The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-10-16 19:09:02

Ron
Member
Registered: 2018-04-22
Posts: 255  

Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

A few months ago I had to replace my HP 6660 printer with a new one. I got an HP Office Jet Pro 8025. For some reason, it wouldn't work with hplip, so I installed cups (system-config-printer) and it prints okay using that (here). Now just the other day, I noticed that Xsane Image scanner won't recognize it. Is this related to the fact that hplip didn't work with 8025? Does anyone know of a way I can get the scanner working in conjuction with my computer? Thanks.

Offline

#2 2020-10-16 21:26:10

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 504  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

Hello:

Ron wrote:

... Xsane Image scanner won't recognize it.

Open a terminal and run the groups command to see what you are a member of:

user@devuan:~$ groups

If I recall correctly, you have to be a member of the scanner group to be able to use one.
If you are not a member of the scanner group, open a terminal, become root and add yourself to it:

[root@devuan ~]# adduser [userID] scanner

Log out and back in again and run the groups command to see if it worked.

Here's a link to a page by HP (!) for troubleshooting the scanner in the 8025.

Cheers,

A.

Last edited by Altoid (2020-10-16 21:29:09)

Offline

#3 2020-10-17 01:03:38

Ron
Member
Registered: 2018-04-22
Posts: 255  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

I successfully added myself to the scanner group, but Xsane still does not recognize the scanner. I wonder if trying Simple Scan would work; but being that both Simple Scan and Xsane are just GUIs for Sane, I'm thinking it won't make a difference.

Offline

#4 2020-10-17 01:23:30

Ron
Member
Registered: 2018-04-22
Posts: 255  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

In looking over the troubleshooting page that was linked to by Altoid, I don't understand this part:

Solution:

For network scanning, the "hp:/net/..." URI must be configured in the CUPS queue for auto-discovery by OpenOffice and xsane. You can manually specify the URI with xsane using the following format:

xsane <"hpaio" device uri>

For example:

xsane hpaio:/net/PSC_750?ip=12.25.63.142

(Where the CUPS installed device URI is: hp:/net/PSC_750?ip=12.25.63.142, and the hp: was replaced with hpaio:)

I looked up the URI of the printer and it doesn't begin with hp:/net/, it begins with usb://HP. The whole thing is:


usb://HP/OfficeJet%20Pro%208020%20series?serial=**********&interface=1

I replace some numbers with asterisks because it seemed like that was the serial number

Last edited by Ron (2020-10-17 01:29:00)

Offline

#5 2020-10-17 12:04:56

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 504  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

Hello:

Ron wrote:

... don't understand this part:

I don't have one of these HP multi-things so I'm relying on what you can tell me.
I avoid anything multi, better to do just one thing and do it right.
I still use a ca. 1996 Umax S-6E, works great.

How is this device connected to you box?
Try installing simple-scan and see if it detects the scanner.

[root@devuan]# apt install simple-scan

If not, is there something called HP Toolbox installed along with HPLIP?
Does it have the option to install a Fax Printer?
If not, install it and see if it works.

Also check this thread, I think the solution may be there among many posters who had the same issue.

Cheers,

A.

Last edited by Altoid (2020-10-17 12:10:28)

Offline

#6 2020-10-17 12:26:47

Ron
Member
Registered: 2018-04-22
Posts: 255  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

In hplip I keep getting the message "No Installed HP Devices Found," just like I did when I couldn't get it to print. However, at the bottom of this window it says:

Note: Only devices installed with the hp: or hpfax: CUPS backend will appear in the HP Device Manager.

Does that have anything to do with the URI of the printer I mentioned above not starting with "hp:" but with "usb"?

EDIT

Since posting the above, I tried installing and using Simple Scan. I got the same message, no scanner detected. Then, on another forum where I posted this problem, somebody mentioned I might try purging ippusbxd and replacing it with ipp-usb. So I looked them up, and ipp-usb isn't available in the repo, but ippusbxd is, and I noticed it was not installed. So I installed it and rebooted the computer and tried both Simple Scan again and Xsane and still no joy.

Last edited by Ron (2020-10-17 13:07:28)

Offline

#7 2020-10-17 13:37:35

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 504  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

Hello:

Ron wrote:

... keep getting the message "No Installed HP Devices Found ...

OK.

Ron wrote:

Note: Only devices installed with the hp: or hpfax: CUPS backend will appear in the HP Device Manager.

