The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#351 2021-10-30 09:13:46

hevidevi
Member
Registered: 2021-09-17
Posts: 65  

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

looks good tylerdurden, i see you may or may not have an artix linux background image, nice! Or maybe its a similar image to what they have as default backgrounds in there distro??

Offline

#352 2021-10-30 13:46:04

tylerdurden
Member
From: /home
Registered: 2018-07-16
Posts: 13  

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

hevidevi wrote:

looks good tylerdurden, i see you may or may not have an artix linux background image, nice! Or maybe its a similar image to what they have as default backgrounds in there distro??

Thanks! Not sure where I originally got the wallpaper but a reverse image search lead me here. I tried Artix only in a VM so far. Been using Devuan as my daily driver for a couple of years now.

EDIT: For those interested in the theme, it can be found here. I install it like this:

git clone https://gitlab.com/pwyde/monochrome-kde.git &&
cd monochrome-kde && 
sudo bash install.sh --install

Last edited by tylerdurden (2021-10-30 13:50:25)

Offline

#353 2021-10-31 09:56:19

hevidevi
Member
Registered: 2021-09-17
Posts: 65  

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

That is a nice theme too, easy on the eyes.

Offline

#354 2021-11-04 17:22:32

Nili
Member
From: $HOME/♫♪
Registered: 2016-12-01
Posts: 177  
Website

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

Shoot me whatever you want because of SystemD smile Yesterday upgraded from Fedora 34 to 35.
51655235389_b8e0abc929_n.jpg


Devuan // CWM
Fedora // GNOME

Offline

#355 2021-11-04 18:57:06

andyprough
Member
Registered: 2019-10-19
Posts: 145  

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

Nili wrote:

Shoot me whatever you want because of SystemD smile Yesterday upgraded from Fedora 34 to 35.

Oooh. How edgy. Imagine if you did something really dramatic, like installing Ubuntu.


Primary Computer - Commodore 64: Processor - MOS 6510/8500, 1.023MHz; Memory - 64kb RAM, 20kB ROM - 8k BASIC V2, 8k Kernel, 4k Character ROM; Display output - 320x200, 16 colours; OS - BASIC V2.0; Weight: 1.8kg

Offline

#356 2021-11-04 23:03:17

Nili
Member
From: $HOME/♫♪
Registered: 2016-12-01
Posts: 177  
Website

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

andyprough wrote:

Oooh. How edgy. Imagine if you did something really dramatic, like installing Ubuntu.

I could do it, at least to check it how it goes currently, i started my jurney with Ubuntu once a while ago. But, I would not go back there as i do not find myself comfortable.

I think Fedora is better option for me to being close on GTK/GNOME upstream. This interests me more.


Devuan // CWM
Fedora // GNOME

Offline

#357 2021-11-05 23:57:31

thym
Member
Registered: 2021-11-04
Posts: 4  

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

My first Devuan setup on my main desktop and on of the rare occassions i prefer a vertical panel


FluxBB bbcode test

Last edited by thym (2021-11-06 00:00:52)

Offline

#358 2021-11-06 07:42:20

brday
Member
Registered: 2017-07-30
Posts: 50  

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

69 RAM consumption? But what do you do to consume so little resources the system of the machine?  big_smile

Offline

#359 2021-11-06 08:53:44

Nili
Member
From: $HOME/♫♪
Registered: 2016-12-01
Posts: 177  
Website

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

brday wrote:

69 RAM consumption? But what do you do to consume so little resources the system of the machine?  big_smile

Devuan NETINST ISO > Expert Install > None Tasksel Selected > Minimal Xorg installation aka "xserver-xorg-core", > startx autoload from .xinitrc file > minimalistic Window Manager=CWM > feh to load background images.

Every new version that comes from the kernel comes a bit bloat due to new features.

OS Kernel copy on my system used/uses memory over the years:
Kernel 2 series 15MB MEM
Kernel 3 series 25MB MEM
Kernel 4 series 35MB MEM
Kernel 5 series >5.10 50MB MEM
Kernel 5 series >5.14 70MB MEM
Latest from testing/daedalus "devuan 5.14.0-2-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 5.14.9-2 (2021-10-03)" boots from 50 to 70MB memory.

