The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2021-05-12 14:36:13

fullofquestions
Member
Registered: 2021-05-12
Posts: 23  

Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

Hi, I've got some issues on which I'd like some help as a Linux/Devuan begginer.

- I need the drivers for wireless wi-fi adapter but so far I can't even install them. Are there possible issues with extraction paths while using the make/make all commands?

- I've got my old hard drive full of windows games and applications, many of which I'd still like to use. Most of them are from early 00s to mid 10s and all used to run fine in win7 64bit. Wine has been pretty annoying so far and I also don't have the installers for all of them. Would a Virtual Machine be more helpful, if so which one? I've got more or less 2015 era mainstream hardware.

- I think I set up a single user on installation, could that be the reason Root (11Gb) got full pretty fast? Cause I noticed getting 0 A.D. from Synaptic put it's main data folders in /usr/share/ (I think, I've uninstalled it by now) and only some minor files in home.

There are many sub-questions to the above but let's start with just those.

Last edited by fullofquestions (2021-05-12 14:50:29)

Offline

#2 2021-05-12 14:59:06

dice
Member
Registered: 2020-11-22
Posts: 520  
Website

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

first of all you need to let us know what machine you are using, its layout etc.Microsoft is a totally different beast to unix/linux etc. It sounds like you have a working devuan system but we dont know how you installed it?

In my opinion, if you really want to play microsoft games, get a dedicated computer to play those games with microsoft software installed.


Do good things.  Share.  Be helpful.  Be decent.  Live large.
E.V.I.L = Electronic Virtual Intelligent Life
"everything is magnetized" - kmart employee
"you just opened pandora's shitbox ray" - jim lahey

Offline

#3 2021-05-12 15:08:35

fullofquestions
Member
Registered: 2021-05-12
Posts: 23  

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

I don't want to run official microsoft software if you mean that, just being able to run some .exe ones.

Machine Info:
Deleted to save space. See more detailed version a few posts bellow.

Last edited by fullofquestions (2021-05-13 12:17:00)

Offline

#4 2021-05-12 15:12:10

dice
Member
Registered: 2020-11-22
Posts: 520  
Website

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

well if you want to run microsoft games you probably need to run some variant of microsoft software. Especially the .exe ones, they dont work on unix.


Do good things.  Share.  Be helpful.  Be decent.  Live large.
E.V.I.L = Electronic Virtual Intelligent Life
"everything is magnetized" - kmart employee
"you just opened pandora's shitbox ray" - jim lahey

Offline

#5 2021-05-12 15:14:13

fullofquestions
Member
Registered: 2021-05-12
Posts: 23  

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

Aren't many software made for windows fine with wine and virtual machines?
Oh and I installed from Live Installer.

Last edited by fullofquestions (2021-05-12 15:20:44)

Offline

#6 2021-05-12 15:18:55

dice
Member
Registered: 2020-11-22
Posts: 520  
Website

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

fullofquestions wrote:

Aren't many software made for windows fine with wine and virtual machines?

Dont know, imo wine is stupidware. If you want to run windows software, use a windows machine. I advocate only using unix/linux on one machine, not dual booting or trying to make microsoft work in a unix environment. Others may disagree with my stance and give you some advice.


Do good things.  Share.  Be helpful.  Be decent.  Live large.
E.V.I.L = Electronic Virtual Intelligent Life
"everything is magnetized" - kmart employee
"you just opened pandora's shitbox ray" - jim lahey

Offline

#7 2021-05-12 15:31:16

fullofquestions
Member
Registered: 2021-05-12
Posts: 23  

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

Even with my limited computer knowledge I can largely agree. But I'd still like to try running Devuan + a few of my old software.

