The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2022-09-13 19:43:50

VH
Member
Registered: 2018-07-31
Posts: 26  

[SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

Hello,

Is there a zoom package in devuan?  If so, what's the package name? 

Zoom website has Debian version for it.  However, I think this package will cause serious problem if I install it on Devuan - am I correct? 

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by VH (2022-09-14 02:51:52)

Offline

#2 2022-09-13 19:56:15

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 2,152  

Re: [SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

Last time I tried to install zoom in devuan, they (zoom) only had packages for stretch. Those should work on ascii, however both stretch and ascii have been retired.

Go to your zoom meeting in chromium. If you get an exo-open popup window, get rid of it. Ignore all pleas to install the zoom crap and scroll down the page until you see a link in microscopic text that says something like "Join the meeting using your web browser." and do that. It works just fine.

Offline

#3 2022-09-13 21:11:08

GlennW
Member
Registered: 2019-07-18
Posts: 300  

Re: [SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

Thank you

Offline

#4 2022-09-13 21:40:38

sgage
Member
Registered: 2016-12-01
Posts: 308  

Re: [SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

GlennW wrote:

Thank you

The Zoom deb package I recently got from their website works fine for me on Chimaera.

Offline

#5 2022-09-14 02:52:25

VH
Member
Registered: 2018-07-31
Posts: 26  

Re: [SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

Thank you fsmithred and sgage.

Offline

#6 2022-09-14 11:37:52

Ogis1975
Member
Registered: 2017-04-21
Posts: 304  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

Or you can install zoom as flatpak smile

https://flathub.org/apps/details/us.zoom.Zoom

Last edited by Ogis1975 (2022-09-14 11:38:22)


What economists call over-production is but a production that is above the purchasing power of the worker, who is reduced to poverty by capital and state.
            ----+- Peter Kropotkin -+----

Offline

#7 2022-09-14 13:01:35

Marjorie
Member
From: Teignmouth, UK
Registered: 2019-06-09
Posts: 162  

Re: [SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

I've been running Zoom via their site's Debian deb packages since at least June 2020.
Its clearly a 'portable' package (runs on any Debian 9.0+) and installs in /opt.
Download from https://zoom.us/download#client_4meeting
You normally have to check for updates manually as there is no repository. Currently I'm on the latest 5.11.10 version.
Its always worked well, however recently it's become extremely slow starting up, particularly if I've not rebooted the system recently. I'm currently running Chimaera on an AMD 5600G with 16GB RAM and the 5.18.0-0.deb11.4-amd64 kernel.

Last edited by Marjorie (2022-09-14 13:07:40)

Offline

#8 2022-09-15 07:43:42

jobbautista9
Member
From: Philippines
Registered: 2020-07-11
Posts: 32  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

Most, if not all third-party Debian packages should work okay in Devuan. As long as the package doesn't have a dependency on systemd, you should be fine. smile Just make sure you're using the correct distribution though, like if you're running in Devuan Chimaera for example, you should use packages that say they're designed for Debian Bullseye.

Last edited by jobbautista9 (2022-09-15 07:45:44)


Former maintainer of the iwd package. See #639! smile

You can also find me on the Pale Moon forums. I develop XUL add-ons for Pale Moon.
My PGP public key

Offline

#9 2022-09-16 14:59:10

VH
Member
Registered: 2018-07-31
Posts: 26  

Re: [SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

Thanks everyone.

Ogis1975, I never thought about Flatpak.  Thanks for the reminder.  smile

Offline

#10 2022-09-21 14:22:49

Marjorie
Member
From: Teignmouth, UK
Registered: 2019-06-09
Posts: 162  

Re: [SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

Marjorie wrote:

Currently I'm on the latest 5.11.10 version.
Hhowever recently it [Zoom] become extremely slow starting up, particularly if I've not rebooted the system recently. I'm currently running Chimaera on an AMD 5600G with 16GB RAM and the 5.18.0-0.deb11.4-amd64 kernel.

On my set up at least there does seem a problem with the most recent versions of Zoom.
Start-up is painfully slow, with long pauses while it repaints the screen and meanwhile doesn't respond to the keyboard.
I thought the problem was related to the most recent versions using chromium libraries to write to the screen (signal-desktop uses a similar set-up). I downgraded to an earlier version (5.11.0, downloaded in June) that uses Qt libraries. I thought initially the downgrade sorted the problem but it hasn't. And I'm also now seeing the same problem with signal-desktop.
Hibernating and reawakening (as well the previously mentioned rebooting) does, at least temporarily, restore normal service.
Both Zoom and Signal install in /opt with their own set of libraries. Signal is from the Debian/Devuan repositories.

Any suggestions for what could be causing the problem?

Offline

#11 2022-09-21 14:28:41

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 2,737  

Re: [SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

Marjorie wrote:

Any suggestions for what could be causing the problem?

Have you tried disabling hardware acceleration for Zoom?

Reference: https://community.zoom.com/t5/Meetings/ … /m-p/58433

EDIT:

@admin: automatic URL tags are broken.

