The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-05-25 17:14:29

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 124  

How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

Hi,

During installation there was not an option to install system in Spanish. The system is in English now and i will like to change it into Spanish.

I tried to change configuration and generate locale but do not work.

Is it not possible?. Any idea?.

Thanks!

Last edited by keos (2018-05-26 16:42:24)


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#2 2018-05-25 17:22:40

siva
Member
Registered: 2018-01-25
Posts: 151  
Website

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

You may want to edit the locale.  If you hit TAB at the bootloader, the option locales=xx_XX.UTF-8 keyboard-layouts=xx should be edited for your locale and possibly keyboard layout.

Not sure how well these will translate, but...
https://wiki.debian.org/Locale
https://people.debian.org/~schultmc/locales.html

Offline

#3 2018-05-25 17:25:26

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,168  

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

Would probably be helpful to know which iso you used to install.

Offline

#4 2018-05-25 17:38:25

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 124  

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

No line with: locales=xx_XX.UTF-8 keyboard-layouts=xx or something similar with that information.

keos@kaos:~$ uname -a
Linux kaos 3.16.0-6-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.16.56-1+deb8u1 (2018-05-08) x86_64 GNU/Linux
keos@kaos:~$

I already changed configuration file /etc/locale.gen ... it is in spanish, MX

es_MX ISO-8859-1
es_MX.UTF-8 UTF-8

Last edited by keos (2018-05-25 17:45:05)


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#5 2018-05-25 17:43:30

siva
Member
Registered: 2018-01-25
Posts: 151  
Website

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

Did you try adding it?  After you hit tab you could type the locale command.  Maybe something like locales=es_ES.UTF-8 and see what happens.

Further reading:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Lo … a%C3%B1ol)
https://docs.moodle.org/dev/Table_of_locales

Last edited by siva (2018-05-25 17:43:57)

Offline

#6 2018-05-25 17:47:18

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,168  

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

Since we don't know what medium (s)he used to install, if (s)he has a DE or which DM (s)he's using (if any) it's impossible to troubleshoot.

Offline

#7 2018-05-25 17:47:22

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 124  

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

No, no tab in my keyboard, i did it with E Are you asking me to EDIT this new line: locales=es_ES.UTF-8 anywhere over there?

I'm not sure about the iso.

Last edited by keos (2018-05-25 17:49:38)


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#8 2018-05-25 17:57:27

siva
Member
Registered: 2018-01-25
Posts: 151  
Website

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

keos wrote:

i did it with E Are you asking me to EDIT this new line: locales=es_ES.UTF-8 anywhere over there?

Yes.  Edit the first line and append that command to the end.

Can you share the URL where you downloaded the devuan image, tell us which release you're using (jessie, ascii, or beowulf), and if you're using a desktop environment (example, xfce)?

Offline

#9 2018-05-25 18:13:32

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 124  

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

sourceforge site it was an iso of 64 bit and 1.3GB, Devuan jessie, xfce

I added the line locales=es_ES.UTF-8 and when restart there was not grub, black screen, i fixed it with partedmagic.

I forgot to said that at the beginning, after changed locales, ONLY the grub changed to spanish.


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#10 2018-05-25 18:26:41

siva
Member
Registered: 2018-01-25
Posts: 151  
Website

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

keos wrote:

sourceforge site it was an iso of 64 bit and 1.3GB

Can you post the url please.

I added the line locales=es_ES.UTF-8 and when restart there was not grub, black screen, i fixed it with partedmagic.

I forgot to said that at the beginning, after changed locales, ONLY the grub changed to spanish.

I probably should have asked if you're in a live environment.  In any case, rereading the last couple of links I sent should contain the answer.  I would particularly be interested in this section.

Offline

#11 2018-05-25 18:41:42

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 124  

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

I can't remember now exactly what iso ... and golinux is saying that without that information is not possible to help. And the whole thing is becoming to complicated tfor me ...
I think is better to download another iso and install this time in spanish. Which iso do you recommend me for spanish installation?

Any way thank you very much.

I found this at

https://files.devuan.org/devuan_jessie/installer-iso/

Last edited by keos (2018-05-25 18:47:04)


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#12 2018-05-25 18:46:59

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,168  

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

keos wrote:

I can't remember now exactly what iso ... and golinux is saying that without that information is not possible to help. And the whole thing is becoming to complicated for me ...
I think is better to download another iso and install this time in spanish. Which iso do you recommend me for spanish installation?

Any way thank you very much.

There are no official devuan images on sourceforge.  Please download one of the options from https://files.devuan.org/ or one of our mirrors at https://devuan.org/get-devuan.

Offline

#13 2018-05-25 18:49:17

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 124  

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

o'k but which one for spanish because the one i downloaded before was not able to give me any option for a spanish instalation


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#14 2018-05-25 18:57:46

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 124  

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#15 2018-05-25 19:10:08

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,168  

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

That's a fine choice.  Hope all goes well.

Offline

#16 2018-05-25 20:40:10

siva
Member
Registered: 2018-01-25
Posts: 151  
Website

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

keos wrote:

o'k but which one for spanish because the one i downloaded before was not able to give me any option for a spanish instalation

If your complaint is about the installer, then I can't do anything about it, but you might want to reach out to the developers. 