A bit of optimizing after OS installation, tweaking, removing unwanted stuff by using guide https://wiki.debian.org/ReduceDebian - Well, i don't need to use always reducedebian after i used once. But, heleped me on first install copy years ago.

Patience, many free time to waste, a PC/Virtual Machine to learn or a bit of experience in the end for newbies. I learned a few things by breaking many times my system or customs. I never used a virtual machine for tests, i learn by break my real shits and it was scary on my early linux startup.

So, with NETINST ISO you builds your system according to your preference like Arch Linux. Therefore you have inside only what you want, accurate, light weight. More or less so i can explain it briefly, if the question is addressed to me.

Last edited by Nili (2021-11-06 09:17:51)


Devuan // CWM
Fedora // GNOME

Offline

#360 2021-11-07 01:23:36

brday
Member
Registered: 2017-07-30
Posts: 50  

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

A beautiful image of Devuan with IceWM in another language !

Hello

Devuan chimaera with IceWM minimalist, consumes very low resources of the machine, it is to thank, an installation so customized and configured. That's why the success of MX Linux, some years it leads the DistroWatch as number one, and Antix is not far behind, it's light and is rising like the foam in the ranking of the distrowatch, hopefully the developers of Devuan, are encouraged by default to make minimalist distributions with JWM or IceWM, here I publish a beautiful image of Devuan with IceWM in another language.

IMAG2.jpg

Greetings

Offline

#361 2021-11-07 01:39:31

Nili
Member
From: $HOME/♫♪
Registered: 2016-12-01
Posts: 177  
Website

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

All right! good job posting it here. Here we're like a big family of photographers smile

Hope you post other custom photos shortly as i like watching members posting their scrots.

Also, i wish Devuan made you feel comfortable and happy.

Best regards!


Devuan // CWM
Fedora // GNOME

Offline

#362 2021-11-07 02:26:34

brday
Member
Registered: 2017-07-30
Posts: 50  

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

Nili wrote:

All right! good job posting it here. Here we're like a big family of photographers smile

Hope you post other custom photos shortly as i like watching members posting their scrots.

Also, i wish Devuan made you feel comfortable and happy.

Best regards!

Thanks Nili, the idea is to spread Devuan to the world and many users will use it.  I wish I could  developers will be encouraged to make ultralight distributions as shown in this nice picture.

Offline

#363 2021-11-07 06:15:36

Nili
Member
From: $HOME/♫♪
Registered: 2016-12-01
Posts: 177  
Website

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

brday wrote:

Thanks Nili, the idea is to spread Devuan to the world and many users will use it.  I wish I could  developers will be encouraged to make ultralight distributions as shown in this nice picture.

I think typical Devuan user do it itself, as i explained above. Devuan devs produce Debian without systemd just that.

There are already minimalistic derivatives from community users, maybe take a look within the thread, perhaps you'll find one that fits your shoes.


Devuan // CWM
Fedora // GNOME

Offline

#364 2021-11-08 18:50:59

Nili
Member
From: $HOME/♫♪
Registered: 2016-12-01
Posts: 177  
Website

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

51665358859_f4c92c6cb8_n.jpg

Same sh*t, different backgrounds, thanks to the author for genius captured.

I can't show much from a WM like CWM, though i'm addicted to it.

Edit: Other note,

With the latest kernel 5 series (from testing) it has been seen that the memory is rised a bit, just a while ago from

5.10.46-4
5th Sep 2021 70Mb RAM

to

5.14.9-2
8th Nov 2021 106Mb RAM

It is clear that every new version have a memory boost. It has always been so, but from my previous experience i notice that kernel upgrade lately is much higher.

