The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2024-01-22 16:01:12

DavidRLTG
Member
Registered: 2024-01-20
Posts: 20  
Website

[SOLVED] Help! I cannot get Pipewire working.

I installed it in a pretty simple way,

sudo apt install pipewire wireplumber pipewire-alsa pipewire-pulse pipewire-jack -y

After that, I added an executable file in /usr/local/bin
And now, my PC boots up without sound.
If I try to manually start up pipewire with pipewire & wireplumber & pipewire-pulse &
I get this mess:

[E][00154.666492] mod.protocol-native | [module-protocol-:  731 lock_socket()] server 0x557364dc1780: unable to lock lockfile '/run/user/1000/pipewire-0.lock': Resource temporarily unavailable (maybe another daemon is running)
[E][00154.666616] pw.conf      | [          conf.c:  594 load_module()] 0x557364da4df0: could not load mandatory module "libpipewire-module-protocol-native": Resource temporarily unavailable
[E][00154.666735] default      | [      pipewire.c:  125 main()] failed to create context: Resource temporarily unavailable

Help? Thank you!


Both depressed, And obsessed with tech!
That's me smile
-DavidRLTG

Offline

#2 2024-01-22 16:03:36

DavidRLTG
Member
Registered: 2024-01-20
Posts: 20  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Help! I cannot get Pipewire working.

I tried again later, Instead I got this hell:

[E][00577.029114] spa.dbus     | [          dbus.c:  349 impl_connection_get()] Failed to connect to session bus: Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken.
[E][00577.029215] mod.portal   | [ module-portal.c:  346 pipewire__module_init()] Failed to connect to session bus: Input/output error
[W][00577.031192] mod.protocol-pulse | [        server.c:  615 start_unix_server()] server 0x55691ed861a0: unlinking stale socket '/run/user/1000/pulse/native'
[E][00577.031871] spa.dbus     | [          dbus.c:  349 impl_connection_get()] Failed to connect to session bus: Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken.
Failed to connect to bus: The connection is closed
M 18:03:07.719138        wireplumber ../src/main.c:364:on_disconnected: disconnected from pipewire

Both depressed, And obsessed with tech!
That's me smile
-DavidRLTG

Offline

#3 2024-01-22 16:10:40

DavidRLTG
Member
Registered: 2024-01-20
Posts: 20  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Help! I cannot get Pipewire working.

So apparently, Pulseaudio was not removed, so I removed it. Audio is still not working, but these are my errors:
https://imgur.com/WTh3hzj.png


Both depressed, And obsessed with tech!
That's me smile
-DavidRLTG

Offline

#4 2024-01-22 16:12:05

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 1,011  

Re: [SOLVED] Help! I cannot get Pipewire working.

Offline

#5 2024-01-22 16:13:17

DavidRLTG
Member
Registered: 2024-01-20
Posts: 20  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Help! I cannot get Pipewire working.

Genius!

I totally didn't follow the exact same guide
Anything else?


Both depressed, And obsessed with tech!
That's me smile
-DavidRLTG

Offline

#6 2024-01-22 16:32:02

DavidRLTG
Member
Registered: 2024-01-20
Posts: 20  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Help! I cannot get Pipewire working.

I also tried the script from the bottom of the page,
It fixed the issue for just ONE session
I ran it from Downloads.
Tried moving it to Startup
It doesn't work anymore, tried moving to downloads and running again, I get the previous errors.
This is so weird!

And now, I tried restarting, and running it from downloads! It fixed it again, but gave this error!

[E][00237.711905] mod.protocol-pulse | [         utils.c:  199 create_pid_file()] failed to open pid file: Permission denied
[W][00237.712002] mod.protocol-pulse | [  pulse-server.c: 5648 pw_protocol_pulse_new()] 0x559d6ebc30b0: can't create pid file: Permission denied
C 18:30:18.076323               GLib (null):(null):(null): Failed to set scheduler settings: Operation not permitted
M 18:30:18.092637          wp-device ../lib/wp/device.c:619:wp_spa_device_new_from_spa_factory: SPA handle 'api.libcamera.enum.manager' could not be loaded; is it installed?
M 18:30:18.092669   script/libcamera libcamera.lua:168:chunk: PipeWire's libcamera SPA missing or broken. libcamera not supported.
W 18:30:18.675761 m-portal-permissio ../modules/module-portal-permissionstore.c:63:wp_portal_permissionstore_plugin_lookup: <WpPortalPermissionStorePlugin:0x55c8b00e88b0> Failed to call Lookup: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.portal.Error.NotFound: No entry for camera

