The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-06-24 01:42:21

NickWilliamsPoetArtist
Member
Registered: 2019-12-26
Posts: 9  

Musescore

just updated from ascii to beowulf everything worked ok apart from musescore which for some reason has lost its playback function and sound doesn't work on it due to this (changing the soundfont makes no difference so I uninstalled and installed musescore from jessie and that worked ok ... however was unable to install musescore from ascii which worked perfectly (there is a work around as I can still export the scores to midi and mp3 etc to listen but just not listen whilst I am writing

qtbase-abi-5-7-1 is what is required for ascii musescore to be reinstalled but the updated libqt5core5a file can't be removed without removing a whole bunch of other packages which I use

just wondering if there is a work around or if downloading musescore src deb and attempting to compile for my system is the only option to get the playback function back ?

All the best

Hope everyone is coping with current covid situation

Offline

#2 2020-06-24 01:46:15

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,952  

Re: Musescore

Perhaps this would help?

Offline

#3 2020-06-24 06:57:08

larsH
Member
Registered: 2020-05-05
Posts: 85  

Re: Musescore

Hi

Go into settings and change the I/o backend to alsa. This is better than using pulseaudio. In the case with musescore I get scratching playback using PulseAudio. Alsa works perfect (and is the default for Devuan). I am using musescore myself quite a lot as a musician.
I would also suggest you to install musescore3 from backports. It is more modern and just as stable as the old version.

Have a nice day
Lars H

Last edited by larsH (2020-06-24 07:09:09)

Offline

#4 2020-06-24 16:30:30

GNUser
Member
Registered: 2017-03-16
Posts: 524  

Re: Musescore

AppImage is also available. Sometimes issues in .deb version do not affect AppImage version:
https://musescore.org/en/download

Offline

#5 2020-06-25 15:08:47

NickWilliamsPoetArtist
Member
Registered: 2019-12-26
Posts: 9  

Re: Musescore

Thankyou (changing to alsa fixed problem) will look into other as it might have an insight into the only other issue I found which was firefox when firejailed no longer plays sound and I had noticed something in the firejail firefox-common profile that said that pulseaudio might be broken

Cheers

All the best

Nick

Offline

#6 2020-06-25 15:22:30

NickWilliamsPoetArtist
Member
Registered: 2019-12-26
Posts: 9  

Re: Musescore

Cheers for the pulseaudio conf info that fixed firefox firejail prob too so all good (am using sysvinit anyway but figured the upgrade may have overwritten the conf file)

All the best

Nick

Offline

Board footer