Offline

#8 2021-05-12 15:38:12

dice
Member
Registered: 2020-11-22
Posts: 520  
Website

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

Okay so one thing at a time. Install inxi and let us know the following command output in a terminal. This will give us a more detailed view of your system.

sudo apt install inxi 
inxi -F

Do good things.  Share.  Be helpful.  Be decent.  Live large.
E.V.I.L = Electronic Virtual Intelligent Life
"everything is magnetized" - kmart employee
"you just opened pandora's shitbox ray" - jim lahey

Offline

#9 2021-05-12 15:54:07

fullofquestions
Member
Registered: 2021-05-12
Posts: 23  

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

System:
  Host: devuan Kernel: 4.19.0-14-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.4
  Distro: Devuan GNU/Linux 3 (beowulf)
Machine:
  Type: Desktop System: Hewlett-Packard product: HP Compaq Elite 8300 SFF
  v: N/A serial: <root required>
  Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 3397 serial: <root required>
  UEFI: Hewlett-Packard v: K01 v02.90 date: 07/16/2013
CPU:
  Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i5-3470 bits: 64 type: MCP
  L2 cache: 6144 KiB
  Speed: 1597 MHz min/max: 1600/3600 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1596 2: 1597
  3: 1596 4: 1596
Graphics:
  Device-1: NVIDIA GP108 driver: nvidia v: 418.181.07
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.4 driver: nvidia
  unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,nouveau,vesa resolution: 1600x900~60Hz
  OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GT 1030/PCIe/SSE2 v: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 418.181.07
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel 7 Series/C216 Family High Definition Audio
  driver: snd_hda_intel
  Device-2: NVIDIA GP108 High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.19.0-14-amd64
Network:
  Device-1: Intel 82579LM Gigabit Network driver: e1000e
  IF: eth0 state: down mac: a0:48:1c:7b:15:64
  Device-2: Samsung GT-I9070 (network tethering USB debugging enabled)
  type: USB driver: rndis_host
  IF: usb0 state: unknown speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: ca:17:2f:7f:4d:93
  Device-3: TP-Link TL-WN722N v2 type: USB driver: r8188eu
  IF: wlx28ee520d7ec2 state: down mac: 28:ee:52:0d:7e:c2
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 1.02 TiB used: 411.65 GiB (39.5%)
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Kingston model: SA400S37120G size: 111.79 GiB
  ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Western Digital model: WD5000AAVS-00ZTB0
  size: 465.76 GiB
  ID-3: /dev/sdc vendor: Western Digital model: WD5000AAVS-00ZTB0
  size: 465.76 GiB
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 10.99 GiB used: 6.64 GiB (60.4%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
  ID-2: /home size: 98.00 GiB used: 2.81 GiB (2.9%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
  ID-3: swap-1 size: 14.65 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdc2
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 35.0 C mobo: N/A gpu: nvidia temp: 35 C
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A gpu: nvidia fan: 0%
Info:
  Processes: 176 Uptime: 5h 33m Memory: 11.68 GiB used: 1.73 GiB (14.8%)
  Shell: bash inxi: 3.0.32

Last edited by fullofquestions (2021-05-12 15:54:51)

Offline

#10 2021-05-12 18:31:19

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 2,218  

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

It might have been better to post separate threads for each issue.  I suspect that this thread will become hopelessly confused . . .

Offline

#11 2021-05-12 18:57:13

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 508  

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

Please also post your sources.list. The wifi chip may need non-free firmware. Please execute and post here.

cat /etc/apt/sources.list

rolfie

Online

#12 2021-05-12 19:09:39

fullofquestions
Member
Registered: 2021-05-12
Posts: 23  

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

I have non-free enabled since getting the nvidia-drivers. I also have the supposedly needed (but not sure to work), USB driver for TP-Link TL-WN722N, but I didn't manage to successfully install it following a guide. Plus an older version that should be specific for this adaptor model but for older kernels. There's also the option of swapping it with the TL-WN725N of a windows computer if that has better compatibility.

golinux wrote:

It might have been better to post separate threads for each issue.  I suspect that this thread will become hopelessly confused . . .

