The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-06-25 12:11:59

garyz.dev1
Member
Registered: 2017-06-15
Posts: 79  

Trinity on Jessie

Don't shoot me !
I put TDE (Trinity DE) on top of my DevJessie.  Q4OS made their TDE
available for Devuan Jessie - it won't work on ASCII or ceres.
[I thnk they check the /etc/apt/sources.list; based on an attempt to
put it on my ASCII version]
'
It removed 'makedev' and 'rtkit' right up front. It seemed to 'GET'
about 169 packages (via apt-get) from both DevJessie & Q4OS repositories
. I saw two 'grub-style' probes of my harddrives - but it never
effected by bootloader.  Two errors (anticipated by a note from Q4OS
website) were from 'update-rd.d' --> "start & stop actions no longer
supported, will fallback to defaults";[this occured about 18 minutes
into the update.  #2 error was at the end:: "systemctl: & timedatectl:
not found"
'
after reboot, the tdm took my login, had my normal !! XFCE !! splash
screen and desktop.  The menus are in the Trinity theme , but the few
applications I started are in the Devuan Xfce style (of rounded corners)
'
NOTE - there are several prompts to answer:
start + 8 mins = select your login mgr -- tdm or slim
start + 19 mins = prompt for installing more packages
start + 20 mins = prompt for additional configuration
start + 22 mins  FINISH & reboot
'
intel 64bit @ 3Ghz w/ 3G ram; one SATA drive (boot) & one IDE (testing)
I installed TDE on the testing drive
'
Have fun   - not sure if they can get it systemd free for ASCII

Offline

#2 2017-06-25 12:28:42

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,154  

Re: Trinity on Jessie

What's not systemd-free about trinity? It's been a long time since I've installed it on jessie, but I don't recall needing any systemd pieces,

Offline

#3 2017-06-25 14:17:52

garyz.dev1
Member
Registered: 2017-06-15
Posts: 79  

Re: Trinity on Jessie

with my limited knowledge of all systemd:
there was 'dbus' that showed up in the install window
an internet comment suggested that they use GTK+3 , and some systemd
'
I assume since it only works on Jessie, that ASCII has something in it that conflicts.
??Possibly the lack of rsyslog??

HTH

Offline

#4 2017-06-25 14:25:51

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,154  

Re: Trinity on Jessie

I don't know much about it. If I were going to install trinity, I'd use the instructions here -
https://wiki.trinitydesktop.org/Debian_ … structions

Yeah, you're going to need dbus with a full desktop environment. TDE shouldn't be using any gtk. It uses qt. Maybe q4OS uses it for some gtk apps? (I don't know what q4OS includes).

Offline

#5 2017-06-25 14:29:38

garyz.dev1
Member
Registered: 2017-06-15
Posts: 79  

Re: Trinity on Jessie

Well my face is red.
Per the Trinity website -- They QT3, not planning on QT4 or 5.
'
Q4os took the Trinity package, and seemed to work out some of the issues
(for their base Linux).
'
whatever

Offline

#6 2017-06-25 15:02:57

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,675  

Re: Trinity on Jessie

http://trinity-devel.pearsoncomputing.net/?0::15442

This is not in our roadmap at all.  The prelimiary work I've done to see
if we can gain Wayland support centers around moving drawing to GTK3;

A month or so ago, there was discussion of packaging TDE for Devuan but it hasn't happened yet (and may not)

Offline

#7 2017-06-25 19:12:30

msi
Member
Registered: 2017-02-04
Posts: 118  

Re: Trinity on Jessie

garyz.dev1 wrote:

I put TDE (Trinity DE) on top of my DevJessie.

Have you considered giving Exe GNU/Linux a try? It offers "Devuan-based Live Linux Images with Trinity Desktop Environment (TDE)"[1] and "a fixed disk installation can be done from the 'live' session"[2].

[1] https://sourceforge.net/projects/exegnulinux/
[2] http://exegnulinux.net

Offline

Board footer