The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-09-21 18:01:00

Copper36
Member
Registered: 2018-11-27
Posts: 18  

32bit packages on a 64bit system

Hi guys,

How do I install 32bit wine on a 64bit ASCII (via Synaptic)? Only 64bit packages are available by default and I can't figure out how to enable 32bit packages install... I've had pretty bad experience with 64bit wine so far, so don't want even try it, just in case.

Thank you!

Offline

#2 2019-09-22 00:27:38

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 279  

Re: 32bit packages on a 64bit system

Hello:

Wine can be rather a PITA.
Have you tried the alternative of setting up VirtualBox?

You run all your MS applications in a VM.
XPSP3, for example.

Cheers,

A.

Offline

#3 2019-09-22 12:35:52

MiyoLinux
Member
Registered: 2016-12-05
Posts: 977  

Re: 32bit packages on a 64bit system

If you want 32 bit packages on a 64 bit system, run these commands as su or sudo...

dpkg --add-architecture i386
apt update
apt upgrade

I haven't used wine in some time, but here's what worked the best for me when I did...

https://sourceforge.net/p/miyolinux/wiki/Wine%20/


I have been Devuanated, and my practice in the art of Devuanism shall continue until my Devuanization is complete. Until then, I will strive to continue in my understanding of Devuanchology, Devuanprocity, and Devuanivity.

Veni, vidi, vici vdevuaned. I came, I saw, I Devuaned. wink

Offline

#4 2019-09-22 21:29:07

ralph.ronnquist
Administrator
From: Clifton Hill, Victoria, AUS
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 382  

Re: 32bit packages on a 64bit system

Note that there is version competition between the i386 and amd64 for some packages.

In particular the util-linux group of packages have got version mismatch between these architectures (with i386 the newer). This results in a bit of a havoc if one attempts to install something (like wine32) that (indirectly) depends on one of those, as it essentially ends up wanting to replace almost everything.

It's something to careful with.

Online

#5 2019-09-22 21:38:21

sgage
Member
Registered: 2016-12-01
Posts: 191  

Re: 32bit packages on a 64bit system

ralph.ronnquist wrote:

Note that there is version competition between the i386 and amd64 for some packages.

In particular the util-linux group of packages have got version mismatch between these architectures (with i386 the newer). This results in a bit of a havoc if one attempts to install something (like wine32) that (indirectly) depends on one of those, as it essentially ends up wanting to replace almost everything.

It's something to careful with.

I will be grateful when things are rectified - I would like to install wine 32 in beowulf. I have one stinkin' program that I need to run daily, so I'm mostly stuck in ascii. Which is no hardship, to be honest :-)

Offline

#6 2019-09-23 10:53:33

bgstack15
Member
Registered: 2018-02-04
Posts: 83  

Re: 32bit packages on a 64bit system

If you spend enough time, you can figure out which exact versions of the 64-bit packages you need, so that you can "apt-get install thatpackagename=1.3.4" with exact version numbers. What happened was the i386 packages have a newer version released in the Devuan repos, before the amd64 packages. In a multiarch installation, it appears that all architectures must have the exact same version number for a named package. I ran into this issue on Ceres but maybe that conversation can guide you a little.


This space intentionally left blank.

Offline

#7 2019-09-23 12:07:52

sgage
Member
Registered: 2016-12-01
Posts: 191  

Re: 32bit packages on a 64bit system

bgstack15 wrote:

If you spend enough time, you can figure out which exact versions of the 64-bit packages you need, so that you can "apt-get install thatpackagename=1.3.4" with exact version numbers. What happened was the i386 packages have a newer version released in the Devuan repos, before the amd64 packages. In a multiarch installation, it appears that all architectures must have the exact same version number for a named package. I ran into this issue on Ceres but maybe that conversation can guide you a little.

Yes, I had read that thread. I can't really seem to figure out what's going on. I'll just wait for the 64-bit packages to catch up to the 32-bit packages :-)

Offline

#8 2019-09-23 15:18:07

juic3
Member
Registered: 2018-11-27
Posts: 5  

Re: 32bit packages on a 64bit system

Yes, I had read that thread. I can't really seem to figure out what's going on. I'll just wait for the 64-bit packages to catch up to the 32-bit packages :-)

Does anyone have an idea when that might be happening? smile

Offline

#9 2019-09-23 15:26:58

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,767  

Re: 32bit packages on a 64bit system

Faster if you help to make it happen.  smile

Offline

#10 2019-09-29 04:09:10

Copper36
Member
Registered: 2018-11-27
Posts: 18  

Re: 32bit packages on a 64bit system

MiyoLinux wrote:

If you want 32 bit packages on a 64 bit system, run these commands as su or sudo...

Thanks a lot, added the necessary 32bit reps!

Offline

Board footer