Last edited by Nili (2021-11-10 14:55:51)


Devuan // CWM
Fedora // GNOME

Offline

#365 2021-11-10 21:22:08

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 1,869  
Website

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

Switched to Arch 'cos the Cezanne support is better and I need every FPS I can get for my games:

20211110-15h10m05s-grim.png

Wallpaper is bloat! smile


antifa ftw!

Offline

#366 2021-11-10 22:41:00

berni51
Member
From: Middle of Germany
Registered: 2018-12-20
Posts: 71  
Website

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

But Arch is systemd! hmm


The good ol' days will not return, and the rocks might smelt and the sea may burn.

Offline

#367 2021-11-10 22:56:23

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 1,869  
Website

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

I don't mind systemd. It's bloated as fuck but the features are nice.


antifa ftw!

Offline

#368 2021-11-11 12:44:22

Ogis1975
Member
Registered: 2017-04-21
Posts: 216  
Website

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Switched to Arch 'cos the Cezanne support is better and I need every FPS I can get for my game

Why not Artix Linux?

Wallpaper is bloat!

Also, zsh is bloat! smile

Last edited by Ogis1975 (2021-11-11 13:11:46)


MyLiveMatter

Offline

#369 2021-11-11 13:10:34

Ogis1975
Member
Registered: 2017-04-21
Posts: 216  
Website

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

Hello! Here I am again.  Here is my desktop from 2008 smile As you can see, the information about the system shows small program, pfetch.  It is a simple system information tool written in POSIX sh using features built into the language itself. I also want to brag that this app didn’t show the Devuan logo in the past, but I reported this bug to an amazing person, the developer of this app, dylan (a.k.a. dylanaraps) who was happy to fix this frustrating bug

2021-11-11-144932-1920x1080-scrot.png

2021-11-11-151618-1920x1080-scrot.png

Last edited by Ogis1975 (2021-11-11 13:17:58)


MyLiveMatter

Offline

#370 2021-11-11 13:36:41

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 1,869  
Website

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

Ogis1975 wrote:

Why not Artix Linux?

Arch barely has enough developers as it is so I wouldn't consider using a derivative of it that has even fewer developers.

EDIT: and anyway Artix is bloated compared to Alpine or OpenBSD so it's not a viable systemd-free alternative IMO.

Ogis1975 wrote:

zsh is bloat!

It's only bloat if you don't use the features wink

I prefer mksh but unfortunately Alad left the TU team and put the package back in the AUR. I'm not using a shell from the AUR, that would just be silly.

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2021-11-11 13:39:47)


antifa ftw!

Offline

#371 2021-11-11 17:18:30

MiyoLinux
Member
Registered: 2016-12-05
Posts: 1,126  

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Switched to Arch 'cos ...

Arch is bloat!

LOLOL!!! tongue

I don't know about now, but many years ago (around 2015 ???), I built 3 Openbox systems with the same packages...

1. Debian
2. Ubuntu
3. Arch

Here is what I discovered...

1. Arch used the highest RAM (at startup) and disk space.
2. Debian used the least disk space.
3. Ubuntu used the least RAM (at startup). Wha'the??? yikes

Then again, that was in 2015 (?). I haven't tried it since then, so I probably shouldn't have said anything...   tongue


I have been Devuanated, and my practice in the art of Devuanism shall continue until my Devuanization is complete. Until then, I will strive to continue in my understanding of Devuanchology, Devuanprocity, and Devuanivity.

Veni, vidi, vici vdevuaned. I came, I saw, I Devuaned. wink

Offline

#372 2021-11-11 17:48:52

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 1,869  
Website

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

MiyoLinux wrote:

Arch is bloat!

Quoted for truth. I really wish they wouldn't compile everything with --enable-kitchen-sink but that's how it works with Arch... roll

EDIT: but they make up for it by not enabling services by default when they're installed. I think there's a way to set that with De{vu,bi}an but I can't remember how. Anybody?

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2021-11-11 17:50:36)


antifa ftw!

Offline

#373 2021-11-12 03:12:10

MiyoLinux
Member
Registered: 2016-12-05
Posts: 1,126  

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

I think there's a way to set that with De{vu,bi}an but I can't remember how. Anybody?

