The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2023-04-03 01:07:40

Ron
Member
Registered: 2018-04-22
Posts: 482  

Error in VirtualBox, hoping for help

I just installed VirtualBox. I never used it before (and don't really know what I'm doing) and I'm getting an error. The error is:

VT-x is disabled in the BIOS for all CPU modes (VERR_VMX_MSR_ALL_VMX_DISABLED).
Result Code: NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0X80004005)
Component: ConsoleWrap
Interface: IConsole {6ac83d89-6ee7-4e33-8ae6-b257b2e81be8}

Can anybody tell me what this means in layman's English, and does anybody know what I need to do to fix this? If it matters, I'm trying to run Windows 7 as the guest.

Thanks.

Offline

#2 2023-04-03 01:50:27

Ron
Member
Registered: 2018-04-22
Posts: 482  

Re: Error in VirtualBox, hoping for help

Well, I got it working, had to enable Vt in the bios. But it looks like crap. I don't know if it's because my machine is old (I think it's over 10 years old) or what.

Offline

#3 2023-04-03 01:59:12

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,477  

Re: Error in VirtualBox, hoping for help

Hello:

Ron wrote:

... installed VirtualBox.

... error is:

VT-x is disabled in the BIOS ...
--- snip ---
Ron wrote:

... what this means in layman's English ...

It does not get any more "layman's" than that ...
ie: VT-x --> disabled --> in BIOS

You first have to check your motherboard's BIOS settings and enable VT-x (hardware virtualization), it is usually disabled by default.

1. Reboot your Computer and Press the BIOS Key. ... (key/s used depend on the mobo brand, BIOS brand, etc.)
2. Locate the section for CPU configuration. ...
3. Find the Settings for Virtualization. ...
4. Select the Option for Enabling Virtualization. ...
5. Save the Changes You Have Made. ...
6. Exit Your BIOS and Reboot Your Computer.

If you don't know how to access the BIOS and/or navigate the respective options, first check the mobo's manual.

Best,

A.

Offline

#4 2023-04-03 02:23:13

Ron
Member
Registered: 2018-04-22
Posts: 482  

Re: Error in VirtualBox, hoping for help

Altoid wrote:

It does not get any more "layman's" than that ...
A.

Look above your post, I got it working. smile

But it looks like crap.

Offline

#5 2023-04-03 02:24:29

ralph.ronnquist
Administrator
From: Battery Point, Tasmania, AUS
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 1,173  

Re: Error in VirtualBox, hoping for help

I'm not sure when that trend started, and perhaps I'm really alone at getting "disturbed" by it, but I really can't understand what it is with this stupid quoting of prior posts rather than just making a follow-on post with a comment or answer.

Offline

#6 2023-04-03 02:52:41

zapper
Member
Registered: 2017-05-29
Posts: 874  

Re: Error in VirtualBox, hoping for help

@ralph.ronnquist

I don't understand why you are so disturbed by it.

Then again, I don't understand why @Ron

Or really anyone still uses virtualbox when virt-manager and qemu are both options.

Even virt-manager is better than virtualbox though and bare in mind, I am aware it relies on qemu but is also more or less developed by redhat. At least that is what I recall anyways...

That being said, Virtualbox is horribly insecure...


Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. Feelings are not facts
If you wish to be humbled, try to exalt yourself long term  If you wish to be exalted, try to humble yourself long term
Favourite operating systems: Hyperbola Devuan OpenBSD
Peace Be With us All!

Offline

#7 2023-04-03 18:53:41

delgado
Member
Registered: 2022-07-14
Posts: 176  

Re: Error in VirtualBox, hoping for help

Did you use the appropriate "virtualbox-guest-additions-iso"?
It contains some graphic drivers for the guest-OS (and other stuff). Not sure whether this will cure "crappy graphics".

Offline

#8 2023-04-03 20:50:24

Ron
Member
Registered: 2018-04-22
Posts: 482  

Re: Error in VirtualBox, hoping for help

First let me say "thanks" to those who offered advice and solutions. With that said, I really should have held off a while before making this post. I decided, instead of dealing with this issue, to just simply buy a cheap refurbished second computer from Amazon so I can use that "other" OS for the two apps that for me have no equivalent in Linux.

Offline

#9 2023-04-04 06:13:14

zapper
Member
Registered: 2017-05-29
Posts: 874  

Re: Error in VirtualBox, hoping for help

@ron that sounds like a good decision.