I think this has to do with CUPS not seeing the scanner and is asking for the hpfax backend to be able to do so.
I'd say that the hpfax backend is definitely related to the installation of the fax printer.

So ...
Is the HP-toolbox I asked you about installed?
If so, is the fax-printer installed?    <--- this seems to be the essential part.

Please check and read the link I posted.

askubuntu.com link wrote:

I had a similar problem with an HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus.
After a clean install of Ubuntu 18.04, the printer worked fine, but the scanner could not be found.
The solution was to use the HP toolbox and install the fax printer, which for whatever reason was not automatically installed at the same time as the main printer.
All worked perfectly after that.

Cheers,

A.

Offline

#8 2020-10-17 13:56:01

Ron
Member
Registered: 2018-04-22
Posts: 255  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

Yes, I have hplip toolbox installed, but I can't get past the frist window because it isn't detecting my printer/scanner. I don't see, on any of the toolbox windows, anything that says "fax-printer."

When I open the toolbox, I first get this.

https://i.imgur.com/mbB5s7u.jpg

Then I click Setup Device... and I then get this.

https://i.imgur.com/EZGoIBR.jpg

I then click Next and get this.

https://i.imgur.com/dCFZBrc.jpg

There is no option on any of these windows for "fax-printer."

Offline

#9 2020-10-17 14:45:13

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 504  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

Hello:

Ron wrote:

... have hplip toolbox installed ...

OK.


Ron wrote:

... can't get past the frist window ...
... don't see, on any of the toolbox windows, anything that says "fax-printer."

OK

https://i.imgur.com/mbB5s7u.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/EZGoIBR.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/dCFZBrc.jpg

Can't see any of these but it does not matter much as I don't have the application.
I'd suggest some other on line image depo.

Ron wrote:

... no option on any of these windows for "fax-printer."

OK

Rather limited here as I don't have the software or the hardware and have run out of ideas.
I think this may be a CUPS configuration issue, an HPLIP version issue or a combo of both.
The printer gets on-line and works, so that is not a problem.

Here's a link to the HP Basic HPLIP troubleshooting page.

Check to see what results you get from what they suggest, specifically these actions:

Is the printer in an error state?
Run hp-check and verify in the installed printer queues section that the communication is "Good".

Run hp-check and verify that there are no errors.

Check hp-check -t that "scanner-build=yes    <-- this                 

Verify that sane is configured with hpaio--run:

    export SANE_DEBUG_DLL=128   <--- this

    scanimage -L   <--- this

The printer should be detected.

View /var/log/syslogwhile scanning for any errors. <--- this

Depending on your distro you can run either; su -c "tail -f /var/log/syslog" or sudo tail -f /var/log/syslog, then try scanning and view the syslog for errors.

Cheers,

A.

Offline

#10 2020-10-17 16:33:12

Ron
Member
Registered: 2018-04-22
Posts: 255  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

I guess the bottom line is that the version of hplip that comes with ascii, 3.16.11, is not compatible with HP 8025. I need to upgrade to version 3.19.5 according to the hplip website; but when I try, I get dependency errors. I thought that since I got the printing problem fixed by using CUPS only, the scanner would work that way also, but I guess I was wrong? The only thing I can think of is to move to Devuan Beowulf. How can I find out what version of hplip comes with Beowulf?

Offtopic: I just noticed that when typing "Devuan" when making a post, it gets a red squiggly underline as if it's misspelled. That's ironic considering that this is Devuan's forums.

EDIT

Okay, so based on this, it looks like hplip 3.18.12 is the version on Debian 10. But according to this, the version on Debian 10.3 is hplip 3.20.5. So how do I know what version is available on Devuan Beowulf?

Last edited by Ron (2020-10-17 16:39:09)

Offline

#11 2020-10-17 16:54:51

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 2,061  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

Have you looked in ascii backports?  Might not need to upgrade to beowulf.

It is your spellchecker that is objecting to Devuan. Just add that word and the red squiggle will go away.

Online

#12 2020-10-17 17:03:39

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 504  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

Hello:

Ron wrote:

... bottom line is that the version of hplip that comes with ascii, 3.16.11, is not compatible with HP 8025.

If they say so it is probably so.

Ron wrote:

... upgrade to version 3.19.5 according to the hplip website ...
... get dependency errors.

Did you try fixing the dependency errors?

ie:

[root@devuan ~]# apt install -f

Sometimes it works.

