The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2024-03-22 11:24:44

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,477  

[SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

Hello:

Seeing how much my (soon to be installed?) fibre connection will eventually cost me, I will be in need to keep tabs on what I will be getting for my retirement moneys.

While I do not expect that complaining to the telco will get me too far, I will need to be able to supply reasonable proof of what is going on should things not go as planned/promised.

To that purpose, I am looking for a way to reliably/consistently measure throughput to compare to what the 'box' says it 'contains'.

While looking around, I have come across this:

https://www.speedtest.net/apps/cli

Anyone used something similar or home brewed?

Thanks in advance.

Best,

A.

Offline

#2 2024-03-22 11:53:01

Andre4freedom
Member
Registered: 2017-11-15
Posts: 148  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

Hello,
I used it in the past, and it was quite reliable.
I was happy to use just the WEB-application using my browser (Linux).

https://www.speedtest.net/

But of course, the CLI version would be the thing to use if no WEB browser was available.
Have fun, and good luck!
Andre4freedom

Offline

#3 2024-03-22 12:06:52

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,477  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

Hello:

A4F wrote:

... used it in the past ...
... quite reliable.

Yes, I many times use the web page version.
Seems to work reliably.

But I would want to avoid using a browser, it would be one thing less to take into account.
To be able to view and save all test results via CSV is a plus. (ie: with date/time/server IPs)

Thanks for your input.

Best,

A.

Offline

#4 2024-03-22 13:02:00

ralph.ronnquist
Administrator
From: Battery Point, Tasmania, AUS
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 1,174  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

With ssh access to remote servers you can obtain time statistics quite easily. E.g.

Download timing:

ssh $remote dd if=/dev/urandom bs=100M count=2 | time cat > /dev/null 

Upload timing:

dd if=/dev/urandom bs=100M count=2 | ssh $remote "time cat > /dev/null" 

That results in time measures for 200 Mib (aka megabytes) plain bulk data transfers.

Online

#5 2024-03-22 14:06:37

Andre4freedom
Member
Registered: 2017-11-15
Posts: 148  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

This is all very well and right, but--- there is a caveat:
I did intense bandwidth-testing in a InfiniBand environment for HPC:
We did the testing with ssh/scp and the like and were surprised be the "bad" results. We then realized that the encryption/decryption took too much processing power from the CPUs slowing down the transmission rate. Repeating the tests with rcp (old Unix r-tools) showed correct results.
But InfiniBand speeds cannot be compared to normal Internet transmission rates, so the encryption/decryption process might not influence your results much.
Tests were done in 2009-2010 in a supercomputing lab using CentOS and InfiniBand 4Gbps and 10Gbps networks.
Just my 2 cents to it....

Offline

#6 2024-03-22 15:11:09

aluma
Member
Registered: 2022-10-26
Posts: 585  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

Uncle Altoid,  you are not joking? smile
You have a 4-core processor, why do you need a cli?
Are you going to continuously control the speed?
I understand, you need to check when they connect, well, sometimes just for fun.
And the specific speed of working on the Internet with specific sites is more limited by other reasons.

Offline

#7 2024-03-22 17:31:59

chris2be8
Member
Registered: 2018-08-11
Posts: 273  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

Your telco may well have an equivalent on their website. Which they might be more willing to believe since it *should* only be going through their hardware to get to it. So they can't blame congestion on the internet between their kit and the site in question.

I had a period when I was getting bad performance from my connection. It showed up as ping'ing sites on the internet got lost and duplicate packets. I used traceroute to my telco's website, then pinged each hop to find out where the fault seemed to be (in my case the first hop past my router). But I hope you don't need to do that.

Offline

#8 2024-03-22 18:41:48

aluma
Member
Registered: 2022-10-26
Posts: 585  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

In any case, the provider will request a trace when you contact it with problems.
Therefore, the mtr program must be installed.

In my fiber optic network, the provider has 5 nodes before accessing the global network. He can control them, the rest, which will be present in the speedtest test, are beyond his competence.

Last edited by aluma (2024-03-22 18:42:16)

Offline

#9 2024-03-22 19:08:05

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,477  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

Hello:

ralph.ronnquist wrote:

... ssh access to remote servers you can obtain time statistics quite easily.

Thanks for the info.

I'll give it a try when I get the fibre.

Best,

A.

Offline

#10 2024-03-22 19:19:54

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,477  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

Hello:

aluma wrote:

Uncle ...

8^D !!!

aluma wrote:

... 4-core processor, why do you need a cli?

Because cli is what I should have been proficient at by the time I turned 21, but it was not to be.
Work by day and architecture school by night + lack of funds for anythin IT related did that. 

And having a 4-core processor is no excuse for bloated software and who knows what else inside a browser.

aluma wrote:

... continuously control the speed?

No, not at all.
But I want to know if I am getting what I will be paying (through the nose) for.
And be able to report what is going on.

