The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-01-03 18:56:48

dRose
Member
Registered: 2019-01-03
Posts: 6  

Installing Devuan from VBox

Hi all
I am trying to install Devuan ascii from Virtual Box. I have set up the VM added the live session of D-ascii but on installing, I got a message about yad 0.38 and refractainstall.

I've read the install guides from devuan.org and other info from google.com yet I am not understanding what the next steps are. Is there not a straightforward way to do this install?

True, I am sort of still figuring my way through Linux but would like to get some direction if you' all do not mind.

thanks.

Last edited by dRose (2019-01-03 18:57:32)

Offline

#2 2019-01-03 19:18:46

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,486  

Re: Installing Devuan from VBox

I'm not quite clear what you are trying to do.  Can you provide a little more information?

This beta is a WIP but very close to finished: https://beta.devuan.org/os/documentatio … e-gui.html.  I will be making some changes later today.

Also please read the RELEASE NOTES on the desktop if you have not already done so

Online

#3 2019-01-03 19:42:56

dRose
Member
Registered: 2019-01-03
Posts: 6  

Re: Installing Devuan from VBox

First, thanks for replying.
I am trying to install devuan ascii in a VM I just created and have already added D-ascii's iso. It is currently in live session only and I'd like to install it to virtual hd.

When doing so, I got a notice that if I'm using yad 0.38 then it may be best to use the refracta installer in root. I just want to install the thing.

I downloaded the current iso via nluug and then found this not long ago https://devuan.org/os/documentation/install Virtual Machines section.


So based on, https://devuan.org/os/documentation/install Virtual Machines sections, this is a different iso used for VM only and I shouldn't have been using the one from the downloads page?

I did read the release notes, still reading them.  For me, for the moment, I'm just  trying to parse out which instructions to really follow from all the different stuff I've been reading on how to install devascii from a VM.

Thanks for this new documentation link.

Last edited by dRose (2019-01-03 19:54:48)

Offline

#4 2019-01-03 20:36:28

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,486  

Re: Installing Devuan from VBox

If you're already in a live session, just launch the installer from the icon on the desktop or the system menu and follow the instructions on the webpage posted above.

Note: You can also launch the cli installer as root with refractainstaller and the graphical one with refractainstaller-yad.

There was also an issue with certain yad versions shoving the installer dialogues off-screen so it might just be that you have an older version of yad and need to upgrade.

Online

#5 2019-01-03 22:15:29

dRose
Member
Registered: 2019-01-03
Posts: 6  

Re: Installing Devuan from VBox

I am launching from the desktop.
Pop-ups: choose su or sudo, I choose su then I get the yad refractoinstall popup. I think I'll bypass the desktop launch and try the cli this time.

thanks again.

Offline

#6 2019-01-03 23:00:46

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,486  

Re: Installing Devuan from VBox

dRose wrote:

I am launching from the desktop.
Pop-ups: choose su or sudo, I choose su then I get the yad refractainstaller popup. I think I'll bypass the desktop launch and try the cli this time.

thanks again.

Sounds like you're on your way!  Let us know how it works out.  FWIW, I use the cli version also.  We'll be adding a page with screenshots for a cli install too.

Online

#7 2019-01-04 14:19:46

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 95  

Re: Installing Devuan from VBox

Why don't you make it easy on yourself and use one of the normal net/CD/DVD-ASCII-isos?

This works fine.

rolfie

Offline

#8 2019-01-04 17:07:38

dRose
Member
Registered: 2019-01-03
Posts: 6  

Re: Installing Devuan from VBox

rolfie wrote:

Why don't you make it easy on yourself and use one of the normal net/CD/DVD-ASCII-isos?

This works fine.

rolfie

Is that the same as  devuan_ascii_2.0.0_amd64_desktop-live.iso 07-Jun-2018 00:18  1.0G  which I'm using from here? https://ftp.nluug.nl/pub/os/Linux/distr … ktop-live/


What does that one do easier/better?

Offline

#9 2019-01-04 17:39:17

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,486  

Re: Installing Devuan from VBox

dRose wrote:

Is that the same as  devuan_ascii_2.0.0_amd64_desktop-live.iso 07-Jun-2018 00:18  1.0G  which I'm using from here? https://ftp.nluug.nl/pub/os/Linux/distr … ktop-live/

What does that one do easier/better?

The -live and netinst use different installers.

The -live isos use the refractainstaller which rsyncs the running system to your specified location.

The netinst isos use the classic debian-installer which is documented here:
https://devuan.org/os/documentation/ins … evuan.html

and here for the graphic install:
https://devuan.org/os/documentation/ins … stall.html

Description of the Devuan isos can be found in the ISO Guide section of the devuan.org index page

Online

#10 2019-01-04 18:45:02

dRose
Member
Registered: 2019-01-03
Posts: 6  

Re: Installing Devuan from VBox

I see.
A question, please. Should the host and guest OSes have the same type of partition table?
During installation, at the Disks info shows this has a gpt table,

Disk dev/sda: 60 GiB, 64424509440 bytes, 125829120 sectors
Disklabel type: gpt
Disk indentifier: xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Disk dev/loop0: 953.5 MiB, 999809024 bytes, 1952752 sectors

/dev/sr0: UUID= “2018-06-06-04-05-11-00” LABEL=“ISOIMAGE” TYPE=”iso9660” PTUUID=“xxxxxxx ”    PTTYPE=“dos”
/dev/loop0: TYPE=”squashfs”
/dev/sda: PTUUID=“xxxxxxxxxxx”  PTTYPE=”gpt

my host system has,

Disk /dev/sda: 1000GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/4096B
Partition Table: msdos
Disk Flags: 

Number  Start   End     Size    Type      File system     Flags
1      1049kB  313MB   312MB   primary   fat32           boot, esp
2      315MB   789GB   789GB   extended
5      315MB   13.5GB  13.2GB  logical   linux-swap(v1)
6      13.5GB  63.0GB  50.5GB  logical   ext4
7      50.5GB  789GB   738GB   logical   ext4

Do I then create a gpt or msdos partition table for the Guest OS (Devuan) because I wanted to create a separate /home? Now I come to partitioning and unsure what type of table to create.

Offline

#11 2019-01-05 10:51:45

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 95  

Re: Installing Devuan from VBox

You can set up the guest as you like, as long as you use a simulated disk for the vbox.

rolfie

Offline

#12 2019-01-05 15:56:24

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 977  

Re: Installing Devuan from VBox

For the live installer, choose sudo at the beginning. It's easier - you won't have to enter a password. It has no effect on whether you use sudo or not in the installed system.

I prefer the live installer - it's a faster install. (I may be biased - I wrote it.) If you want the default xfce desktop, you can have it in about 10 minutes. If you want a more customized system, you may be better off with one of the installer isos.

If you use a gpt partition table on a system that's booting in bios (legacy) mode, you'll need to create a small, unformatted partition with bios_grub flag in gparted (or EF02 in gdisk). (Click on Help from inside the installer for more info about this.)

The warning about the version of yad might be obsolete. It's been working fine for me for a few months. My best guess is that something got fixed in gtk3 or in virtualbox.

Offline

#13 2019-01-05 16:58:32

dRose
Member
Registered: 2019-01-03
Posts: 6  

Re: Installing Devuan from VBox

Thanks guys, I got it installed. Just figuring out why Guest Additions is being detected.

thanks again.

Offline

Board footer