Ron wrote:

... got the printing problem fixed by using CUPS ...
... scanner would work that way also ...

Well ...   8^7

Ron wrote:

... move to Devuan Beowulf.
... what version of hplip comes with Beowulf?

See here: https://pkginfo.devuan.org/

Devuan Package information
Search Devuan Packages for: in release
4 results for "hplip" in beowulf (in 7.166877ms)

[beowulf] hplip-3.18.12+dfsg0-2            <----
[beowulf] hplip-data-3.18.12+dfsg0-2
[beowulf] hplip-doc-3.18.12+dfsg0-2
[beowulf] hplip-gui-3.18.12+dfsg0-2

Have you tried installing the current ie: updated version for ascii?

Just for tidyness' sake, maybe it would be a good idea to uninstall and purge first before installing HPLIP version 3.18.12:

[root@devuan ~]# apt purge autoremove hplip
Ron wrote:

... typing "Devuan" when making a post ...

That's just Google being its usual silly and sucking up to its pals.

Cheers,

A.

Offline

#13 2020-10-17 17:08:24

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 2,061  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

Altoid wrote:
Ron wrote:

... typing "Devuan" when making a post ...

That's just Google being its usual silly and sucking up to its pals.

No.  It's his spellchecker.  I still get red squiggles because I have never bothered to add that word.

Online

#14 2020-10-17 17:57:17

Ron
Member
Registered: 2018-04-22
Posts: 255  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

golinux wrote:

Have you looked in ascii backports?  Might not need to upgrade to beowulf.

It is your spellchecker that is objecting to Devuan. Just add that word and the red squiggle will go away.

Looked in the backports (here; is this the right place?), and it only goes up to hplip version 3.18.12. According to the hplip site I need version 3.19.5. So am I SOL with using my scanner? Is there any other possible way to get it working??

Offtopic: Added "Devuan" to spellchecker. Thanks golinux.

Offline

#15 2020-10-17 19:09:38

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 2,061  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

I'm not finding the one you need anywhere in the repos:

https://pkginfo.devuan.org/cgi-bin/d1pk … elease=any

Online

#16 2020-10-17 19:27:04

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 504  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

Hello:

golinux wrote:

... looked in ascii backports?

I have not found it there.

The debian Stretch backport is hplip-gui 3.18.12+dfsg0-2~bpo9+1

golinux wrote:

... spellchecker that is objecting to Devuan.

I stand correcetd.
Indeed, the squiggles are due to the spellchecker.
I don't use automatic spell checking.

But there was a time when, if you entered Devuan in the Google search engine, it would invariably ask if you had not meant Debian.
Not the case any longer.  8^D

Cheers,

A.

Last edited by Altoid (2020-10-17 19:31:53)

Offline

#17 2020-10-17 19:29:54

Ron
Member
Registered: 2018-04-22
Posts: 255  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

Okay, I'm taking a shot in the dark, it possible to use Debian's backports?

I found this: https://packages.debian.org/bullseye/hplip

Last edited by Ron (2020-10-17 19:31:13)

Offline

#18 2020-10-17 19:36:32

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 504  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

Hello:

Ron wrote:

... possible to use Debian's backports?
https://packages.debian.org/bullseye/hplip

This is HPLIP from the Debian Bullseye repository.
As far as I understand it, it is not a backport.

Have you tried apt install -f to see if you could fix the dependency problems when installing HPLIP 3.19.5?

That's the only thing I can think of.

Cheers,

A.

Offline

#19 2020-10-17 19:45:45

Ron
Member
Registered: 2018-04-22
Posts: 255  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

Would I run apt install -f before or after trying to install HPLIP 3.19.5?

Offline

#20 2020-10-17 19:54:12

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 415  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

Just a small hint how to easily find Devuan package information:

On top of every page in this forum on the right hand side you find 5 links. The one to the right says Packages.

Open that link, enter hplip* in the box and select Any as release. You get a list of entries across all Devuan versions.

In Beowulf on 3.18.12 is present. No backports version. You may try the 3.20 from Ceres. Somewhere in this forum is a howto how to avoid pulling all kinds of stuff from the Ceres repo.

rolfie

Offline

#21 2020-10-17 20:07:14

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 504  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

Hello:

Ron wrote:

... run apt install -f before or after trying to install HPLIP 3.19.5?

I assume it is after, which is when dependency hell has broken loose.  8^D.
Let's see if we can find a way out of this.

First purge the previous version of HPLIP.

