The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-06-12 05:30:47

fabien
Member
Registered: 2019-03-11
Posts: 13  

Display manager issue

Hello people,

I have a issue with display manager in general, doesn't matter which one. They all freeze, maybe one time out of five.

I tried slim, sddm and lightDM, the problem is the same.

When it happen, If I open an other TTY and then "startx", my session open and freeze as well.

Which information should I give you if I want help?

Thank you.

Fabien

Offline

#2 2019-06-12 06:07:19

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,758  

Re: Display manager issue

Have you read the Release Notes?  Plenty of tips in there that might help you sort this.  Those notes are for ascii.  I guessed because you didn't specify which release you were on.

Offline

#3 2019-06-12 10:44:41

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 335  
Website

Re: Display manager issue

fabien wrote:

If I open an other TTY and then "startx", my session open and freeze as well.

Well then it can't be a display manager issue, can it?

Boot to a console and try startx from there to eliminate the DM as a source of this issue.

Have you checked your drive & memory health?

What are your sources?

apt policy

Check the syslog for any clues.


Fabricando fit faber

Offline

#4 2019-06-12 21:21:41

Excalibur
Member
Registered: 2019-03-07
Posts: 6  

Re: Display manager issue

Hello,
       It looks like X11 is having problems with your hardware. As you have managed to start up an X session using startx, try logging on via a tty and see if there is an .xsession-errors file in your home directory. The contents of this file may give you a clue as to what has gone wrong.

Offline

#5 2019-06-15 07:45:27

fabien
Member
Registered: 2019-03-11
Posts: 13  

Re: Display manager issue

Thank you for helping guys, I will first read the release notes.

Offline

#6 2019-06-16 13:37:46

F_Sauce
Member
From: Noreg
Registered: 2017-07-07
Posts: 31  

Re: Display manager issue

Just a thought, but I would do a «memtest» to see if the RAM is alright also.

Offline

Board footer