The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-06-12 23:48:32

Giorgos
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2018-06-12
Posts: 11  

Desktop resolution problem (AMD graphic card).

Hi! :-)

I have an older onboard AMD graphic card, at my Devuan system (ASCII x64 KDE).

>lspci -nn | grep VGA
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Kabini [Radeon HD 8400 / R3 Series [1002:9830]
>

I have (auto)installed the packages:
libdrm-amdgpu1
xserver-xorg-video-amdgpu
xserver-xorg-video-ati

My resolution is at 1024X768, while the native one of my monitor, is 1360X768.
(I have an older Samsung TFT).

Back at my Debian days, I had the proprietary AMD driver (fglrx), but I think this is not available any more.
I'm totally unfamiliar with the open source one.

Ehm...What now?
Does someone knows how a can configure the driver, in order to get an acceptable resolution?
TIA! :-)
G.

Offline

#2 2018-06-13 08:13:39

Dutch_Master
Member
Registered: 2018-05-31
Posts: 20  

Re: Desktop resolution problem (AMD graphic card).

You didn't search the web for the driver, didn't you?

Click!
(it's not the driver, but enough to get you started)

Offline

#3 2018-06-13 12:50:50

emanym
Member
Registered: 2018-04-08
Posts: 25  

Re: Desktop resolution problem (AMD graphic card).

You may need to install (non-free) firmware for the videocard:

apt-get install firmware-amd-graphics

Offline

#4 2018-06-13 14:10:35

Giorgos
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2018-06-12
Posts: 11  

Re: Desktop resolution problem (AMD graphic card).

THANKS guys for your help!!! :-)

Dutch_Master wrote:

You didn't search the web for the driver, didn't you?

Click!
(it's not the driver, but enough to get you started)

Not only searched but contacted with the AMD support. Other guys posted to their fora (so I skip this step).
That was happened last summer.

To make a long story sort, the proprietary driver (as I stated above), can't anymore be installed, because it demands an outdated X-Window version.
It is highly unlike that AMD will update this driver. Seems to be dead in the water.
Company's efforts are now for the new driver, which supports only high-end cards.

Before a year or so, a guy made an Arch fork, and bundled the last working X-Window version (replacing the normal one), with fglrx.

Pretty good solution, as a temporary one, but you know what?......nowadays Arch means.....SystemD!
NO WAY!!! :-)

Personally, |I prefer to dump Linux altogether, rather than accepting to live with the SystemD infection! ;-)

emanym wrote:

You may need to install (non-free) firmware for the videocard:

apt-get install firmware-amd-graphics

Let me try it and I'll be back.

Last edited by Giorgos (2018-06-13 14:11:32)

Offline

#5 2018-06-13 14:25:35

emanym
Member
Registered: 2018-04-08
Posts: 25  

Re: Desktop resolution problem (AMD graphic card).

If your card is too old for the amdgpu driver you would also need xserver-xorg-video-radeon

(Works for me, but my hardware is much older than yours , I think. (Radeon 5570))

Offline

#6 2018-06-13 15:40:39

Giorgos
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2018-06-12
Posts: 11  

Re: Desktop resolution problem (AMD graphic card).

Last time I boot, startup output clearly stated (unlike the previous boots) that kernel needed the firmware-amd-graphics package (as you suggested), so I installed it (and xserver-xorg-video-radeon got autoinstalled too).
Seems like my card (R3 series) is at the supported list.

Now, after the restart, I'm getting the message that my monitor has no or invalid EDID (and resolution is still stuck at 1024X768).

Seems (altough I'm not sure) like I have to create an Xorg.conf, but I have about a decade to get my hands to it.

Any ideas - directions??? :-)
There are many sugestions online, but does someone tried them on Devuan?

Offline

#7 2018-06-13 15:58:29

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,224  

Re: Desktop resolution problem (AMD graphic card).

Maybe xrandr?

Offline

#8 2018-06-13 16:57:21

Giorgos
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2018-06-12
Posts: 11  

Re: Desktop resolution problem (AMD graphic card).

THANKS golinux! :-)
Indeed this did the trick!
(at least partially).

If someone reads this pos and needs details, this page is particuilarly helpful:
https://unix.stackexchange.com/question … vailable-i.

The only problem is that it neither apply the settings (you have to go to KDE control panel and set the new resolution), nor remember them after logging off.

I made a scipt for autorunning the mentioned commands after logging in, but the inconvinience is that you have after every sigle login, to go to control panel and set the desired resolution (since xrandr doesn't do it from console).

Is there any config file somewhere, so I won't need to do the manual work after every single login?

Offline

#9 2018-06-13 17:53:55

emanym
Member
Registered: 2018-04-08
Posts: 25  

Re: Desktop resolution problem (AMD graphic card).

It should be possible to add some custom x-org configuration file in /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d, based on xrandr settings?

emanym@sybilla:~$ ls /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/
10-quirks.conf  40-libinput.conf  70-wacom.conf

Offline

#10 2018-09-04 12:26:53

Giorgos
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2018-06-12
Posts: 11  

Re: Desktop resolution problem (AMD graphic card).

Hi! :-)

I searched around a bit and I'm back.

If someone faced a resolution problem the simpler way to deal with it is xrandr.
This page is the only thing you'll need: https://gist.github.com/debloper/2793261.

After setting it in order to avoid manually running it every time, you have to configure it to autostart.
I'm using KDE and it's easy enough to set it through KDE settings.

The problem is that way you'll still have the above mentioned bug with VTs.
Seems like it's a kernel bug with the name "kernel spamming".

Seems to be an upstream bug (from Debian) and all Debian forks have it (Ubuntu, Mint, Clonezilla etc).
Non-Debian distros don't suffer this specific bug.
I don't think it's relevant to create a bug report at Devuan's tracker (since Debian developers have to deal with it).

If you have a different opinion please tell me.

Personally I'm not in great need of VTs, so I'll stick with Devuan.
I'm not marking this thread as solved, because if someone needs VTs (or any console without X)...well...bad luck! :-)

Offline

Board footer