The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-11-05 14:53:33

danista
Member
Registered: 2017-10-18
Posts: 16  

ascii 2.1 iso with openrc install doesnt work

I reinstalled ascii 2.1 with use openrc init option(devuan_ascii_2.1_i386_netinst.iso). But the openrc does not load after installation, it still works sysvinit.

Last edited by danista (2019-11-10 19:09:42)

Offline

#2 2019-11-05 21:07:44

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 186  

Re: ascii 2.1 iso with openrc install doesnt work

How did you select openrc?

Offline

#3 2019-11-06 11:01:13

danista
Member
Registered: 2017-10-18
Posts: 16  

Re: ascii 2.1 iso with openrc install doesnt work

rolfie wrote:

How did you select openrc?

This option added in new iso 2.1

Offline

#4 2019-11-06 16:00:34

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,287  

Re: ascii 2.1 iso with openrc install doesnt work

I tried it yesterday with the same iso you used. I ran the Graphical install and took all the defaults up to the point of choosing openrc. When it boots, openrc runs as expected. (Parts of sysvinit are still installed and are used by openrc.)

What did you do that's different?

Offline

#5 2019-11-06 16:39:06

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 186  

Re: ascii 2.1 iso with openrc install doesnt work

I am asking because in ascii 2.0 you had to do an expert install and select openrc. Looks like the installation with 2.1 has changed, the question is asked in the normal install already.

Just tried 2.1 amd64 in VBox: selection works fine, openrc 0.23 is starting.

You mention something about re-installation. What does that mean? Did you overwrite an existing installation? e.g. without formatting the disk? Please explain.

Offline

#6 2019-11-06 16:58:50

danista
Member
Registered: 2017-10-18
Posts: 16  

Re: ascii 2.1 iso with openrc install doesnt work

fsmithred wrote:

I tried it yesterday with the same iso you used. I ran the Graphical install and took all the defaults up to the point of choosing openrc. When it boots, openrc runs as expected. (Parts of sysvinit are still installed and are used by openrc.)

What did you do that's different?

I used expert install. im not find any .deb packet on netinstall iso and dvd with name openrc, maybe installer downloads from network?
How to determine if openrc is running?

rolfie wrote:

You mention something about re-installation. What does that mean? Did you overwrite an existing installation? e.g. without formatting the disk? Please explain.

I'm sorry, I didn’t say it right, previously installed 2.0. Yes, with formatting the disk.

Last edited by danista (2019-11-06 17:02:36)

Offline

#7 2019-11-06 17:11:04

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,766  

Re: ascii 2.1 iso with openrc install doesnt work

With the 2.1 point release, openrc no longer requires an expert install.  Even the graphical installer offers the option.  Remember that openrc is still tied to sysvinit scripts:

This from https://dev1galaxy.org/search.php?actio … er_id=5727 titled "Solving Init Compatibility":

Openrc

Openrc is provided as an alternative service manager from the Devuan installer, which is already a step up from Debian. However, this is far from a replacement to sysvinit. In fact, it simply runs atop it. Sysvinit scripts are still used during initialization, and no openrc run scripts are provided as replacements for the various sysvinit scripts used in starting services. In recent versions of Openrc, it comes with its own init. This skips inittab and boots openrc directly, but since it still uses sysvinit scripts, it’s noticeably slower. Also, without providing getty scripts, the user won’t even reach the login prompt. Gentoo provides all the run scripts we could ever need, and so bringing them over is not an impossibility. Why bother using openrc run scripts and using openrc as an init and a service manager? The scripts are much easier to read, and process supervision would be handled much more cleanly. There’s also faster boot times and better overall performance, but your mileage may vary on those claims.

Online

#8 2019-11-06 17:21:27

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 186  

Re: ascii 2.1 iso with openrc install doesnt work

danista wrote:

How to determine if openrc is running?

When booting past expanding the initramfs, you should see a message about init 2.88 starting and two lines deeper openrc 0.23 starting

rolfie

Last edited by rolfie (2019-11-06 17:21:47)

Offline

#9 2019-11-06 18:24:30

danista
Member
Registered: 2017-10-18
Posts: 16  

Re: ascii 2.1 iso with openrc install doesnt work

can this be seen in the boot logs?

Offline

#10 2019-11-07 17:28:26

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 186  

Re: ascii 2.1 iso with openrc install doesnt work

Look at the boot screen. Normally there are no boot logs written.

rolfie

Last edited by rolfie (2019-11-07 17:28:43)

Offline

#11 2019-11-07 17:35:38

sgage
Member
Registered: 2016-12-01
Posts: 190  

Re: ascii 2.1 iso with openrc install doesnt work

Just another data point: I installed using the ascii 2.1 iso, selected the openrc option, and it all worked fine.

Offline

#12 2019-11-09 10:25:16

danista
Member
Registered: 2017-10-18
Posts: 16  

Re: ascii 2.1 iso with openrc install doesnt work

rolfie wrote:

Look at the boot screen. Normally there are no boot logs written.

rolfie

I will try to record a video and then watch it in slow motion. With these settings the system works faster than 2.0.
Thank you all very much for your support!

Offline

#13 2019-11-10 19:13:37

danista
Member
Registered: 2017-10-18
Posts: 16  

Re: ascii 2.1 iso with openrc install doesnt work

rolfie wrote:

two lines deeper openrc 0.23 starting

I checked on my machine this is not displayed.

Offline

#14 2019-11-12 16:57:24

danista
Member
Registered: 2017-10-18
Posts: 16  

Re: ascii 2.1 iso with openrc install doesnt work

I found an entry in the installation log that the package "openrc" was not found.

Offline

#15 2019-11-13 18:02:23

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,287  

Re: ascii 2.1 iso with openrc install doesnt work

You're right. The openrc package is not in the CD or DVD. It will only be installed if you selected a mirrorl.

You can still switch to openrc if you have an internet connection. Make sure sources.list points to devuan repos and install openrc. (See https://devuan.org/get-devuan for examples.)

Offline

Board footer