I have no idea what to do anymore


Both depressed, And obsessed with tech!
That's me smile
-DavidRLTG

Offline

#7 2024-01-22 16:43:57

DavidRLTG
Member
Registered: 2024-01-20
Posts: 20  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Help! I cannot get Pipewire working.


Both depressed, And obsessed with tech!
That's me smile
-DavidRLTG

Offline

#8 2024-01-22 16:44:11

stopAI
Member
Registered: 2023-04-04
Posts: 118  

Re: [SOLVED] Help! I cannot get Pipewire working.

After that, I added an executable file

And for what purpose did you do it? Apt configures packages automatically....

I have no idea what to do anymore

The fact that you manually moved those files to places they don't belong is very bad. I don't know what to advise. You can try to manually remove those files and install the package group with command

sudo apt install pipewire-audio

But to be honest, I don't know if it will help...it's worth a try.

Offline

#9 2024-01-22 16:44:29

DavidRLTG
Member
Registered: 2024-01-20
Posts: 20  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Help! I cannot get Pipewire working.

Now I need to somehow get the script to successfully run at startup, and fix the weird libcamera error


Both depressed, And obsessed with tech!
That's me smile
-DavidRLTG

Offline

#10 2024-01-22 16:46:22

DavidRLTG
Member
Registered: 2024-01-20
Posts: 20  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Help! I cannot get Pipewire working.

Also, StopAI, I didn't add them before but after installing it didn't work. So I tried adding custom files. Didn't help. I removed them all now and tried the command, no shot. Still a mess.


Both depressed, And obsessed with tech!
That's me smile
-DavidRLTG

Offline

#11 2024-01-22 16:56:05

DavidRLTG
Member
Registered: 2024-01-20
Posts: 20  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Help! I cannot get Pipewire working.

God, This is a mess.
No idea how I'll get audio working again sad


Both depressed, And obsessed with tech!
That's me smile
-DavidRLTG

Offline

#12 2024-01-22 17:21:44

DavidRLTG
Member
Registered: 2024-01-20
Posts: 20  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Help! I cannot get Pipewire working.

Agh, I ended up switching back to Pulseaudio after all, as this has been a painful experience.
Thank you all for trying to help, and have a great day smile


Both depressed, And obsessed with tech!
That's me smile
-DavidRLTG

Offline

#13 2024-01-22 17:40:10

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 1,011  

Re: [SOLVED] Help! I cannot get Pipewire working.

Following that guide exactly did work for me. Pipewire works flawlessly on my travelling laptop.

Offline

#14 2024-01-22 18:12:24

JWM-Kit
Member
Registered: 2020-06-29
Posts: 109  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Help! I cannot get Pipewire working.

When I configured for pipewire all I did was install pipewire-media-session
That's the magic that worked for me. it conflicts with wireplumber so it will be uninstalled.

Then I added /usr/bin/pipewire and /usr/bin/pipewire-media-session to my startup

It works fine for me. Maybe it will work for you.

Offline

#15 2024-01-22 22:14:25

GlennW
Member
From: Brisbane, Australia
Registered: 2019-07-18
Posts: 527  

Re: [SOLVED] Help! I cannot get Pipewire working.

this has been discussed here .... I suggest, please use the search function before you post.

https://dev1galaxy.org/viewtopic.php?id=5867


pic from 1993, new guitar day.

Offline

#16 2024-01-24 06:41:09

stultumanto
Member
Registered: 2023-12-12
Posts: 42  

Re: [SOLVED] Help! I cannot get Pipewire working.

this has been discussed here

this has been discussed here .... I suggest, please use the search function before you post.

https://dev1galaxy.org/viewtopic.php?id=5867

This was covered upthread. The user said he already tried it.
https://dev1galaxy.org/viewtopic.php?pid=47526#p47526

Offline

Board footer