Dude...

I can't remember what I did yesterday...and if I did remember it today, I'd forget it tomorrow.


I have been Devuanated, and my practice in the art of Devuanism shall continue until my Devuanization is complete. Until then, I will strive to continue in my understanding of Devuanchology, Devuanprocity, and Devuanivity.

Veni, vidi, vici vdevuaned. I came, I saw, I Devuaned. wink

Offline

#374 2021-11-12 04:50:35

andyprough
Member
Registered: 2019-10-19
Posts: 145  

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
MiyoLinux wrote:

Arch is bloat!

Quoted for truth. I really wish they wouldn't compile everything with --enable-kitchen-sink but that's how it works with Arch... roll

EDIT: but they make up for it by not enabling services by default when they're installed. I think there's a way to set that with De{vu,bi}an but I can't remember how. Anybody?

Debian wiki says "If you want to change the default behaviour of starting up services on installation of their associated packages[5] use policy-rc.d, please read /usr/share/doc/sysv-rc/README.policy-rc.d.gz for more information."

I think you do something like the following, but not certain:

nano /usr/sbin/policy-rc.d

file contents:

#!bin/sh 
exit 101

then:

chmod +x /usr/sbin/policy-rc.d 
dpkg-divert --local --rename --add /sbin/initctl
ln -s /bin/true /sbin/initctl

Something like that?

However, I don't know if this is a complete solution, as policy-rc.d is supposedly ignored on reboot. Possibly the intictl linking at the end will help with that. Here's a good discussion of how policy-rc.d works:
Install Debian Package without Automatically Starting Daemons, https://weicode.wordpress.com/2016/02/1 … g-daemons/

Obligatory WARNING to any random readers - DO NOT ATTEMPT THIS IF YOU DON'T KNOW ALL ABOUT WHAT YOU ARE DOING. It WILL most definitely be able to brick your system.


Primary Computer - Commodore 64: Processor - MOS 6510/8500, 1.023MHz; Memory - 64kb RAM, 20kB ROM - 8k BASIC V2, 8k Kernel, 4k Character ROM; Display output - 320x200, 16 colours; OS - BASIC V2.0; Weight: 1.8kg

Offline

#375 2021-11-12 08:38:03

GlennW
Member
Registered: 2019-07-18
Posts: 169  

Re: Show your desktop (rebooted)

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
MiyoLinux wrote:

Arch is bloat!

Quoted for truth. I really wish they wouldn't compile everything with --enable-kitchen-sink but that's how it works with Arch... roll

EDIT: but they make up for it by not enabling services by default when they're installed. I think there's a way to set that with De{vu,bi}an but I can't remember how. Anybody?

Hi, I use OpenRC

rc-update, as root gives you a columned list of services and

you may use

rc-update add cups off
rc-update delete cups default

rc-update add cups-browsed off
rc-update delete cups-browsed default

to add and delete services.

A help file I use,

OpenRC-cheat sheet (openrc-cheatsheet_misterrabinhalder) and new orders.
/etc/rc.conf

Runlevels

sysinit
shutdown
reboot
boot
default
nonetwork
single

Working With Runlevels

Change to nonetwork runlevel        rc nonetwork
Change to default runlevel          rc default
Change to shutdown runlevel         rc shutdown
Change to reboot runlevel           rc reboot
Show Status info about runlevels    rc-status
Locate and run an OpenRC service    rc-service service cmd [...]
Adding services                     rc-update add postfix default
Removing services                   rc-update del postfix default
Showing services                    rc-update show

#######################################################################
Working with init scripts /etc/init.d

each script within /etc/init.d can be executed with the arguments
start
stop
restart
zap
status
ineed
iuse
iwant
needsme
usesme
wantsme

Starting and stoping services, 
/etc/init.d/postfix start
Start or Stop a service, but not deps...
/etc/init.d/postfix --nodeps stop

#######################################################################

rc-update > /home/glenn/build/rc-update-list-before.txt

I hope this is useful

Offline

Board footer