The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2022-03-30 20:02:27

deepforest
Member
Registered: 2020-03-24
Posts: 49  

network manager, couple questions

HI)

I am on sid Devuan

Some times after boot network not work(i see red cross on NM applet). Enable and disable Networking via MN is help.

1. Why network some times not working after boot?
https://pastebin.com/raw/NjGMHR2N

2. Why i have different versions network manager?
https://pastebin.com/raw/NjGMHR2N

Offline

#2 2022-03-30 20:31:37

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 2,503  

Re: network manager, couple questions

deepforest wrote:

I am on sid Devuan

Just to reduce confusion for new readers . . .

There is Debian sid.

There is no Devuan sid.

There IS Devuan ceres.

Devuan ceres identifies, works around some and blacklists other systemd dependencies in Debian sid.

Offline

#3 2022-03-31 08:34:54

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 2,326  

Re: network manager, couple questions

deepforest wrote:

Why network some times not working after boot?

Have you checked the NM logs? I don't use it myself but I presume they're under /var/log/.

What is the network hardware & driver?

lspci -knn | grep -iA3 net
deepforest wrote:

Why i have different versions network manager?

Why do you think you have different versions? I can only see v1.36.4-1devuan1 in your two (identical) posted links.


To obtain a root shell use su -. Using just su will result in "command not found" messages.

Offline

#4 2022-03-31 11:07:13

hevidevi
Member
Registered: 2021-09-17
Posts: 223  

Re: network manager, couple questions

It may be problem with your nic or network manager. I have from time to time had issues using network manager with devuan and my nic being disabled/down for some reason. Has never happened on any other distro except for Devuan using network manager.

dmesg logs might also give more information once you have given the output of of head on a sticks command.

Last edited by hevidevi (2022-03-31 11:07:29)

Offline

#5 2022-04-01 18:17:11

deepforest
Member
Registered: 2020-03-24
Posts: 49  

Re: network manager, couple questions

hevidevi wrote:

It may be problem with your nic or network manager. I have from time to time had issues using network manager with devuan and my nic being disabled/down for some reason. Has never happened on any other distro except for Devuan using network manager.

dmesg logs might also give more information once you have given the output of of head on a sticks command.

Before starting using Devuan i have same on Debian 10, 11

Offline

#6 2022-04-01 18:18:48

deepforest
Member
Registered: 2020-03-24
Posts: 49  

Re: network manager, couple questions

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
deepforest wrote:

Why network some times not working after boot?

Have you checked the NM logs? I don't use it myself but I presume they're under /var/log/.

What is the network hardware & driver?

lspci -knn | grep -iA3 net
deepforest wrote:

Why i have different versions network manager?

Why do you think you have different versions? I can only see v1.36.4-1devuan1 in your two (identical) posted links.

Here info in moment when i see cross at NM

freeartist@devuan:~$ sudo ifconfig
[sudo] password for freeartist: 
eth0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 00:1d:7d:c7:be:43  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 1  bytes 148 (148.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 91  bytes 12727 (12.4 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 91  bytes 12727 (12.4 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

freeartist@devuan:~$ ip a
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: eth0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:1d:7d:c7:be:43 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
freeartist@devuan:~$ dmesg | grep eth0
[    1.650078] r8169 0000:03:00.0 eth0: RTL8168b/8111b, 00:1d:7d:c7:be:43, XID 380, IRQ 19
[    1.650083] r8169 0000:03:00.0 eth0: jumbo features [frames: 4074 bytes, tx checksumming: ko]
[   25.348992] r8169 0000:03:00.0 eth0: Link is Down
freeartist@devuan:~$ 
freeartist@devuan:~$ lspci -k | grep Ethernet
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 01)
	Subsystem: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd Onboard Ethernet
freeartist@devuan:~$ 

freeartist@devuan:~$ sudo dmesg | grep r8169
[    1.642156] r8169 0000:03:00.0: can't disable ASPM; OS doesn't have ASPM control
[    1.650078] r8169 0000:03:00.0 eth0: RTL8168b/8111b, 00:1d:7d:c7:be:43, XID 380, IRQ 19
[    1.650083] r8169 0000:03:00.0 eth0: jumbo features [frames: 4074 bytes, tx checksumming: ko]
[   25.287147] RTL8211B Gigabit Ethernet r8169-0-300:00: attached PHY driver (mii_bus:phy_addr=r8169-0-300:00, irq=MAC)
[   25.348992] r8169 0000:03:00.0 eth0: Link is Down
freeartist@devuan:~$ 

may be this can help?

/etc/network/interfaces                                                                                                                                             304/304               100%
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

Offline

#7 2022-04-01 18:20:09

deepforest
Member
Registered: 2020-03-24
Posts: 49  

Re: network manager, couple questions

golinux wrote:
deepforest wrote:

I am on sid Devuan

Just to reduce confusion for new readers . . .

There is Debian sid.

There is no Devuan sid.

There IS Devuan ceres.