I don't know if devuan supports virtualbox anyhow.

The official images require systemd last I checked anyhow.


Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. Feelings are not facts
If you wish to be humbled, try to exalt yourself long term  If you wish to be exalted, try to humble yourself long term
Favourite operating systems: Hyperbola Devuan OpenBSD
Peace Be With us All!

Offline

#10 2023-04-04 10:40:40

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,477  

Re: Error in VirtualBox, hoping for help

Hello:

zapper wrote:

... don't know if devuan supports virtualbox ...

Yes, it does.

zapper wrote:

... official images require systemd ...

I run Virtualxox-6.1 from the official source in my Devuan Beowulf with a backported kernel:

~$ uname -a
Linux devuan 5.10.0-0.deb10.16-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 5.10.127-2~bpo10+1 (2022-07-28) x86_64 GNU/Linux
~$ 
~$ cat /etc/apt/sources.list
--- snip ---
# virtual box repository x installation
deb https://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/debian/ buster contrib non-free 
--- snip ---
~$ 
~$ apt list | grep virtualbox | grep installed
--- snip ---
virtualbox-6.1/unknown,now 6.1.42-155177~Debian~buster amd64 [installed]
~$ 

On boot I start a headless Chimaera VM to run PiHole+Unbound.
And every once in a long while, boot an XPSP3 VM to run some odd MS application or test a Linux image.

Have had no issues.

Best,

A.

Last edited by Altoid (2023-04-04 10:41:45)

Offline

#11 2023-04-05 10:56:08

Altoid
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,477  

Re: Error in VirtualBox, hoping for help

Hello:

Altoid wrote:

Hello:
... run Virtualxox-6.1 from the official source in my Devuan Beowulf with a backported kernel:

After posting I realised that support for v6.1 ends December 2023.

Upgraded to 7.0.6:

~$ apt list | grep virtualbox | grep installed
--- snip ---
virtualbox-7.0/unknown,now 7.0.6-155176~Debian~buster amd64 [installed]
~$ 

If needed, the corresponding VBoxGuestAdditions and Extension Pack must also be installed for everything to work properly.

As before, no issues.

Best,

A.

Offline

#12 2023-04-07 04:15:57

zapper
Member
Registered: 2017-05-29
Posts: 874  

Re: Error in VirtualBox, hoping for help

@Ron

Thanks for that info, food for thought if qemu isn't enough to get the job done.

wink

Still, virt-manager works pretty well too last I checked for Devuan.

It actually worked for 0.3 Hyperbola pretty well, so it mostly DEFINITELY should work well for devuan also, even now.


Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. Feelings are not facts
If you wish to be humbled, try to exalt yourself long term  If you wish to be exalted, try to humble yourself long term
Favourite operating systems: Hyperbola Devuan OpenBSD
Peace Be With us All!

Offline

#13 2023-04-07 11:26:05

stopAI
Member
Registered: 2023-04-04
Posts: 138  

Re: Error in VirtualBox, hoping for help

Instead of Virtualbox, I suggest you use kvm. The Kernel Virtual Machine, or KVM, is a full virtualization solution for Linux on x86 (64-bit included) and ARM hardware containing virtualization extensions (Intel VT or AMD-V). It consists of a loadable kernel module, kvm.ko, which provides the core virtualization infrastructure and a processor specific module, kvm-intel.ko or kvm-amd.ko.

If you are interested and want to try it, you will need the following packages:

sudo apt update

sudo apt install qemu-kvm libvirt-clients libvirt-daemon libvirt-daemon-system bridge-utils virtinst virt-manager

In order to manage virtual machines as a regular user, that user needs to be added to the libvirt group:

#adduser youruserrname libvirt
#adduser youruserrname libvirt-qemu

After installing and setting everything up, reboot your computer.

Last edited by stopAI (2023-04-07 11:26:38)

Offline

#14 2023-05-11 00:04:30

zapper
Member
Registered: 2017-05-29
Posts: 874  

Re: Error in VirtualBox, hoping for help

@stopAI qemu has kvm inside of it already, last I checked.

Or at least, that's my experience. Though it could be different on debian based distros.


Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. Feelings are not facts
If you wish to be humbled, try to exalt yourself long term  If you wish to be exalted, try to humble yourself long term
Favourite operating systems: Hyperbola Devuan OpenBSD
Peace Be With us All!

Offline

Board footer