I hope I can handle a volume of concentrated posts. Not sure about others though. What bugs me so far is my unfamiliarity with the new system + terminology coupled with conflicting/varied opinions/tutorials and the terrible state of search engines nowadays.

Last edited by fullofquestions (2021-05-12 19:20:57)

Offline

#13 2021-05-12 20:36:07

fullofquestions
Member
Registered: 2021-05-12
Posts: 23  

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

This is the kind of errors I'm getting with the wifi-drivers (this time trying the older version, but error looked similar anyway). Tutorials I've tried so far are either driver specific for Ubuntu/Mint or generic for Debian.

Btw is there a spoiler function in post options that I coudn't locate?

devuan@devuan:~/Desktop/TL-WN722N_Linux/rtl8188EUS_linux_v4.3.0.8_13968.20150417$ make clean
"******************************************"
"NO SKRC,we will use default KSRC"
"******************************************"
cd hal/OUTSRC/ ; rm -fr */*.mod.c */*.mod */*.o */.*.cmd */*.ko
cd hal/OUTSRC/ ; rm -fr *.mod.c *.mod *.o .*.cmd *.ko 
cd hal/led ; rm -fr *.mod.c *.mod *.o .*.cmd *.ko
cd hal ; rm -fr */*/*.mod.c */*/*.mod */*/*.o */*/.*.cmd */*/*.ko
cd hal ; rm -fr */*.mod.c */*.mod */*.o */.*.cmd */*.ko
cd hal ; rm -fr *.mod.c *.mod *.o .*.cmd *.ko
cd core/efuse ; rm -fr *.mod.c *.mod *.o .*.cmd *.ko
cd core ; rm -fr *.mod.c *.mod *.o .*.cmd *.ko
cd os_dep/linux ; rm -fr *.mod.c *.mod *.o .*.cmd *.ko
cd os_dep ; rm -fr *.mod.c *.mod *.o .*.cmd *.ko
cd platform ; rm -fr *.mod.c *.mod *.o .*.cmd *.ko
rm -fr Module.symvers ; rm -fr Module.markers ; rm -fr modules.order
rm -fr *.mod.c *.mod *.o .*.cmd *.ko *~
rm -fr .tmp_versions
devuan@devuan:~/Desktop/TL-WN722N_Linux/rtl8188EUS_linux_v4.3.0.8_13968.20150417$ make
"******************************************"
"NO SKRC,we will use default KSRC"
"******************************************"
make ARCH=x86_64 CROSS_COMPILE= -C /lib/modules/4.19.0-14-amd64/build M=/home/devuan/Desktop/TL-WN722N_Linux/rtl8188EUS_linux_v4.3.0.8_13968.20150417  modules
make[1]: Entering directory '/usr/src/linux-headers-4.19.0-14-amd64'
"******************************************"
"NO SKRC,we will use default KSRC"
"******************************************"
  CC [M]  /home/devuan/Desktop/TL-WN722N_Linux/rtl8188EUS_linux_v4.3.0.8_13968.20150417/core/rtw_cmd.o
In file included from /home/devuan/Desktop/TL-WN722N_Linux/rtl8188EUS_linux_v4.3.0.8_13968.20150417/include/osdep_service.h:41,
                 from /home/devuan/Desktop/TL-WN722N_Linux/rtl8188EUS_linux_v4.3.0.8_13968.20150417/include/drv_types.h:32,
                 from /home/devuan/Desktop/TL-WN722N_Linux/rtl8188EUS_linux_v4.3.0.8_13968.20150417/core/rtw_cmd.c:22:
/home/devuan/Desktop/TL-WN722N_Linux/rtl8188EUS_linux_v4.3.0.8_13968.20150417/include/osdep_service_linux.h: In function ‘_init_timer’:
/home/devuan/Desktop/TL-WN722N_Linux/rtl8188EUS_linux_v4.3.0.8_13968.20150417/include/osdep_service_linux.h:261:8: error: ‘_timer’ {aka ‘struct timer_list’} has no member named ‘data’
  ptimer->data = (unsigned long)cntx;
        ^~
/home/devuan/Desktop/TL-WN722N_Linux/rtl8188EUS_linux_v4.3.0.8_13968.20150417/include/osdep_service_linux.h:262:2: error: implicit declaration of function ‘init_timer’; did you mean ‘_init_timer’? [-Werror=implicit-function-declaration]
  init_timer(ptimer);
  ^~~~~~~~~~
  _init_timer
In file included from /home/devuan/Desktop/TL-WN722N_Linux/rtl8188EUS_linux_v4.3.0.8_13968.20150417/include/drv_types.h:35,
                 from /home/devuan/Desktop/TL-WN722N_Linux/rtl8188EUS_linux_v4.3.0.8_13968.20150417/core/rtw_cmd.c:22:
/home/devuan/Desktop/TL-WN722N_Linux/rtl8188EUS_linux_v4.3.0.8_13968.20150417/include/wifi.h: At top level:
/home/devuan/Desktop/TL-WN722N_Linux/rtl8188EUS_linux_v4.3.0.8_13968.20150417/include/wifi.h:988: warning: "IEEE80211_MAX_AMPDU_BUF" redefined
 #define IEEE80211_MAX_AMPDU_BUF 0x40
 