Devuan ceres identifies, works around some and blacklists other systemd dependencies in Debian sid.

Yes! Apologize me for that)

Offline

#8 2022-04-01 19:23:33

deepforest
Member
Registered: 2020-03-24
Posts: 49  

Re: network manager, couple questions

why here NM different versions?
https://ibb.co/CK8x0Q0

Offline

#9 2022-04-01 22:26:11

tylerdurden
Member
From: /home
Registered: 2018-07-16
Posts: 24  

Re: network manager, couple questions

deepforest wrote:

why here NM different versions?
https://ibb.co/CK8x0Q0

There's network-manager and then there's the network-manager-gnome applet which provides a graphical user interface on top of it.

I don't use network-manager anymore but from apt info on chimaera, I get this:

network-manager version

Package: network-manager
Version: 1.30.0-2+devuan1
Priority: optional
Origin: Devuan

and

network-manager-gnome version

Package: network-manager-gnome
Version: 1.20.0-3
Priority: optional
Section: gnome
Source: network-manager-applet

As you can see, they're distinct. In fact, you can use network-manager without the applet. Or not use network-manager at all for that matter, but that's up to you.

Hope this helps.

Last edited by tylerdurden (2022-04-01 22:28:16)

Offline

#10 2022-04-02 09:45:25

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 2,326  

Re: network manager, couple questions

deepforest wrote:

Enable and disable Networking via MN is help.

How do you do that, exactly? Please post the exact command(s) used.

NetworkManager should ignore anything listed in /etc/network/interfaces anyway so you should be able to connect fine without it.

However the sid/ceres network-manager package doesn't supply an init script any more so it won't start automatically. Yay. See my thread in the "Freedom Hacks" [sic] section for a guide to generating and using a new init script.


To obtain a root shell use su -. Using just su will result in "command not found" messages.

Offline

#11 2022-04-02 09:54:26

hevidevi
Member
Registered: 2021-09-17
Posts: 223  

Re: network manager, couple questions

@ head on a stick.

Network Manager in my experience (chimeara stable only) does not ignore /etc/network/interfaces, you have to comment all entries except for loopback otherwise network manager will not be able to connect to wifi or eth devices. As you can see OP has eth0 not commented, if they comment these out or delete from the file NM should auto connect?

Offline

#12 2022-04-02 10:01:13

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 2,326  

Re: network manager, couple questions

NM won't be able to auto connect because it won't be auto started. Debian have removed the init script for that package.

If the OP has /etc/network/interfaces configured correctly for eth0 then NM is just useless bloat anyway.

And once more for the OP:

I wrote:

Have you checked the NM logs?

Other logs are available :-)


To obtain a root shell use su -. Using just su will result in "command not found" messages.

Offline

#13 2022-04-02 10:05:01

hevidevi
Member
Registered: 2021-09-17
Posts: 223  

Re: network manager, couple questions

My thoughts as well head on a stick. But OP is wanting to use network manager which is why i replied.

Offline

#14 2022-04-02 10:13:47

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 2,326  

Re: network manager, couple questions

The OP can try the old init script:

# curl -o /etc/init.d/network-manager https://salsa.debian.org/utopia-team/network-manager/-/raw/debian/buster/debian/network-manager.init
# update-rc.d network-manager defaults

To obtain a root shell use su -. Using just su will result in "command not found" messages.

Offline

#15 2022-04-02 12:49:55

deepforest
Member
Registered: 2020-03-24
Posts: 49  

Re: network manager, couple questions

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
deepforest wrote:

Enable and disable Networking via MN is help.

How do you do that, exactly? Please post the exact command(s) used.

NetworkManager should ignore anything listed in /etc/network/interfaces anyway so you should be able to connect fine without it.

However the sid/ceres network-manager package doesn't supply an init script any more so it won't start automatically. Yay. See my thread in the "Freedom Hacks" [sic] section for a guide to generating and using a new init script.

If after booting i see cross on NM applet, i am click right mouse button on MN applet and turn OFF and when turn ON "Enable Networking" after that manipulation Network starting work again and red cross disappear)
https://ibb.co/wMZ1nbQ

Offline

#16 2022-04-02 12:51:21

deepforest
Member
Registered: 2020-03-24
Posts: 49  

Re: network manager, couple questions

tylerdurden wrote:
deepforest wrote:

why here NM different versions?
https://ibb.co/CK8x0Q0

There's network-manager and then there's the network-manager-gnome applet which provides a graphical user interface on top of it.

I don't use network-manager anymore but from apt info on chimaera, I get this:

network-manager version

Package: network-manager
Version: 1.30.0-2+devuan1
Priority: optional
Origin: Devuan

and

network-manager-gnome version

Package: network-manager-gnome
Version: 1.20.0-3
Priority: optional
Section: gnome
Source: network-manager-applet

As you can see, they're distinct. In fact, you can use network-manager without the applet. Or not use network-manager at all for that matter, but that's up to you.

Hope this helps.

Understood. Thanks for explain!)

Offline

Board footer