus with Cinnamon DE.

@OP: which DE do you use?

Edith: by the way, except for banned packages that rely on or are systemd, the vast majority of Devuan packages are 1:1 Debian packages.

cinammon desktop ...  that was because  i had some configs of gnome and solved them by deleting them

plus some gnome apps looks like that

Screenshot-from-2023-09-17-14-59-24.png

Last edited by jemadux (2023-09-17 12:22:42)


Dev1 Stable | openrc | XFCE
Greetings from Greece

Offline

#8 2023-09-17 12:18:28

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 1,112  

Re: [SOLVED] gimp not showing the menus .

I would claim Image Viewer and Document viewer windows look normal. I have got the same ...

Check your GIMP settings if you have disabled something regarding the menu settings by chance.

Last edited by rolfie (2023-09-17 12:18:59)

Offline

#9 2023-09-17 13:21:00

jemadux
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2023-03-09
Posts: 30  

Re: [SOLVED] gimp not showing the menus .

gimp is now fine after deleted ~/.gnome*


Dev1 Stable | openrc | XFCE
Greetings from Greece

Offline

Board footer