In file included from /usr/src/linux-headers-4.19.0-14-common/include/net/cfg80211.h:24,
                 from /home/devuan/Desktop/TL-WN722N_Linux/rtl8188EUS_linux_v4.3.0.8_13968.20150417/include/osdep_service_linux.h:83,
                 from /home/devuan/Desktop/TL-WN722N_Linux/rtl8188EUS_linux_v4.3.0.8_13968.20150417/include/osdep_service.h:41,
                 from /home/devuan/Desktop/TL-WN722N_Linux/rtl8188EUS_linux_v4.3.0.8_13968.20150417/include/drv_types.h:32,
                 from /home/devuan/Desktop/TL-WN722N_Linux/rtl8188EUS_linux_v4.3.0.8_13968.20150417/core/rtw_cmd.c:22:
/usr/src/linux-headers-4.19.0-14-common/include/linux/ieee80211.h:1451: note: this is the location of the previous definition
 #define IEEE80211_MAX_AMPDU_BUF  0x100
 
cc1: some warnings being treated as errors
make[4]: *** [/usr/src/linux-headers-4.19.0-14-common/scripts/Makefile.build:309: /home/devuan/Desktop/TL-WN722N_Linux/rtl8188EUS_linux_v4.3.0.8_13968.20150417/core/rtw_cmd.o] Error 1
make[3]: *** [/usr/src/linux-headers-4.19.0-14-common/Makefile:1568: _module_/home/devuan/Desktop/TL-WN722N_Linux/rtl8188EUS_linux_v4.3.0.8_13968.20150417] Error 2
make[2]: *** [Makefile:146: sub-make] Error 2
make[1]: *** [Makefile:8: all] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory '/usr/src/linux-headers-4.19.0-14-amd64'
make: *** [Makefile:1367: modules] Error 2

Last edited by fullofquestions (2021-05-12 21:48:01)

Offline

#14 2021-05-12 20:44:47

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 2,218  

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

fullofquestions wrote:
golinux wrote:

It might have been better to post separate threads for each issue.  I suspect that this thread will become hopelessly confused . . .

I hope I can handle a volume of concentrated posts. Not sure about others though. What bugs me so far is my unfamiliarity with the new system + terminology coupled with conflicting/varied opinions/tutorials and the terrible state of search engines nowadays.

The image I am getting of your quest is of someone who doesn't know how to swim trying to learn by jumping off a high board into the deeps of a very large lake.

Offline

#15 2021-05-12 20:51:33

fullofquestions
Member
Registered: 2021-05-12
Posts: 23  

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

golinux wrote:

The image I am getting of your quest is of someone who doesn't know how to swim trying to learn by jumping off a high board into the deeps of a very large lake.