As root: apt purge autoremove hplip

Reboot and try to install HPLIP 3.19.5 you got from HP (I assume it is a *.deb file?)

Post the output so we can see what's going on dependency wise.

Maybe they are just one or two libraries and you can install them via apt with no issues and then try to install HPLIP 3.19.5 again.
Or maybe they cannot be installed because those dependencies also have their own dependencies to complain about and it goes on.

Edit
Q:
Is it absolutely necessary to install HPLIP to get the scanner/printer working?
A couple of years ago I needed to get a printer to use at home asap and landed an inexpensive Samsung M2020W.
HPLIP was a hellish experience and then I came across CUPS. No issues ever again.

Cheers,

A.

Last edited by Altoid (2020-10-17 20:30:07)

Offline

#22 2020-10-17 20:13:44

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 2,061  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

Do not install directly from Debian

Online

#23 2020-10-17 20:41:42

Ron
Member
Registered: 2018-04-22
Posts: 255  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

It was downloaded from the hplip site. The file is hplip-3.19.5.run. Here are the pertinent parts. At some point, I get this:


MISSING DEPENDENCIES
--------------------
Following dependencies are not installed. HPLIP will not work if all REQUIRED dependencies are not installed and some of the HPLIP features will not work if OPTIONAL dependencies are not installed.
Package-Name         Component            Required/Optional   
pyqt5-dbus           gui_qt5              OPTIONAL            
pyqt5                gui_qt5              REQUIRED  

         

I type "y" and press enter. Then a bit later I get this...

DEPENDENCY AND CONFLICT RESOLUTION
----------------------------------
Running 'su -c "apt-get install --force-yes -ygtk2-engines-pixbuf" '
Please wait, this may take several minutes. . .
Running 'su -c "apt-get install --force-yes -y python-pyqt5" '
Please wait, this may take several minutes. . .
Running 'su -c "apt-get install --force-yes -y python-dbus.mainloop.pyqt5" '
Please wait, this may take several minutes. . .
error: A required dependency 'pyqt4-dbus (PyQt 4 DBus - DBus Support for PyQt4)' is still missing.
error: A required dependency 'pyqt4 (PyQt 4- Qt interface for Python (for Qt version 4.x))' is still missing.

Then a few seconds later, the terminal crashes and I'm still on hplip 3.16.11.

At this point, I'm just afraid to go on thinking that I might lose the printing function with all this fiddling around.

Offline

#24 2020-10-17 21:16:58

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 504  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

Hello:

Ron wrote:

... downloaded from the hplip site.
hplip-3.19.5.run.

Ron wrote:

Here are the pertinent parts.

All parts are pertinent.

Ron wrote:
Following dependencies are not installed.
pyqt5-dbus         
pyqt5

OK

Ron wrote:

... terminal crashes and I'm still on hplip 3.16.11.

You did not purge the previous HPLIP version before trying to install 3.19.5?

I have seen at least two posts on the web where it was said that the previous package had to be cleared out.
Can't find them now but I think you should do that.

Purge the installed version of HPLIP, reboot, make sure your installation is up to date and that there are no missing dependencies.

# apt autoremove --purge hplip

# apt update && apt upgrade && apt install -f

Reboot.
Now try to install the missing dependencies.

From your post I see that the HPLIP installer says it needs pyqt5 and pyqt5-dbus.
But when it tries to install them it bitches about pyqt4 and pyqt4-dbus and crashes.

Does not take into account the dependencies of the dependencies.  8^D

Let's try to install the missing dependencies individually, one by one via apt on the terminal.
Not via the HPLIP installer, evidently it is rather lacking.

ie:

# apt install pyqt4-dbus   <---- *first* the ones that are needed to be able to install the ones HPLIP says it needs
# apt install pyqt4

# apt install pyqt5-dbus   <---- *then* the ones that HPLIP says it needs
# apt install pyqt5

Then, just in case, check for other missing dependencies or updates.
ie:

# apt update && apt upgrade && apt install -f

Stop there (don't install HPLIP yet) and let us know how it went.

Cheers,

A.

Offline

#25 2020-10-17 22:52:03

Ron
Member
Registered: 2018-04-22
Posts: 255  

Re: Xsane Image doesn't detect my scanner

So I tried to install pyqt4-dbus and pyqt4, and got this message:

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package pyqt4

In the interest of completeness, I did not first uninstall hplip 16. Now I'm glad I didn't.

Offline

Board footer