The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-01-26 19:51:14

devuan_dk_fan

New Devuan Trinity install on laptop - need MuseScore to work.

My basic problem is that the MuseScore AppImage complains when I try to run it:

$ ./MuseScore-2.1-x86_64.AppImage
initScoreFonts 0x3d20bf0
PulseAudio Context Connect Failed with Error: Connection refused
init PulseAudio failed
no audio driver found
Cannot start I/O
sequencer init failed
Ignore SSL error: 6 The certificate has expired

I am experimenting with a minimal cli Devuan Jessie install with Trinity as the DE. I am new to Devuan and Trinity (as well as anything KDE related for that matter). Anyway, my main go to app for music is MuseScore. I use the AppImage version for a number of reasons, one of which is MuseScore has had a bug the developers don't seem to be able to lock down that creates static or feedback when using MIDI playback for a score.

I have discovered that Trinity uses a sound system called aRts. It seems to me that the above errors reflect a dependency on PulseAudio. If MuseScore absolutely needs PulseAudio, is it possible to get Trinity to work with PulseAudio? How? Alternatively, is it possible to get MuseScore working with aRts?

I wish the Trinity team had chosen another name, as there is so much cruft that pops up when searching for something about "Trinity", "TDE", "TDM" etc. I am hoping there are some Trinity users out there that can give some advice.

Military justice is to justice what military music is to music. - Groucho Marx
I’ve had a perfectly wonderful evening, but this wasn’t it. - Groucho Marx

#2 2018-01-27 01:07:08

fsmithred
Administrator

Re: New Devuan Trinity install on laptop - need MuseScore to work.