The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2021-03-27 12:42:04

berni51
Member
From: Middle of Germany
Registered: 2018-12-20
Posts: 56  
Website

[SOLVED] Changing a parameter in /sys/module

Hi folks,
I have installed a Chimaera snapshot with kernel 5.10.24-1  onto my old (but very nice) Lenovo T500. Everything went fine and the system runs quite good.
But (there must be a but): During startup the machine hangs for about 2 minutes with message Firmware: failed to load iwl-debug-yoyo.bin.
However the wifi runs perfect.
I found a hint in the net from a Debian developer that the parameter in /sys/module/iwlwifi/parameters/enable_ini should be changed from Y to N. Ok, I changed the parameter, but after a reboot there is the former value again.
Is there a way to change the parameter permanently?

Regards
Berni


The good ol' days will not return, and the rocks might smelt and the sea may burn.

Offline

#2 2021-03-27 12:50:24

ralph.ronnquist
Administrator
From: Clifton Hill, Victoria, AUS
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 572  

Re: [SOLVED] Changing a parameter in /sys/module

Create a file named /etc/modprobe.d/iwlwifi.conf with content

options enable_ini=N

See man modprobe.d for details.
(That man page belongs to the kmod package, which may and might not be installed)

Online

#3 2021-03-27 13:45:19

berni51
Member
From: Middle of Germany
Registered: 2018-12-20
Posts: 56  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Changing a parameter in /sys/module

Thanks Ralph. I created the file and indeed the value now stays at N. However the developers hint was not helpfull and I only get the 2 minutes pause one step later with: cfg80211 failed to load regulatory.db.


The good ol' days will not return, and the rocks might smelt and the sea may burn.

Offline

#4 2021-03-27 14:12:52

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,890  

Re: [SOLVED] Changing a parameter in /sys/module

On my T420 running chimaera, I get the same message about iwl-debug-yoyo.bin, but there's no boot delay. I don't have any error messages about regulatory.db. That loads ok.

I don't know where to go with this. Just thought I'd add some data points.

Offline

#5 2021-03-27 15:21:16

berni51
Member
From: Middle of Germany
Registered: 2018-12-20
Posts: 56  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Changing a parameter in /sys/module

Probably I'm on the wrong trip!
At first I got the boot delay with the message  failed to load iwl-debug-yoyo.bin. I could fix this with the hint from @ralph.ronnquist.
Netx the boot delay appeared at the message cfg80211 failed to load regulatory.db. I fixed this by installaing the crda packages and setting  COUNTRY to DE.
And now I have the boot delay at Waiting for /dev to become fully populated.

What will come next?


The good ol' days will not return, and the rocks might smelt and the sea may burn.

Offline

#6 2021-03-27 16:10:02

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 512  

Re: [SOLVED] Changing a parameter in /sys/module

There is always a slight delay during "Waiting for /dev to become fully populated", that normally takes a few seconds.

rolfie

Offline

#7 2021-03-27 16:28:48

berni51
Member
From: Middle of Germany
Registered: 2018-12-20
Posts: 56  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Changing a parameter in /sys/module

Yepp, I know, but I have 150 sec.!! That's not slightly.


The good ol' days will not return, and the rocks might smelt and the sea may burn.

Offline

#8 2021-03-27 17:59:40

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 1,654  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Changing a parameter in /sys/module

Does the haveged package help? The kernel did suffer with an entropy problem a while back, perhaps it has recurred.


antifa ftw!

Offline

#9 2021-03-27 18:35:54

berni51
Member
From: Middle of Germany
Registered: 2018-12-20
Posts: 56  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Changing a parameter in /sys/module

Haveged is running, but how can it help?


The good ol' days will not return, and the rocks might smelt and the sea may burn.

Offline

#10 2021-03-27 18:52:04

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 1,654  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Changing a parameter in /sys/module


antifa ftw!

Offline

#11 2021-03-27 21:29:04

berni51
Member
From: Middle of Germany
Registered: 2018-12-20
Posts: 56  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Changing a parameter in /sys/module

Thanks HoaS, your hint was 100% correct and I was able to solve the problem! Reading the BoottimeEntropyStarvation opened my eyes and brought me to tpm. Indeed the T500 has a tpm chip and it requires randomizing. Disabling the tpm security chip was the solution and my old T500 now boots boot very fast. Thanks again for the help. ; )
Berni


The good ol' days will not return, and the rocks might smelt and the sea may burn.

Offline

Board footer