The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2022-06-07 14:01:38

SpongeBOB
Member
From: Brussels
Registered: 2022-02-07
Posts: 85  

Can we run .Appimage out of the box ?

Hi everyone,

Just be curiosity (because I'm not sure that I will ever use Appimage on the long run, see -> https://dev1galaxy.org/viewtopic.php?pid=36176#p36176)

Can we launch an x.Appimage out of the box with Devuan ? because I just dw https://apprepo.de/appimage/atom

Placed it to /home/me/Desktop/ tried to run it but nothing happen (it has has 0777 )

Any ideas ?

Thanks


Linux noob, plz be kind big_smile

Offline

#2 2022-06-07 15:46:11

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 2,132  

Re: Can we run .Appimage out of the box ?

Yes, appimages should work in devuan. I just tested the musescore I downloaded in 2017 for jessie, and it still runs on beowulf. I did not have to install anything special.

0755 should be sufficient for the permissions.

Try running it from a terminal to see if you get any useful messages. That might be helpful for the developer of this alpha software.

Offline

#3 2022-06-08 06:20:42

SpongeBOB
Member
From: Brussels
Registered: 2022-02-07
Posts: 85  

Re: Can we run .Appimage out of the box ?

Thank you @fsmithred,

here what I got from the terminal ( ~/Desktop )

. Atom.AppImage
bash: .: Atom.AppImage: cannot execute binary file

I'm Running Duvean Chimaera 4.0

--

Does someone have the link of a working .Appimage to se if it run on my system and therefore see if it's was Atom.Appimage that was buggy or my system

Thanks

Last edited by SpongeBOB (2022-06-08 06:48:24)


Linux noob, plz be kind big_smile

Offline

#4 2022-06-08 10:48:00

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 2,132  

Re: Can we run .Appimage out of the box ?

If you're in the same directory as the appimage, the correct command to start it would be

./Atom.AppImage

. Atom.AppImage is the same as source Atom.AppImage which won't work on binary files.

See 'help source' in a bash terminal for more info.

Offline

#5 2022-06-08 11:01:42

sgage
Member
Registered: 2016-12-01
Posts: 300  

Re: Can we run .Appimage out of the box ?

SpongeBOB wrote:

Thank you @fsmithred,

here what I got from the terminal ( ~/Desktop )

. Atom.AppImage
bash: .: Atom.AppImage: cannot execute binary file

I'm Running Duvean Chimaera 4.0

--

Does someone have the link of a working .Appimage to se if it run on my system and therefore see if it's was Atom.Appimage that was buggy or my system

Thanks

I occasionally run the balenaEtcher appimage without issue (it is a USB writer). There's a download button on their home page:

https://www.balena.io/etcher/

It downloads a zip file containing the appimage.

Last edited by sgage (2022-06-08 11:02:15)

Offline

#6 2022-06-08 12:32:20

Ogis1975
Member
Registered: 2017-04-21
Posts: 277  
Website

Re: Can we run .Appimage out of the box ?

I have already downloaded android-file-transfer, music player Museeks, picture viewer Nomacs and file manager DoubleCMD.  These programs work great.

2022-06-08-15-26.png

2022-06-08-15-27.png

2022-06-08-15-30.png


What economists call over-production is but a production that is above the purchasing power of the worker, who is reduced to poverty by capital and state.
            ----+- Peter Kropotkin -+----

Offline

#7 2022-06-12 04:38:13

charliebrownau
Member
Registered: 2022-04-14
Posts: 51  

Re: Can we run .Appimage out of the box ?

Gday
99% of appimages work with Dev1 from my experience

SMplayer appimage does NOT work thou


Appimages that do work
- LibreWolf - browser
- Delta chat - messager
- leafpad - text editor
- Libre office - Office Suite
- Ungoogled chromium - browser
- Shortcut - video editor

Offline

Board footer