The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2021-06-10 09:29:45

Guru
Member
Registered: 2021-06-10
Posts: 3  

[SOLVED] How to connect to internet using 4G Huawei USB dongle

I want to install Devuan Linux but from google search I came to know that it is not possible to connect to internet using 4G dongle in wicd. Can anyone suggest any solution...Thanks in advance...

Offline

#2 2021-06-10 10:08:35

dice
Member
Registered: 2020-11-22
Posts: 559  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] How to connect to internet using 4G Huawei USB dongle

Is this dongle like those pocket wifi dongles?

I found this link which may help from a simple websearch.

https://askubuntu.com/questions/1249108 … -4g-dongle

Offline

#3 2021-06-11 03:55:57

Guru
Member
Registered: 2021-06-10
Posts: 3  

Re: [SOLVED] How to connect to internet using 4G Huawei USB dongle

Thanks for the reply..
Ubuntu uses network-manger application for internet connection so 4G dongle works there, but in devuan, network manager is not available. I would like to know how to use 4G dongle without network manager.

Offline

#4 2021-06-11 04:16:05

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 2,247  

Re: [SOLVED] How to connect to internet using 4G Huawei USB dongle

@guru . . . network -manager IS available in Devuan.
https://pkginfo.devuan.org/cgi-bin/poli … rk-manager

Offline

#5 2021-06-11 06:07:28

Guru
Member
Registered: 2021-06-10
Posts: 3  

Re: [SOLVED] How to connect to internet using 4G Huawei USB dongle

Thank you ...that would help!...

Offline

#6 2021-06-11 12:13:31

dice
Member
Registered: 2020-11-22
Posts: 559  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] How to connect to internet using 4G Huawei USB dongle

I used one of these dongles years ago, you may need to enter the network devices interface name in wicd wired internet as it treats dongles as an ethernet device afaik.

you can get the devices interface name by entering the below in a terminal.

ip link

it should be usb0 but it might be something exotic.

Network manager will probably pick this up automatically though.

Offline

Board footer