The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-02-25 01:40:23

unwell
Member
Registered: 2019-02-25
Posts: 3  

I think installed apt is sandboxed.

I'm running ASCII in a machine with 4g ram and an I3.

I've tried to install, several times, dvb-apps, through both the command line and synaptic package manager, and though apparently sucessful it does not appear on any menu.

During the install dvb-scan-tables is also installed.

During one install attempt I got an error message stating

W: Download is performed unsandboxed as root as file '/root/.synaptic/tmp//tmp_sh' couldn't be accessed by user '_apt'. - pkgAcquire::Run (13: Permission denied)

Which I do not understand, but has me thinking dvb-apps is sandboxed. But I am probably wrong.

So what have I got to do to get dvb-apps working correctly for a normal user?

I've thought about installing from source, but the instruction-

cd dvb-apps

does not make sense. Should it be cd /user/share/dvb-apps?

As a secondary interest I'd like to know how to unsandbox an app.

thanks

Offline

#2 2019-02-25 04:03:15

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 2,152  

Re: I think installed apt is sandboxed.

W: Download is performed unsandboxed as root as file '/root/.synaptic/tmp//tmp_sh' couldn't be accessed by user '_apt'. - pkgAcquire::Run (13: Permission denied)

That's the message you get when you download a package as root. Download as ordinary user instead.

What message do you get when you run

apt install dvb-apps

If it's already installed, apt will tell you that. Look in /usr/share/doc/dvb-apps for information. The package description says "interface::commandline" so that might explain why it's not in the menu.

dpkg -L dvb-apps

will give you a list of the files in the package. That will include a list of any commands. There will probably be man pages for those commands.

Offline

#3 2019-02-25 20:42:31

unwell
Member
Registered: 2019-02-25
Posts: 3  

Re: I think installed apt is sandboxed.

when I use apt install dvb-apps

the machine responds with

 /home/mine# apt install dvb-apps
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
dvb-apps is already the newest version (1.1.1+rev1500-1.1+b1).
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.

and

dpkg -L dvb-apps

THe machine responds with as a user

 $ dpkg -L dvd-apps
dpkg-query: package 'dvd-apps' is not installed
Use dpkg --info (= dpkg-deb --info) to examine archive files,
and dpkg --contents (= dpkg-deb --contents) to list their contents.

as su the command dpkg -L dvb-apps

lists about 100 dvb-apps  files from a list of several hundred.

most appear to be in the /usr/share/doc/dvb-apps/examples/test/       folder

Neither as su or a user is there a man page.

Offline

#4 2019-02-25 20:49:18

xinomilo
Member
Registered: 2017-07-02
Posts: 282  

Re: I think installed apt is sandboxed.

2nd command quoted is dvd-apps, not dvb-apps.

Offline

#5 2019-02-26 11:30:20

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 2,152  

Re: I think installed apt is sandboxed.

This should show you the available commands, and those commands should have man pages. If not, try running each command with the '--help' option.

ls /usr/bin/dvb*

Offline

#6 2019-02-27 22:08:43

unwell
Member
Registered: 2019-02-25
Posts: 3  

Re: I think installed apt is sandboxed.

thank you both for your help and advice

 The package description says "interface::commandline" so that might explain why it's not in the menu.

I had not noticed this and it explains a lot.

and I did not know about

ls /usr/bin/dvb*

so thanks for the education.

I was hoping for a dvb app that has a GUI, so it's back to searching for me.

Offline

#7 2022-10-27 09:03:18

Tritonio
Member
Registered: 2022-01-09
Posts: 21  

Re: I think installed apt is sandboxed.

unwell wrote:
W: Download is performed unsandboxed as root as file '/root/.synaptic/tmp//tmp_sh' couldn't be accessed by user '_apt'. - pkgAcquire::Run (13: Permission denied)

I've been randomly getting exactly the same message inside the console log in synaptic when installing packages. I don't know when it happens or when it doesn't. I'm starting synaptic from the usual launcher in the menu. When it's shows up in the expanded console then it will also throw this actual error dialog after closing the installation dialog:

fK5bHst.png

I'm using XFCE on Chimaera.

Offline

Board footer