The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2022-04-03 08:33:32

bai4Iej2need
Member
From: Ortenau
Registered: 2021-04-25
Posts: 23  

Scrolling Output in the Console Window

Since some time I miss the function of page-up and page-down in the console. I do not recall when this was gone. If you want to see some output, which has passed the uppermost line in the console window, this output is lost. If you are lucky, you can repeat the event and pipe the output into less, then you can navigate in the output.

I happened to put an old 486 Desktop in service again last week, which was bought in 1998 and had not been in operation since Nov 2007 or so. Luckily it worked and it showed a SuSE7.0 install with kernel 2.2.16 installed and a fvwm95 desktop. that makes ~ 40 tasks !
And there I could scroll the console window up and down, I remember with Shift-Page-Up/-Down, as much as the size of the console memory permits.
How can i get this scrolling function in the devuan console again, as i do all administrative tasks in the console ?

happens not in x-terminals
depends not on zsh or bash (echo $SHELL)

This concerns
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty --noclear 38400 tty1
2:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
3:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty3
4:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty4
5:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty5
6:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty6

after a login


@admins : you may shift this to a more appropriate theme

Last edited by bai4Iej2need (2022-04-03 12:59:44)


The devil you know is better than the angel you don't know.

Offline

#2 2022-04-03 09:28:28

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 643  

Re: Scrolling Output in the Console Window

Well, there is no generic Devuan console. I guess you are talking about the terminals you can open on the graphical DE. There may of them, Gnome Terminal, Mate Terminal, xterm ....

Why don't you tell us a bit about the environment you are working on?

rolfie

Offline

#3 2022-04-03 10:00:15

bai4Iej2need
Member
From: Ortenau
Registered: 2021-04-25
Posts: 23  

Re: Scrolling Output in the Console Window

rolfie wrote:

Well, there is no generic Devuan console. I guess you are talking about the terminals you can open on the graphical DE. There may of them, Gnome Terminal, Mate Terminal, xterm ....

Why don't you tell us a bit about the environment you are working on?

rolfie

see above

There is a server (beowulf) which does not even have an xserver.
Edit:
uname -a     
Linux "$HOST" 4.19.0-20-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.19.235-1 (2022-03-17) x86_64 GNU/Linux
used mostly through ssh , where the problem does not exist.

I have Laptops with chimaera, but also here I do admin tasks in the console.
Edit : And here the problem comes up.
uname -a
Linux "$HOST" 5.10.0-12-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 5.10.103-1 (2022-03-07) x86_64 GNU/Linux

Last edited by bai4Iej2need (2022-04-03 12:44:25)


The devil you know is better than the angel you don't know.

Offline

#4 2022-04-03 10:21:20

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 2,326  

Re: Scrolling Output in the Console Window


To obtain a root shell use su -. Using just su will result in "command not found" messages.

Offline

#5 2022-04-03 11:11:10

alexkemp
Member
Registered: 2018-05-14
Posts: 43  

Re: Scrolling Output in the Console Window

Shift-PageUp / Shift-PageDown works for me.

$ cat /etc/devuan_version
chimaera
$ cat ~/.bash_history

(then Shift-PageUp, etc.)

Help | About: xfce4-terminal 0.8.10

Offline

#6 2022-04-03 11:30:45

Marjorie
Member
From: Teignmouth, UK
Registered: 2019-06-09
Posts: 133  

Re: Scrolling Output in the Console Window

Shift-PageUp / Shift-PageDown also works in gnome terminal (Cinnamon - Chimaera).

Offline

#7 2022-04-03 12:10:33

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 2,326  

Re: Scrolling Output in the Console Window

^ & ^^ the OP has mentioned twice now that they are not asking about terminal emulators in the graphical desktop but rather the console screen, also known as the TTY.


To obtain a root shell use su -. Using just su will result in "command not found" messages.

Offline

#8 2022-04-03 12:23:23

hunter0one
Member
Registered: 2021-12-31
Posts: 5  

Re: Scrolling Output in the Console Window

He's talking about the TTY not a terminal emulator. I also have this issue regardless of the Linux distro, even shift + pageup/pagedown does not work. Interestingly, FreeBSD's tty scroll works just fine.