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2022-09-21 14:29:20)


"Who's the idiot in charge?" — ralph.ronnquist

Offline

#12 2022-09-21 14:42:05

Marjorie
Member
From: Teignmouth, UK
Registered: 2019-06-09
Posts: 162  

Re: [SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

Thanks for the suggestion. I'll try that.

Offline

#13 2022-10-03 17:53:15

Devarch
Member
Registered: 2022-10-03
Posts: 32  

Re: [SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

appimage:
https://github.com/probonopd/Zoom.AppImage/releases

Offline

#14 2022-10-03 18:08:37

Marjorie
Member
From: Teignmouth, UK
Registered: 2019-06-09
Posts: 162  

Re: [SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

Not keen on using appimage.

I did try HOS's suggestion to disable hardware acceleration. That didn't solve the problem.

What does seem to have solved the problem is downgrading my kernel to 5:15 from 5:18 (I needed a backported 5:15+ image as stable 5:10 doesn't address some amdgpu and motherboard chip recognition issues I had).

I can't see any relevant kernel bug reports in 5:16/5:18 or 5:18 so may attempt to at least identify in which kernel the regression occurred and then report it.

I've also found a 'signature' in syslog that occurs while the kernel is glitching:

Sep 19 17:08:35 grendel kernel: [91634.237980] amdgpu 0000:30:00.0: amdgpu: failed to write reg 1a6f4 wait reg 1a706
Sep 19 17:08:56 grendel kernel: [91655.526407] amdgpu 0000:30:00.0: amdgpu: failed to write reg 28b4 wait reg 28c6

This was previously reported in association with a resume bug back in kernel 5:05 that was then solved.

Last edited by Marjorie (2022-10-03 18:09:18)

Offline

#15 2022-10-03 18:41:33

Devarch
Member
Registered: 2022-10-03
Posts: 32  

Re: [SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

Marjorie wrote:

Not keen on using appimage.

I did try HOS's suggestion to disable hardware acceleration. That didn't solve the problem.

What does seem to have solved the problem is downgrading my kernel to 5:15 from 5:18 .

Personally, I prefer to unpack appimage than to change kernel for one application.

But it's just personal chose, of cause.

Offline

#16 2022-10-03 21:44:54

Marjorie
Member
From: Teignmouth, UK
Registered: 2019-06-09
Posts: 162  

Re: [SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

Well I've no reason to believe that appimage would solve the issue.
And I wouldn't want to start using appimage just to solve this issue given all the issues that all such similar solutions (appimage, flatpack, etc.) bring.

Remember I'm on Chimaera. I only upgraded to backports in the first instance to handle my newish hardware (AMD Zen3 5600G, B550 motherboard) and some issues with suspend/hibernate. If 5.15 works why upgrade further to a newer kernel if that has a regression?

But I an happy to try and pinpoint what that regression is, so that when I do move to a stable Daedalus and no doubt even newer kernel it has been solved.

Last edited by Marjorie (2022-10-03 23:08:13)

Offline

#17 2022-10-14 15:00:27

Marjorie
Member
From: Teignmouth, UK
Registered: 2019-06-09
Posts: 162  

Re: [SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

Just to update: the issue I was having running Zoom and Signal Desktop on my AMD 5600G with Chimaera and a backported 5:18 kernel, seems to have been addressed and solved in kernel 5.19.

Correction: it seems it still isn't fixed in 5.19, at least if I'd had the system running for a while/been hibernated. So have reverted to kernel 5:15 again.

Last edited by Marjorie (2022-10-14 21:47:49)

Offline

#18 2022-10-30 23:42:31

Devarch
Member
Registered: 2022-10-03
Posts: 32  

Re: [SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

5.19 is dangerous. It can damage intel laptop display. To avoid.

Offline

#19 2022-11-02 12:40:02

Ogis1975
Member
Registered: 2017-04-21
Posts: 304  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

Devarch wrote:

5.19 is dangerous. It can damage intel laptop display. To avoid.

Yes. Version 5.19.12 to be exact.


What economists call over-production is but a production that is above the purchasing power of the worker, who is reduced to poverty by capital and state.
            ----+- Peter Kropotkin -+----

Offline

#20 2022-11-03 00:39:12

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 2,737  

Re: [SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

Kernel 5.19.12 has never been shipped by Devuan (or Debian): unstable went from 5.19.11 to 6.0.2.

https://metadata.ftp-master.debian.org/ … _changelog


"Who's the idiot in charge?" — ralph.ronnquist

Offline

#21 2022-11-03 12:33:59

Ogis1975
Member
Registered: 2017-04-21
Posts: 304  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Zoom in Devuan

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Kernel 5.19.12 has never been shipped by Devuan (or Debian): unstable went from 5.19.11 to 6.0.2.

Thank you. You're completely correct.


What economists call over-production is but a production that is above the purchasing power of the worker, who is reduced to poverty by capital and state.
            ----+- Peter Kropotkin -+----

Offline

Board footer