The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-05-16 20:57:43

ve1drg
Member
Registered: 2020-04-29
Posts: 26  

Trouble getting internet to work.

Today I manually installed Devuan-jessie without an internet configuration. Or internet files..
After installation I see that /lib/firmware was empty.  Nothing there.  Good reason why there was no internet.

So I used GDEBI and installed 'firmware-atheros_20190717-2_all.deb'.

That gave me all the needed files for the internet to work, like ath10k  for example. But not a thing loaded..

I made up all the needed config files that I could think of like /etc/network/interfaces.  And the config files in Wicd.
I did a lot of ifup eth0  and ifdown etc..  And nothing.

So what am I missing?  Must be something else I need to do?  I presume that when GDEBI did the install it looked after the modules and other related files that might be needed.  It installed without any problems.  And the files are all there.  But they are not being called my Devau-Jessie when I reboot. Or try to reload /etc/init.d/networking..

I need a hint or two on how to get this to work..

Thanks..

Last edited by ve1drg (2020-05-16 21:02:21)

Offline

#2 2020-05-16 21:20:41

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,908  

Re: Trouble getting internet to work.

ve1drg wrote:

So what am I missing?

Are you aware that jessie is now oldoldstable and will be EOL by the end of June?  Even I will have to say goodby to my trusty jessie that has been running since just after the fork.  sad

Online

#3 2020-05-16 21:31:39

ve1drg
Member
Registered: 2020-04-29
Posts: 26  

Re: Trouble getting internet to work.

Yes I am aware that its end of life is soon.

But for the sake of amateur radio software,  Jessie has to be used. Rather than something like beautiful Ascii. 
I sure wish ascii would work. That is what I have running on my main computer.  Its really nice. But Jessie is needed for the node software and ax125 utils..

Its too bad..

But need to get this thing running on my new machine.  Or give up my amateur radio hobby.

Offline

#4 2020-05-17 03:55:46

wdq
Member
Registered: 2018-03-15
Posts: 54  

Re: Trouble getting internet to work.

I believe is a driver problem and or not installed correctly so please:

Get a live cd , copy the drivers from the live in your installed  system restart, voila .... should work like a charm.

And from my experience I would use apt to install deb packages

Apt-get install ./file-name

and you don't have to stress about gdebi.
Hope it helps!

Offline

#5 2020-05-17 07:40:46

GlennW
Member
Registered: 2019-07-18
Posts: 14  

Re: Trouble getting internet to work.

my card is an intel, I found this was a prerequisit. free firmware from git

git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/firmware/linux-firmware.git

then I re-installed the iwlwifi modules, on my box. hope it helps.

Last edited by GlennW (2020-05-17 07:41:15)

Offline

#6 2020-05-17 10:15:56

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 654  
Website

Re: Trouble getting internet to work.

ve1drg wrote:

So what am I missing?

Probably a driver, the kernel in jessie is *very* old.

lspci -knn | grep -A3 Network

And note that firmware != driver.


"Il semble que la perfection soit atteinte non quand il n'y a plus rien à ajouter, mais quand il n'y a plus rien à retrancher." — Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Offline

#7 2020-05-17 17:33:31

ve1drg
Member
Registered: 2020-04-29
Posts: 26  

Re: Trouble getting internet to work.

Here is what Jessie shows with the following commands..

root@localhost:/etc/init.d# lspci -knn | grep -A3 Network

03:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Qualcomm Atheros Device [168c:003e] (rev 32)
        Subsystem: Bigfoot Networks, Inc. Device [1a56:1535]
04:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Qualcomm Atheros Device [1969:e0a1] (rev 10)
        Subsystem: Dell Device [1028:0859]
70:00.0 Non-Volatile memory controller [0108]: Device [1c5c:1639]

root@localhost:/files# lspci

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Device 3e30 (rev 0d)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Device 1901 (rev 0d)
00:02.0 Display controller: Intel Corporation Device 3e98 (rev 02)
00:08.0 System peripheral: Intel Corporation Device 1911
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation Device a2af
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation Device a2ba
00:17.0 RAID bus controller: Intel Corporation 82801 SATA Controller [RAID mode]
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Device a291 (rev f0)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Device a292 (rev f0)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Device a293 (rev f0)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Device a294 (rev f0)
00:1d.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Device a298 (rev f0)
00:1e.0 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Device a2a7
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Device a2c9
00:1f.2 Memory controller: Intel Corporation Device a2a1
00:1f.3 Audio device: Intel Corporation Device a2f0
00:1f.4 SMBus: Intel Corporation Device a2a3
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 2182 (rev a1)
01:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1aeb (rev a1)
01:00.2 USB controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1aec (rev a1)
01:00.3 Serial bus controller [0c80]: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1aed (rev a1)
02:00.0 USB controller: ASMedia Technology Inc. Device 1242
03:00.0 Network controller: Qualcomm Atheros Device 003e (rev 32)
04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Qualcomm Atheros Device e0a1 (rev 10)
70:00.0 Non-Volatile memory controller: Device 1c5c:1639

I reinstalled the Atheros files.  And iwlwifi as well.  Still no luck..

Offline

#8 2020-05-17 17:40:35

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 654  
Website

Re: Trouble getting internet to work.

ve1drg wrote:
root@localhost:/etc/init.d# lspci -knn | grep -A3 Network
03:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Qualcomm Atheros Device [168c:003e] (rev 32)
        Subsystem: Bigfoot Networks, Inc. Device [1a56:1535]
04:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Qualcomm Atheros Device [1969:e0a1] (rev 10)
        Subsystem: Dell Device [1028:0859]
70:00.0 Non-Volatile memory controller [0108]: Device [1c5c:1639]

You have no driver (kernel module) for the device. Unfortunately there is no jessie-backports kernel image (AFAICT) so I think you're out of luck.


"Il semble que la perfection soit atteinte non quand il n'y a plus rien à ajouter, mais quand il n'y a plus rien à retrancher." — Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Offline

#9 2020-05-17 18:45:28

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 297  

Re: Trouble getting internet to work.

Try to install linux-image-4.9-amd64 4.9+80+deb9u10~deb8u1, this package is available in Jessie-Security.

It should pull the latest 4.9 kernel.

rolfie

Offline

#10 2020-05-17 20:19:42

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 654  
Website

Re: Trouble getting internet to work.

^ The OP should already have that version, it's pulled in by the linux-image-amd64 metapackage.


"Il semble que la perfection soit atteinte non quand il n'y a plus rien à ajouter, mais quand il n'y a plus rien à retrancher." — Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Offline

#11 2020-05-17 22:46:15

ve1drg
Member
Registered: 2020-04-29
Posts: 26  

Re: Trouble getting internet to work.

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
ve1drg wrote:
root@localhost:/etc/init.d# lspci -knn | grep -A3 Network
03:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Qualcomm Atheros Device [168c:003e] (rev 32)
        Subsystem: Bigfoot Networks, Inc. Device [1a56:1535]
04:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Qualcomm Atheros Device [1969:e0a1] (rev 10)
        Subsystem: Dell Device [1028:0859]
70:00.0 Non-Volatile memory controller [0108]: Device [1c5c:1639]

You have no driver (kernel module) for the device. Unfortunately there is no jessie-backports kernel image (AFAICT) so I think you're out of luck.


OK.  Well this is too bad.  There are no drivers or controllers as the text above reports.

So if I need to stay with this older kernel etc..  I am out of luck..

Thanks anyway guys.  Its good to have expert feedback that I get. ..sure helps when one finds themselves lost..

Well that's it.  I give up on Jessie.  And I am going to stay with Ascii.  This is a good one.

Offline

Board footer