Multi-national telco corporations are nothing but pirates/thieves.
They will screw you over at every turn/any time they see the posibility of doing so.

aluma wrote:

... specific speed of working on the Internet with specific sites is more limited by other reasons.

Yes, I am aware of that.

Thanks for your input, nephew.  8̣^)

Best,

A.

Offline

#11 2024-03-22 19:41:31

aluma
Member
Registered: 2022-10-26
Posts: 585  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

@Altoid
Of course you need to check the speed.
But, I repeat, the speed test includes nodes not controlled by the provider. The latter can with great success be presented with an mtr report with the percentage of lost packets in its node.

But everyone’s conditions are different, my provider’s service is at a very high level, partly due to competition.
And my speed itself has remained unchanged for more than 10 years, about 100 Mbit/sec.

Regards.

Offline

#12 2024-03-22 21:07:32

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,477  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

Hello:

aluma wrote:

... need to check the speed.

Indeed ...
I'll probably get screwed anyway.
That's what an unchecked monopoly/consortium/cartel of 'independent' telcos will get you.

aluma wrote:

... speed test includes nodes not controlled by the provider.

Yes, I get the gist of it.

aluma wrote:

... can with great success be presented with an mtr report with the percentage of lost packets in its node.

I already have traceroute installed, I will have to see about installing mtr, learn to use it and write up a script to run in a jiffy if needed.

aluma wrote:

... provider’s service is at a very high level, partly due to competition.

Competition? 8^D !!!

Sure, it's been heard of by the public and and talked about quite a bit by all the neo-con DHs/AHs that abound around here.
But has anyone actually seen it at work and observed positive results?  8^¡

aluma wrote:

... speed itself has remained unchanged for more than 10 years, about 100 Mbit/sec.

Interesting, congratulations for that.

Hoping not to be considered indiscrete, a question if I may: how much does that service cost you?

Let's see what the tests say once it has been installed, maybe by mid April.
It is advertised as a 300Mib synchronous all-fibre link direct from whatever is in the area to my apartment, but I have my doubts.

We'll see what happens when it is in place and working.

Thanks for your input.

Best,

A.

Offline

#13 2024-03-23 06:22:29

aluma
Member
Registered: 2022-10-26
Posts: 585  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

Hoping not to be considered indiscrete, a question if I may: how much does that service cost you?

Approximately 6.4 $/month

Using mtr is simple, in the root terminal

mtr  dev1galaxy.org

31.jpg
The provider asked me to submit a Winmtr report when the entire Internet was working except for access to Google. Linux mtr suited them.

Regards.

Last edited by aluma (2024-03-23 07:08:09)

Offline

#14 2024-03-23 10:48:10

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,477  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

Hello:

aluma wrote:

... 6.4 $/month

I see ...
Is that € or US$?

If US$, when I get my fibre link installed, I will be paying ~ 1.8x that amount.
Now that's competition. 8^¡

aluma wrote:

... mtr is simple ...

Thanks for the image.

With my loaned wifi connection, I have these hostnames:.

192.168.0.1 with 0.0% loss (makes sense)
??? with 100% loss
??? with 100% loss
??? with 100% loss
??? with 100% loss
host39.181-89-51.telecom.net.ar with an upwards variating 91.5% loss, probably because it is wifi.

Every other hop (seven in all) has 0% loss, all the way to dev1galaxy.org.

Thanks for your input.

Best,

A.

Last edited by Altoid (2024-03-23 10:50:20)

Offline

#15 2024-03-23 13:09:40

aluma
Member
Registered: 2022-10-26
Posts: 585  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

@Altoid
These are US dollars.
My mtr picture is also WiFi, home.
The top line is the router, the next 5 are the provider nodes.

Regards.

Offline

#16 2024-03-23 14:25:28

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,477  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

Hello:

aluma wrote:

... top line is the router ...
... next 5 are the provider nodes.

For completeness' sake:
mtr-altoid.png

As you can see (for whatever reason) the provider for my loaned wifi link does not list the node IPs.
No matter, it is a broadband CATV to modem + internet service and I do not ever watch television.

Not the one I will be dealing with.

Thanks a lot for your input.

Best,

A.

Offline

#17 2024-03-23 17:06:58

chris2be8
Member
Registered: 2018-08-11
Posts: 273  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

The nodes with ??? for their IP address will have been configured to not send ICMP responses when a packet reached its max hops. So mtr can't tell what their IP address is. But the link looks OK because the later stages are responding OK.

Offline

#18 2024-03-23 17:32:23

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,477  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

Hello:

chris2be8 wrote:

... have been configured to not send ICMP responses ...

I see.

Thanks for the heads up.  8^)
Much obliged.

Best,

A.

Offline

#19 2024-03-23 19:39:15

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,477  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

Hello:

chris2be8 wrote:

... have been configured to not send ICMP responses ...

I just noticed something.

Just out of curiosity ...
What about the node that does not have have ??? for its IP address?
ie:

Hostname                                   Loss  
host39.181-89-51.telecom.net.ar            97.6%

Isn't a 97.6% loss rather high?
Is it possible to improve that metric?

