The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#51 2017-06-22 15:41:07

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,951  

Re: [solved] How to update to ascii?

man apt-get
       upgrade
           upgrade is used to install the newest versions of all packages currently installed on the system from the
           sources enumerated in /etc/apt/sources.list. Packages currently installed with new versions available are
           retrieved and upgraded; under no circumstances are currently installed packages removed, or packages not
           already installed retrieved and installed. New versions of currently installed packages that cannot be
           upgraded without changing the install status of another package will be left at their current version. An
           update must be performed first so that apt-get knows that new versions of packages are available.

       dist-upgrade
           dist-upgrade in addition to performing the function of upgrade, also intelligently handles changing
           dependencies with new versions of packages; apt-get has a "smart" conflict resolution system, and it will
           attempt to upgrade the most important packages at the expense of less important ones if necessary. The
           dist-upgrade command may therefore remove some packages. The /etc/apt/sources.list file contains a list of
           locations from which to retrieve desired package files. See also apt_preferences(5) for a mechanism for
           overriding the general settings for individual packages.

I suggested doing the upgrade first, so you would be less likely to run into a problem. Not everything will be upgraded with 'apt-get upgrade'. There is no error in the output you posted. It's doing what it should do. Let it run.

Offline

#52 2017-06-22 16:28:10

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 173  

Re: [solved] How to update to ascii?

I do not understand, it was an upgrade what i did (post) and as you can see it want to retain ...

I’m not an expert and i don’t know what to do if the system remove … and because i tried before with some results…

This is what i did, i installed the packages.devuan.org at repositories in the synaptic and reload …

When it finished the installation i went back to the sources.list and eliminate the line packages.devuan.org and only left there the ascii mirrors … and apt-get autoremove.

Then, apt-get update, apt-get upgrade and apt-get dist-upgrade:

root@kaos:/home/keos# apt-get update
Obj:1 http://auto.mirror.devuan.org/merged ascii InRelease
Obj:2 http://auto.mirror.devuan.org/merged ascii-updates InRelease
Des:3 http://amprolla.devuan.org/merged ascii-security InRelease [112 kB]
Descargados 112 kB en 2s (51.0 kB/s)                 
Leyendo lista de paquetes... Hecho
root@kaos:/home/keos# apt-get upgrade
Leyendo lista de paquetes... Hecho
Creando árbol de dependencias       
Leyendo la información de estado... Hecho
Calculando la actualización... Hecho
0 actualizados, 0 nuevos se instalarán, 0 para eliminar y 0 no actualizados.
root@kaos:/home/keos# apt-get dist-upgrade
Leyendo lista de paquetes... Hecho
Creando árbol de dependencias       
Leyendo la información de estado... Hecho
Calculando la actualización... Hecho
0 actualizados, 0 nuevos se instalarán, 0 para eliminar y 0 no actualizados.
root@kaos:/home/keos#

Is it not ascii?

Last edited by keos (2017-06-22 16:32:12)


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#53 2017-06-22 17:20:51

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,951  

Re: [solved] How to update to ascii?

Yes, I saw that you did apt-get upgrade, but you made it sound like you did not let it run. If the dist-upgrade says there's nothing to upgrade, then I guess you are running ascii. But I don't know what the autoremove did. Why did you run that? Did it remove any of the packages that were retained?

Offline

#54 2017-06-22 17:53:11

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 173  

Re: [solved] How to update to ascii?

sorry i'm not fluent in english. yes, i did not run the upgrade because i saw the packges retained list and i was afraid that the system could be able to remove all of them. -- it happened to me the first time that i installed devuan.

Well, i'm no sure neither of what the autoremove really did, [i wasn't able to copy-paste what synaptic did] it looks to me that it only removed, maybe, part of the packages previously installed when i added the packages.devuan repository line in synaptic and left only the one that belong to the mirrors of ascii. Because it works yesterday i tried today, but fsmithred i'm speculating ...

Any way, everything look ok till now.

If you know a command to list the packages that are now in system ...

Last edited by keos (2017-06-22 17:55:24)


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#55 2017-06-22 19:09:41

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,951  

Re: [solved] How to update to ascii?

List installed packages:

dpkg -l

Put the list in a file:

dpkg -l > package_list

Offline

#56 2017-06-23 12:25:46

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 173  

Re: [solved] How to update to ascii?

i'm not sure how to do this ...

  • /home/keos/package_list


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#57 2017-06-23 13:09:56

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,951  

Re: [solved] How to update to ascii?

You can either post it at paste.debian.net or click on my name and send it to me in email. You could try copy/paste here in a post, but it might be too big.

Offline

#58 2017-06-23 13:51:53

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 173  

Re: [solved] How to update to ascii?

OK, understood. but any way i think the post is already solved:

root@kaos:/home/keos# lsb_release -idc
Distributor ID:	Devuan
Description:	Devuan GNU/Linux 2.0 (ascii)
Codename:	ascii
root@kaos:/home/keos# 

Last edited by keos (2017-06-23 13:52:54)


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

Board footer