The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#51 2021-11-13 18:11:27

entropyagent
Member
Registered: 2020-05-15
Posts: 32  

Re: How to have updated firefox-esr in Chimaera?

rolfie wrote:

Very simple: firefox-esr is not a genuine Devuan package, it is a Debian inheritance.

I am not sure how the Debianness of the inheritance gets in the way of Devuan informing its users that the default browser is no longer supported, so they can make alternate, suitably informed plans?

In my limited and dimly-recalled experience of informing users of problems and issues, the task is a LOT easier if there is someone else (Firefox? Debian?) to blame. (Of course, that's probably not something I would have said out loud at the time )


Come to think of it - is this an issue with Chromium as well?

Offline

#52 2021-11-13 18:31:18

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 2,360  

Re: How to have updated firefox-esr in Chimaera?

@entropyagent . . . Perhaps an attitude adjustment is warranted. Instead of bitching and telling Devuan what to do, you could actually CONTRIBUTE something to Devuan by becoming the official tracker of "no longer supported browsers".  Post to DNG and start a thread in News & Announcements and update as necessary.  Ball is in your court.

Online

#53 2021-11-13 19:57:57

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 1,877  
Website

Re: How to have updated firefox-esr in Chimaera?

entropyagent wrote:

is this an issue with Chromium as well?

Oh no, the chromium problem is *much* worse because Google don't offer an LTS version and Debian really can't keep up with the steady stream of new vulnerabilities:

https://security-tracker.debian.org/tra … e/chromium

But hey, the big G offers a Chrome .deb that should be compatible with Devuan. The telemetry for that makes FF looks like a paragon of privacy but you know that, right?

EDIT: god I love shitposting. It's so exhilarating big_smile

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2021-11-13 19:59:30)


antifa ftw!

Offline

#54 2021-11-14 00:20:57

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 2,360  

Re: How to have updated firefox-esr in Chimaera?

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

EDIT: god I love shitposting. It's so exhilarating big_smile

Always entertaining and you are allowed to do so here . . . smile

Online

#55 2021-11-24 08:56:09

rdav
Member
Registered: 2017-06-30
Posts: 17  

Re: How to have updated firefox-esr in Chimaera?

mmaglis wrote:

I do not recommend mixing package repositories from different releases. It will mess and eventually destroy your system.

This fine page https://www.devuan.org/os/packages explains the use of backports package source.
It is advised to disable backports and only enable to install specific packages.
More advanced users may be able to give backports a lower priority (apt pinning) and install packages by specifying the target release (-t).
Please consult the apt documentation (e.g. man apt-get)

Check if the required Firefox version is in backports.
Alternatively, you can always download and use the latest Firefox version from upstream:
https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/a … op-release

Thanks mmaglis for the advice.
FF from Ceres in this Chimaera box has been running fine for the past month.
However due to the issues raised, ie pulling additional packages which could eventually break the system,
I will replace FF with the tar.gz so as to have a stable system and at same time be able to update FF easily.
regards
- r

Offline

#56 2021-11-27 10:29:53

Camtaf
Member
Registered: 2019-11-19
Posts: 136  

Re: How to have updated firefox-esr in Chimaera?

I merely downloaded Firefox from their site, used the .deb file, & run it from the created folder in my home directory. smile

Offline

#57 2021-11-28 22:34:30

rdav
Member
Registered: 2017-06-30
Posts: 17  

Re: How to have updated firefox-esr in Chimaera?

Camtaf wrote:

I merely downloaded Firefox from their site


Thanks Camtaf for this, please share the link you used as FF want to give me the .tar.gz and not the .deb!

Offline

#58 2021-11-29 09:54:01

Camtaf
Member
Registered: 2019-11-19
Posts: 136  

Re: How to have updated firefox-esr in Chimaera?

I just tried/looked at their site, & you are right, they only seem to have the .tar.gz now - but I expect it will work just the same, it should just create a folder in your /home, from where to run it.

Offline

#59 2021-11-29 14:21:12

andyprough
Member
Registered: 2019-10-19
Posts: 147  

Re: How to have updated firefox-esr in Chimaera?

rdav wrote:

please share the link you used as FF want to give me the .tar.gz and not the .deb!

Mozilla puts its .deb files for Firefox-esr in a ppa on launchpad: https://launchpad.net/~mozillateam/+archive/ubuntu/ppa

You can just grab an individual .deb file for Ubuntu 20.04 or 21.04 - should work fine on Devuan. Click "View Package Details" and select a version to try. The main .deb file will be a roughly ~50mb file (or more) for that version that will probably be at the bottom of the version's web page. The rest are language packs and debug symbols.

I wouldn't recommend adding the ppa to your sources, since they do tend to introduce a bunch of Ubuntu-only files as well. But the individual .deb files are all there and should work fine as a stop-gap until Debian's next version is available. Or until you see the light and add Bedrock Linux to your system to access the Ceres .deb files.


Primary Computer - Commodore 64: Processor - MOS 6510/8500, 1.023MHz; Memory - 64kb RAM, 20kB ROM - 8k BASIC V2, 8k Kernel, 4k Character ROM; Display output - 320x200, 16 colours; OS - BASIC V2.0; Weight: 1.8kg

Offline

#60 2021-11-29 15:37:11

MiyoLinux
Member
Registered: 2016-12-05
Posts: 1,133  

Re: How to have updated firefox-esr in Chimaera?

I've done the tar.bz2 way for years...even on stable systems.

I think it was Zephyr who mentioned what he does; which is, what I do...

1. Create a hidden folder in my Home folder called .firefox
2. Download the tar.bz2 from the official Mozilla site
    Note: I personally click on Download options and other languages in order to download Firefox-ESR
3. Extract it into the created .firefox folder
4. Create a firefox.desktop file in ~/.local/share/applications/ (so that it appears in my menu) that consists of the following information...

[Desktop Entry]
Name=Firefox
Exec=apulse /home/dan/.firefox/firefox/firefox
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Categories=Network;
Icon=firefox

If you notice the Exec= line, it leads off with apulse. I don't use pulseaudio, so you'll need to have apulse installed if you also don't use pulseaudio but want things like YouTube to have sound.

So, no matter which version you may "install", it will update itself automatically and independently from the repos of your system. yikes smile tongue


I have been Devuanated, and my practice in the art of Devuanism shall continue until my Devuanization is complete. Until then, I will strive to continue in my understanding of Devuanchology, Devuanprocity, and Devuanivity.

Veni, vidi, vici vdevuaned. I came, I saw, I Devuaned. wink

Offline

#61 2021-12-02 09:47:06

Camtaf
Member
Registered: 2019-11-19
Posts: 136  

Re: How to have updated firefox-esr in Chimaera?

@rdav

Found the requested (up above) link for Firefox-ESR - https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/a … esktop-esr

Last edited by Camtaf (2021-12-02 09:47:47)

Offline

Board footer