The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-07-09 04:00:02

shamil

Future of the debian installer for devuan

This is a semi repost from DIY, bear with me, i'm still learning about the carry overs from debian, and how devuan does things.
Some of you know I was testing out live-build with creating devuan images. It works great aside from the debian installer being the problem; ignoring the fact that the debian installer works just fine on the netinstall images. Shortly after installing grub, I get this error.
MF5aNXd.jpg

Are the refracta tools going to be the de-facto official devuan system building tools with the debian installer being considered deprecated? If i'm switching my distribution's base, i prefer to use the tools used that are officially supported for the new distribution base; since those are the tools that are supported for the long term and will perform better than the short term use tools that will eventually no longer be supported.

An answer to my devuan debian installer mystery would be nice except...an answer doesn't matter if the debian installer isn't going to be in use much longer for devuan.

#2 2017-07-09 05:36:25

darry1966

Re: Future of the debian installer for devuan

Personally think the refracta installer similar to the LinuxBBQ one is better.

#3 2017-07-09 11:02:23

fsmithred
Administrator

Re: Future of the debian installer for devuan

Some thoughts on this, in no particular order...

I don't know what the future holds for live-build. Someone who follows the debian-live mailing list would have a better idea. There's also the open-infrastructure project, which is run by Daniel Baumann. Packages are in ascii, and when I looked at it about a year ago, only one of the packages needed to have its dependencies changed (remove systemd dep) to install in devuan. It is a continuation of live-build under a different name and with the same commands.