The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2022-03-10 23:40:05

recklessswing
Member
Registered: 2020-12-18
Posts: 20  

[SOLVED] I installed gnome, now I can't use XFCE

I installed gnome with this command: sudo apt install task-gnome-desktop
And chose gdm instead of slim. Now when I choose xfce from the bottom, it stil brings me to gnome wayland. Why? Is XFCE broken now?

Offline

#2 2022-03-11 03:26:21

andyprough
Member
Registered: 2019-10-19
Posts: 235  

Re: [SOLVED] I installed gnome, now I can't use XFCE

Does Gnome even run on Devuan? I thought it requires Soystem-D.


Primary Computer - Commodore 64: Processor - MOS 6510/8500, 1.023MHz; Memory - 64kb RAM, 20kB ROM - 8k BASIC V2, 8k Kernel, 4k Character ROM; Display output - 320x200, 16 colours; OS - BASIC V2.0; Weight: 1.8kg

Offline

#3 2022-03-11 04:30:03

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 2,503  

Re: [SOLVED] I installed gnome, now I can't use XFCE

andyprough wrote:

Does Gnome even run on Devuan?

Yes.

Offline

#4 2022-03-11 09:10:41

berni51
Member
From: Middle of Germany
Registered: 2018-12-20
Posts: 85  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] I installed gnome, now I can't use XFCE

If you have once installed Gnome, you will have it forever. Whatever you will do beside Gnome - Gnome is already there. Scary!
Remove it as long you will be ablte to do. :-)

Berni, Gnome-hater.


The good ol' days will not return, and the rocks might smelt and the sea may burn.

Offline

#5 2022-03-11 09:12:12

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 2,326  

Re: [SOLVED] I installed gnome, now I can't use XFCE

recklessswing wrote:

I installed gnome with this command: sudo apt install task-gnome-desktop

Check the logs to see if any packages were removed for that operation. I've had both GNOME & Xfce working under Devuan chimaera so it should be possible.

This should re-install the full Xfce desktop:

# apt install task-xfce-desktop

To obtain a root shell use su -. Using just su will result in "command not found" messages.

Offline

#6 2022-03-12 19:56:29

recklessswing
Member
Registered: 2020-12-18
Posts: 20  

Re: [SOLVED] I installed gnome, now I can't use XFCE

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
recklessswing wrote:

I installed gnome with this command: sudo apt install task-gnome-desktop

Check the logs to see if any packages were removed for that operation. I've had both GNOME & Xfce working under Devuan chimaera so it should be possible.

This should re-install the full Xfce desktop:

# apt install task-xfce-desktop

This gave me already installed thing. I did it with this instead:

sudo apt install task-xfce-desktop --reinstall

Offline

Board footer