The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2023-08-20 09:43:25

Roberto
Member
Registered: 2023-08-20
Posts: 5  

KDE Desktop - Discover says I'm offline

Hello everyone,

Yesterday I installed Devuan for the first time. I chose Daedalus 5.0 with KDE Plasma 5 as desktop.
The installation went smoothly so far and the system is running stable and without problems.

However, I have the problem that Discover claims that I do not have an internet connection. This is not true, I have a perfect internet connection with NetworkManager.

Does anyone have any ideas or tips on how to tell Discover that I am not offline?

Thanks in advance.

Best regards
Roberto

Offline

#2 2023-08-27 11:48:09

Duke Nukem
Member
Registered: 2018-11-07
Posts: 26  

Re: KDE Desktop - Discover says I'm offline

I can't help you, but I'm posting to confirm I found exactly the same. Not only does it claim I have no internet connection, but it reckons I have nothing installed either - crazy.

I don't even know what Discover is, partly because its developers must have thought it was cool not to enable (at least by default) a menu bar, so I cannot do a Help/About, and I can't be bothered to dig deeper.  I'm guessing it is yet another front end for apt, but aptitude works fine for me.  On the same subject I notice that Synaptic is not installed by default.

Last edited by Duke Nukem (2023-08-27 11:51:35)

Offline

#3 2023-08-27 17:53:26

Roberto
Member
Registered: 2023-08-20
Posts: 5  

Re: KDE Desktop - Discover says I'm offline

What I can say is that Discover is part of the KDE Plasma Desktop.

Here's what the KDE website says:

"Discover helps you find and install applications, games, and tools. You can search or browse through categories as well as view screenshots and read reviews to find the best application for you.
Discover lets you manage software from multiple sources, including that of your operating system, Flatpak sources, the Snap store, and even AppImages from store.kde.org.
You can also use Discover to find, install, and manage extensions for Plasma and your favorite KDE applications."

Synaptic, on the other hand, is the package manager for apt.

I will try to uninstall Discover and then reinstall it again. Maybe then the program will understand what it is supposed to do.

Last edited by Roberto (2023-08-27 17:54:52)

Offline

#4 2023-08-27 20:48:11

GlennW
Member
From: Brisbane, Australia
Registered: 2019-07-18
Posts: 595  

Re: KDE Desktop - Discover says I'm offline

Too many errors since I was introduced to Discover. I usually remove it as soon as it starts making noise.

ymmv.


pic from 1993, new guitar day.

Online

#5 2023-09-17 10:10:15

czeekaj
Member
Registered: 2019-06-12
Posts: 154  

Re: KDE Desktop - Discover says I'm offline

Apt is default package manager in devuan.

Offline

#6 2024-02-15 19:39:00

cep-stafe-arg
Member
Registered: 2023-12-30
Posts: 5  

Re: KDE Desktop - Discover says I'm offline

Hello, I made a post, since I couldn't find this one, but now I'm going to delete my post and publish here, discover has done it again:

Greetings, could you tell what is happening with Discover (application explorer, kde) in Daedalus, having internet, verified repositories that work well with synaptic, it even indicates available updates. But it does not show all the content of the applications... as the following image shows:

QAZoM4I.png

Offline

#7 2024-02-16 12:08:09

stopAI
Member
Registered: 2023-04-04
Posts: 133  

Re: KDE Desktop - Discover says I'm offline

I think kde discover missing one pkg it's not porting from debian

Offline

#8 2024-02-19 16:56:33

hunter0one
Member
Registered: 2021-12-31
Posts: 68  

Re: KDE Desktop - Discover says I'm offline

It's the same issue we had here. https://dev1galaxy.org/viewtopic.php?id=4726

Long story short, Devuan doesn't have an appstream database like Debian does to get package information in Discover or GNOME software.

Last edited by hunter0one (2024-02-19 16:57:35)

Offline

#9 2024-02-25 05:35:52

cep-stafe-arg
Member
Registered: 2023-12-30
Posts: 5  

Re: KDE Desktop - Discover says I'm offline

It's the same issue we had here. https://dev1galaxy.org/viewtopic.php?id=4726

Long story short, Devuan doesn't have an appstream database like Debian does to get package information in Discover or GNOME software.

Hello, greetings, it does not work, in daedalus

Offline

#10 2024-05-03 18:20:14

cep-stafe-arg
Member
Registered: 2023-12-30
Posts: 5  

Re: KDE Desktop - Discover says I'm offline

https://dev1galaxy.org/viewtopic.php?id=4726

                                 Sorry, now I did it to the letter and it works!!!

Offline

Board footer