I can't describe that as completely inaccurate, but I'm in a semi-rush due to RL reasons to get a couple of things working, even if I don't completely understand them and then I can learn little by little in the future.

Offline

#16 2021-05-13 00:24:04

GlennW
Member
Registered: 2019-07-18
Posts: 126  

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

Hi, Your quest may take a little more time than you think right now.

But, if you stick with it you just might get it happening.

If you want to play windows games and/or use programs from windows you will need windows,
But you may set it (win7) up to run in a Virtual Machine like VirtualBox (you'll still need a win cd and reg).

you might need more hdd space, or a different ratio of space partitioned on your harddrives.

Although I haven't done so for quite a few years, I used to run winxp games (DiD F22) on vBox very well and reliably (40 hrs of non-stop mission plus, paused while at tafe, etc) quake, counterstrike... .

Play on linux and wine may be useful but I haven't used them.

I hope this gives you some idea of the amount of learning required to get your old games to work on linux, but also give you some confidence that it has worked before and you may get it to work, but there's a lot of setup and understanding to cover first.

Debian installs/tutorials probably work better than others, just be careful where you get your software packages from.

As far as I know you will still need the win7 dvd and the reg number, just like setting up windows by it's self... maybe some one knows otherwise...

all the best, and keep coming back. :-)

regards Glenn

Offline

#17 2021-05-13 08:01:35

dice
Member
Registered: 2020-11-22
Posts: 520  
Website

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

Just focusing on the wifi adapter which i assume is the tp link usb dongle.

so you should post up your /etc/apt/sources.list as roflie suggested and anything inside of /etc/apt/sources.list.d

and also post up the output of the command lsusb.

I fairly certain you need the firmware-atheros package for that tp link device and you shouldnt need to compile anything from github or outside of devuan/debian.

https://packages.debian.org/buster/firmware-atheros

Last edited by dice (2021-05-13 08:03:27)


Do good things.  Share.  Be helpful.  Be decent.  Live large.
E.V.I.L = Electronic Virtual Intelligent Life
"everything is magnetized" - kmart employee
"you just opened pandora's shitbox ray" - jim lahey

Offline

#18 2021-05-13 11:25:09

fullofquestions
Member
Registered: 2021-05-12
Posts: 23  

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

Thanks everyone for the help so far. i agree on focusing on the wifi first.

sources.ist is:

## package repositories
deb http://deb.devuan.org/merged beowulf main contrib non-free
deb http://deb.devuan.org/merged beowulf-updates main contrib non-free
deb http://deb.devuan.org/merged beowulf-security  main contrib non-free
#deb http://deb.devuan.org/merged beowulf-backports main
## source repositories
deb-src http://deb.devuan.org/merged beowulf main contrib non-free
deb-src http://deb.devuan.org/merged beowulf-updates main contrib non-free
deb-src http://deb.devuan.org/merged beowulf-security main contrib non-free
#deb-src http://deb.devuan.org/merged beowulf-backports main

There's also a sources.list.save which has the difference of not being updated (missing contrib non-free).
/etc/apt/sources.list.d is empty.

devuan@devuan:~$ lsusb
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 8087:0024 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 04e8:6864 Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd GT-I9070 (network tethering, USB debugging enabled)
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 093a:2521 Pixart Imaging, Inc. Optical Mouse
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 8087:0024 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 045e:0752 Microsoft Corp. Wired Keyboard 400
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 2357:010c TP-Link TL-WN722N v2
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

It looks like I've got atheros installed. Synaptic has firmware-atheros v20190114-2.

Last edited by fullofquestions (2021-05-13 11:30:15)

Offline

#19 2021-05-13 11:33:14

dice
Member
Registered: 2020-11-22
Posts: 520  
Website

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

okay so try this.

sudo apt install firmware-atheros

reboot

edit: if firmware-atheros is installed skip that

then show this command

ip link 

then let us now how you are connecting to the internet, what program, ie; network manager, wicd?