Offline

#9 2022-04-03 12:42:52

bai4Iej2need
Member
From: Ortenau
Registered: 2021-04-25
Posts: 23  

Re: Scrolling Output in the Console Window

I tested tmux and screen on the DUT console.
They do not bring this functionality with them.

so Linus Tv is wrong, that nobody uses this functionality.
Anyone, who must access bare HW through  the keyboard without intervening ssh tunnels etc, falls back to the functionality.
This haαΉ•pens mostly during the first manual install.
And it is annoying, if the function is there in all other forms of graphic terminals, shells and tunnels, but not during a direct access.

Who tells LTV ?

Last edited by bai4Iej2need (2022-04-03 12:56:29)


The devil you know is better than the angel you don't know.

Offline

#10 2022-04-03 13:10:11

bai4Iej2need
Member
From: Ortenau
Registered: 2021-04-25
Posts: 23  

Re: Scrolling Output in the Console Window

and I made another test :
ssh'ed from the console of the kernel 5.10 laptop to the server with Kernel 4.19
and the scrolling function is gone.

As I tend to work on the lowest level necessary this is really a PITA.


The devil you know is better than the angel you don't know.

Offline

#11 2022-04-03 13:18:00

hevidevi
Member
Registered: 2021-09-17
Posts: 223  

Re: Scrolling Output in the Console Window

command | less

or

command | more

Offline

#12 2022-04-03 15:05:53

yeti
Member
From: I'm not here: U R halucinating
Registered: 2017-02-23
Posts: 257  

Re: Scrolling Output in the Console Window

bai4Iej2need wrote:

I tested tmux and screen on the DUT console.
They do not bring this functionality with them.

Try harder.

Screen gives me a scrollback in "real texmode" and GUIy terminals.  Just not with PgUP.  Use doping: Read a bit more about it.  Look for ^A ESC or ^A [.
Tmux probably does it in a very similar way.

Last edited by yeti (2022-04-03 15:06:41)


<πš‹πš˜πšπš’ πš˜πš—πš•πš˜πšŠπš='πšπš˜πšŒπšžπš–πšŽπš—πš.πš‹πš˜πšπš’.πš’πš—πš—πšŽπš›π™·πšƒπ™Όπ™»="π™³πš’πšœπšŠπš‹πš•πšŽ π™Ήπš‚!";'>
𝕯𝖔𝖓'𝖙 π–‹π–”π–—π–Œπ–Šπ–™ 𝖙𝖔 π–šπ–“π–˜π–šπ–‡π–˜π–ˆπ–—π–Žπ–‡π–Š!

Offline

#13 2022-04-03 16:22:11

chris2be8
Member
Registered: 2018-08-11
Posts: 140  

Re: Scrolling Output in the Console Window

I've just pressed ctrl-alt-f2, logged on, typed ls to get a few screenfuls of ouput and shift-page_up and shift-page_down work. But if I press ctrl-alt-f7 to get back to the GUI, then ctrl-alt-f2 the scroll buffer is cleared.

This is on ascii (I run CUDA on an old GPU and dare not update it because Nvidia have probably removed support for the GPU from current releases of their drivers and runtime).

Chris

Offline

#14 2022-04-03 19:30:00

bai4Iej2need
Member
From: Ortenau
Registered: 2021-04-25
Posts: 23  

Re: Scrolling Output in the Console Window

https://www.phoronix.com/forums/forum/s … ost1207037

Not everybody is happy with dropping this code, when LTv makes a ... decision

AND : /usr/bin/less is not available in runlevel 1 !


The devil you know is better than the angel you don't know.

Offline

#15 2022-04-03 21:05:32

bai4Iej2need
Member
From: Ortenau
Registered: 2021-04-25
Posts: 23  

Re: Scrolling Output in the Console Window

tested now with kernel linux-image-4.19.0-20 from beowulf, but the function is the same missing.

vgacon.c patch has been backported to 4.19. to remove the code.

Last edited by bai4Iej2need (2022-04-04 16:33:19)


The devil you know is better than the angel you don't know.

Offline

Board footer