I take it that it is between the wireless router and host39.181-89-51.telecom.net.ar, right?
My DIY tin-can waveguide antenna affords me (given the distance/walls to the router) a nice strong ~80% signal most of the time.

Thanks in advance.

Best,

A.

Offline

#20 2024-03-24 00:53:15

ralph.ronnquist
Administrator
From: Battery Point, Tasmania, AUS
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 1,174  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

Apparently your ping channel to Argentina is lossy

Online

#21 2024-03-24 17:30:19

chris2be8
Member
Registered: 2018-08-11
Posts: 273  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

That's past my knowledge of networking. It seems to have only replied to 2 of the 61 test packets sent to it. But passed on all the packets sent to later links.

If you are really interested you could ping it and see how often it replies. But it's probably won't get you anywhere unless you ask the telco that owns it, who probably won't be interested because it's passing packets on OK.

host host39.181-89-51.telecom.net.ar should tell you it's IP address. But again that isn't likely to tell you anything useful.

Offline

#22 2024-03-25 00:54:42

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,477  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

Hello:

chris2be8 wrote:

... seems to have only replied to 2 of the 61 test packets ...

Yes, that is what it does, always with a 90% to 100% packet loss. 

chris2be8 wrote:

... ping it and see how often it replies.

I tried that but it needs the IP.

chris2be8 wrote:

host host39.181-89-51.telecom.net.ar should tell you it's IP...

Unfortunately not.

~$ host host39.181-89-51.telecom.net.ar
Host host39.181-89-51.telecom.net.ar not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
~$

It was just curiosity.  8^°

Thank you very much for your input.

Best,

A.

Offline

#23 2024-03-25 17:21:28

chris2be8
Member
Registered: 2018-08-11
Posts: 273  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

traceroute dev1galaxy.org should show you the IP address as well as the name a reverse DNS lookup of the IP gets. Or traceroute -n ... to get just the IP addresses.

And mtr might have an option to show the IP addresses (try hovering over the name or clicking on it).

Offline

#24 2024-03-25 19:07:03

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,477  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

Hello:

chris2be8 wrote:

traceroute dev1galaxy.org should ...

In this case it does not.
Obscured puposely or crap infrastructure?

~$ traceroute dev1galaxy.org
traceroute to dev1galaxy.org (136.243.229.210), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
 1  192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1)  37.305 ms  37.240 ms  37.220 ms
 2  * * *
 3  * * *
 4  * * *
 5  * * *
 6  * * *
 7  ae25.baires1.bai.seabone.net (195.22.220.56)  23.835 ms  26.231 ms  19.157 ms
--- snip ---
chris2be8 wrote:

... traceroute -n ... to get just the IP ...

That did it.
But it does not get done consistently, if repeat the command you get * * *.

~$ traceroute -n dev1galaxy.org
traceroute to dev1galaxy.org (136.243.229.210), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
 1  192.168.0.1  10.734 ms  10.703 ms  10.675 ms
 2  * * *
 3  * * *
 4  * * *
 5  * * *
 6  181.89.51.39  120.594 ms * *                            # this should be host39.181-89-51.telecom.net.ar    
 7  195.22.220.56  110.130 ms  31.578 ms  31.562 ms
 8  * * 195.22.211.209  261.653 ms
 9  213.144.184.91  261.631 ms * *
10  213.239.224.109  276.959 ms 213.239.224.181  312.183 ms 213.239.224.77  312.162 ms
11  213.239.245.110  312.146 ms 213.239.245.150  324.733 ms  324.724 ms
12  5.9.97.46  324.693 ms  324.649 ms  324.623 ms
13  136.243.229.210  324.607 ms  238.097 ms  279.641 ms
chris2be8 wrote:

... mtr might have an option ...

No, it does not have that feature.

No matter.
We beat the system and found the IP.  8^D

~$ ping 181.89.51.39
PING 181.89.51.39 (181.89.51.39) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 181.89.51.39: icmp_seq=1 ttl=250 time=30.6 ms
64 bytes from 181.89.51.39: icmp_seq=2 ttl=250 time=100 ms
64 bytes from 181.89.51.39: icmp_seq=3 ttl=250 time=43.3 ms
64 bytes from 181.89.51.39: icmp_seq=4 ttl=250 time=36.4 ms
^C
--- 181.89.51.39 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 7ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 30.553/52.647/100.380/27.925 ms
~$ 
~$ nslookup 181.89.51.39
39.51.89.181.in-addr.arpa	name = host39.181-89-51.telecom.net.ar.

Authoritative answers can be found from:
~$ 

Nice to learn something new every so often.

Thanks for your input.

Best,

A.

Offline

#25 2024-03-26 07:04:15

aluma
Member
Registered: 2022-10-26
Posts: 585  

Re: [SOLVED] CLI throughput test for Linux

@Altoid
And if you set the local site (*.ar) in mtr, are the packets also lost?

Regards.

Offline

Board footer