Last edited by dice (2021-05-13 11:35:15)


Do good things.  Share.  Be helpful.  Be decent.  Live large.
E.V.I.L = Electronic Virtual Intelligent Life
"everything is magnetized" - kmart employee
"you just opened pandora's shitbox ray" - jim lahey

Offline

#20 2021-05-13 11:36:07

fullofquestions
Member
Registered: 2021-05-12
Posts: 23  

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

I get this after the sudo apt install firmware-atheros command:
E: Could not get lock /var/lib/dpkg/lock-frontend - open (11: Resource temporarily unavailable)
E: Unable to acquire the dpkg frontend lock (/var/lib/dpkg/lock-frontend), is another process using it?

Offline

#21 2021-05-13 11:37:09

dice
Member
Registered: 2020-11-22
Posts: 520  
Website

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

If you have synaptic gui running that will cause it, close synaptic then rerun command.

ill be back in and hour or so. good luck

Last edited by dice (2021-05-13 11:38:15)


Do good things.  Share.  Be helpful.  Be decent.  Live large.
E.V.I.L = Electronic Virtual Intelligent Life
"everything is magnetized" - kmart employee
"you just opened pandora's shitbox ray" - jim lahey

Offline

#22 2021-05-13 11:40:50

fullofquestions
Member
Registered: 2021-05-12
Posts: 23  

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

Yup synaptic was the issue. I'm using wicd and tethering.

(among other, probably uneeded things):

firmware-atheros is already the newest version (20190114-2).
devuan@devuan:~$ ip link 
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether a0:48:1c:7b:15:64 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: wlx28ee520d7ec2: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 28:ee:52:0d:7e:c2 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
4: usb0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether ca:53:54:b7:77:da brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

In the meanwhile I retested this by getting free-civ.

fullofquestions wrote:

- I think I set up a single user on installation, could that be the reason Root (11Gb) got full pretty fast? Cause I noticed getting 0 A.D. from Synaptic put it's main data folders in /usr/share/ (I think, I've uninstalled it by now) and only some minor files in home.

Indeed the main data files of linux programs seem to go in /usr/share/ and not somewhere in /home.

Last edited by fullofquestions (2021-05-13 12:08:47)

Offline

#23 2021-05-13 12:36:31

dice
Member
Registered: 2020-11-22
Posts: 520  
Website

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

so what is happening when you try to connect through wicd?

let us know the output of below command.

sudo ip link set wlx28ee520d7ec2 up

Do good things.  Share.  Be helpful.  Be decent.  Live large.
E.V.I.L = Electronic Virtual Intelligent Life
"everything is magnetized" - kmart employee
"you just opened pandora's shitbox ray" - jim lahey

Offline

#24 2021-05-13 12:46:11

fullofquestions
Member
Registered: 2021-05-12
Posts: 23  

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

It returns nothing (It's hotspot btw, not through a rooter if this influences anything).

I also can't find it in wicd nor create a new wireless connection through it. Anything added becomes wired and I can't find an option to change to wireless.

Offline

#25 2021-05-13 12:49:46

dice
Member
Registered: 2020-11-22
Posts: 520  
Website

Re: Questions on Setting Up Hardware/Software on a New Devuan System

fullofquestions wrote:

It returns nothing (It's hotspot btw, not through a rooter if this influences anything).

I also can't find it in wicd nor create a new wireless connection through it. Anything added becomes wired and I can't find an option to change to wireless.

i think you need to disconnect wired first and then try connecting wireless.

Do you see wireless essid's like your own hotspot.

Not sure if i understand but are you trying to use your smartphone as a wireless hotspot?


Do good things.  Share.  Be helpful.  Be decent.  Live large.
E.V.I.L = Electronic Virtual Intelligent Life
"everything is magnetized" - kmart employee
"you just opened pandora's shitbox ray" - jim lahey

Offline

Board footer