The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-08-26 03:40:16

wlan0
Member
Registered: 2017-08-26
Posts: 3

[SOLVED] Microphone not found by ALSA

So I recently got a new microphone and wanted to, well, use it, but it doesn't work. ALSA doesn't even find it:

**** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: CX20561 Analog [CX20561 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

(that's my laptop mic)

Anything I can do? I'm certain the mic itself works, I've used it on another computer before just fine. Thanks in advance for any help.

No it's not a USB mic, it's an aux in mic.

Last edited by wlan0 (2017-08-26 14:35:57)

Offline

#2 2017-08-26 04:09:37

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 650

Re: [SOLVED] Microphone not found by ALSA

I assume that you've checked all the open/closed/muted channels in alsamixer?

Online

#3 2017-08-26 04:25:50

wlan0
Member
Registered: 2017-08-26
Posts: 3

Re: [SOLVED] Microphone not found by ALSA

golinux wrote:

I assume that you've checked all the open/closed/muted channels in alsamixer?

Yes, still nothing of note:
https://b.doko.moe/smzsqd.png
https://b.doko.moe/iiwvju.png

Offline

#4 2017-08-26 04:58:48

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 650

Re: [SOLVED] Microphone not found by ALSA

I can barely read those colors but i can see that I have more than twice as many options available.   First suggestion  would be to hit F5 to see all the options, unless of course you've removed all but the ones in the image.  (I would have no idea how to do that)  Second would be to disable auto-mute.

Online

#5 2017-08-26 08:54:41

FOSSuser
Member
From: Surrey/Hants border UK
Registered: 2016-12-11
Posts: 167

Re: [SOLVED] Microphone not found by ALSA

Does it show up in dmesg when you plug it in?

dmesg | tail

Have you tried changing your 'soundcard' in alsamixer, (some mics come up as a soundcard).

Are you using a software audio program, if so, check it is using the right 'input'.
(I usually use audacity.)

Offline

#6 2017-08-26 12:10:58

fungus
Member
From: Any witch way
Registered: 2017-07-12
Posts: 364
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Microphone not found by ALSA

Wild guess.  If the hw only allows for a single input analog device and there is an onboard mic wouldn't the onboard mic have to be disabled?

Online

#7 2017-08-26 12:59:28

catprints
Member
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 61

Re: [SOLVED] Microphone not found by ALSA

Is pulseaudio removed? Any of my sound problems were when pulseaudio was present,

Last edited by catprints (2017-08-26 13:06:06)


"The obstacle is the path."

Offline

#8 2017-08-26 14:35:43

wlan0
Member
Registered: 2017-08-26
Posts: 3

Re: [SOLVED] Microphone not found by ALSA

golinux wrote:

I can barely read those colors but i can see that I have more than twice as many options available.   First suggestion  would be to hit F5 to see all the options, unless of course you've removed all but the ones in the image.  (I would have no idea how to do that)  Second would be to disable auto-mute.

Ah, thanks, this solved it. Yeah, I pressed F5, disabled automute and raised my Capture bar.

Offline

Board footer