The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-11-29 13:12:49

ajhlinuxuser

The only thing I don't love about Devuan

I want to embrace the non-systemd world of new or forked Linux distributions, but I still want to understand and be competent with the "popular" distributions which use it.

So sometimes I ask the people in these other communities for help.  I am still quite new to the communities behind GNU/Linux, so I can't be 100% sure about this, but I have a pretty good hunch that the Devuan project has committed a fairly serious offense against the Debian community:

It looks like Devuan took all the nice people from Debian!!!  Every single one!!!

So.  Enough said.  I love everything Devuan, but you really should have left a few nice guys behind when you split.

Attached, please find an example of the current state at Debian Forums.

debian-forums-unbelievable-2018-11-29edit.png

#2 2018-11-29 14:09:24

fsmithred
Administrator

Re: The only thing I don't love about Devuan

Sorry about that, but we didn't get to choose who left and who didn't. If we did have that power, we would have taken a few more. But it turns out that would not have been necessary - they're coming around eventually. First year, we got all people who didn't want systemd, but as time goes by, we keep getting more people who thought they did want systemd and changed their minds after they got it.

Welcome to devuan.

P.S. Also sorry I didn't see your post a year ago. I don't think I've ever had two installs come out exactly the same with debian-installer.

#3 2018-11-29 14:54:03

sgage

I know what you mean. I have never encountered a more gratuitously user-hostile tech forum than Debian Forums. Even in the Beginners subforum, asking a simple question, even just trying to ask if something is a known issue, opens yourself up for all sorts of abuse, insults, mockery, etc. I don't understand how people get like that - seems it would be a miserable existence. Oh well.