EDIT: I downloaded the amd64 iso from the link you provided and can confirm the behavior.  The second line of the boot menu, "Other languages," should solve your problem.  The default language is Italian, and you should see "locales=it_IT.UTF-8 layout=it".  Edit it: change it to "locales=es_ES.UTF-8 layout=es".  When I booted, however, it didn't change the language to Spanish.  Here's a screenshot for the devs because I have to leave: https://image.ibb.co/gF2GBT/Screenshot_ … _51_40.png

If something still goes wrong, and you're able to install the system, boot into it and then change the language settings.

Run the following commands as root (su or sudo)

export LANG=es_ES.UTF-8 && dpkg-reconfigure locales

When you get a list of languages, scroll down and find es.ES.UTF-8 UTF-8 or something similar.
Then, log-out and log back in (or reboot).  Things should adjust to Spanish.

These screenshots are from my custom spin, so it may look somewhat different on yours.  However, it is the commands that matter.

Last edited by siva (2018-05-25 21:29:13)

Offline

#17 2018-05-26 11:34:18

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 781  

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

siva wrote:

EDIT: I downloaded the amd64 iso from the link you provided and can confirm the behavior.  The second line of the boot menu, "Other languages," should solve your problem.  The default language is Italian, and you should see "locales=it_IT.UTF-8 layout=it".  Edit it: change it to "locales=es_ES.UTF-8 layout=es".  When I booted, however, it didn't change the language to Spanish.  Here's a screenshot for the devs because I have to leave: https://image.ibb.co/gF2GBT/Screenshot_ … _51_40.png

This works on my copy. Except layout=es should really be keyboard_layouts=es. Check the sha256sum of your copy of the file to make sure it was a good download.

If you boot into Spanish this way and run the installer, the installer will still be in English, but the live system and the installed system will be in Spanish.

Offline

#18 2018-05-26 16:09:39

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 124  

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

Well, what i see is "other language" (no s) and this other language is italian (i pressed f2 to display languages but nothing happened)  -- i followed the instructions of italian words (spanish is not to far from italian) but somewhere i did something wrong, the system is now installed but no Grub, i used partedmagic (grub doctor) to see if ... but it was not possible to ...

-- the problem is with the installer.

Last edited by keos (2018-05-26 16:11:55)


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#19 2018-05-26 16:39:48

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 124  

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

I went back again into the other devuan jessie and i changed a bit the configuration of grub 'to 15 seconds' and upgrade ...

-- the new system is now at the grub ... and 99% in spanish!!.

My italian was not to bad at all ...

Developers should do something with the installer.

Thank you very much

Last edited by keos (2018-05-26 16:40:14)


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#20 2018-05-27 01:10:30

siva
Member
Registered: 2018-01-25
Posts: 151  
Website

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

@fsmithred: alright, I used a copy from another mirror and it worked fine.

If you boot into Spanish this way and run the installer, the installer will still be in English, but the live system and the installed system will be in Spanish.

The user said that he/she was able to run the installer in Italian.  Based on this comment, shouldn't that not be possible?

@keos: Can you document the steps you took to fix the issue?

Last edited by siva (2018-05-27 01:10:41)

Offline

#21 2018-05-27 03:12:21

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 781  

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

I'm certain that there are no working translations for the installer. There is a German translation, but the way the script is written causes some problems. It's on my todo list.

keos wrote:

i pressed f2 to display languages but nothing happened

To change the language, use backspace to erase and then type what you want. Try to ignore the repeating lines.

Offline

#22 2018-05-27 14:04:17

siva
Member
Registered: 2018-01-25
Posts: 151  
Website

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

I believe you.  I'm just trying to figure out how this user pulled that off -- especially since he/she has yet to reply.

Offline

#23 2018-05-27 16:05:16

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 781  

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

I think just the system was in Italian. "everything" meaning desktop, menus, apps, and console/terminal.

What I don't understand is why the dialogues for locale, tzdata and keyboard didn't come up at the beginning of the install. Those are in the pre-install script and can be turned off in the config file for the cli script and in the options menu for the graphical installer. (maybe he un-checked that box.)

Offline

#24 2018-05-28 14:16:00

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 124  

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

As you said the user, HE, was able to run the installer in Italian ... !!

-- there is a problem with the installer.

Thanks!!


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#25 2018-05-28 15:27:44

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 781  

Re: How to install Devuan system/language into spanish? [solved]

keos wrote:

As you said the user, HE, was able to run the installer in Italian ... !!

-- there is a problem with the installer.

Thanks!!

I'm still trying to figure out what installer you used. The one I wrote and maintained does not have any translation files. That's the only installer on the desktop-live iso. There are two versions of it: refractainstaller-yad, which starts from the desktop icon or menu and has a graphical interface, and refractainstaller, which runs in a root terminal or console.

If the installer gave you instructions in Italian, you must have been running the regular debian(devuan)-installer, which can only be started from the boot menu of the installer isos. (not the live isos).

Regardless of which installer you used, the dialogues for locale, timezone and keyboard should have come up at the beginning of the installation. If that did not happen, then yes, there is a problem, but you're the only one who has encountered it. More information would be needed to figure out why that happened.

Offline

Board footer