The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-06-01 17:26:23

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 132  

Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

Hi,

Well, i need to navigate from Devuan to MXLinux but when i click on MX an unwelcome window ...


Captura_de_pantalla_2018-06-01_13-05-35.png


Not authorized to perform this operation?.


-- i found some solutions to similar problems at google but no one like this one and i don't want to make my day ... any idea?.

Thanks.

Last edited by keos (2018-06-07 19:30:07)


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#2 2018-06-01 18:37:32

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,252  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

I assume you want to mount MX to read files there.  If so you will need to put an entry for your MX partitions(s) in Devuan's /etc/fstab.   And the reverse in MX if you want to mount devuan from a running MX system.

Online

#3 2018-06-01 18:47:52

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 132  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

This is what i have at  /etc/fstab what do you means by to put an entry for MX partition?.

  GNU nano 2.7.4                            Fichero: /etc/fstab                                         

UUID=6e55911a-2620-4ab6-b2b5-1458602e6252       /       ext4    defaults,noatime        0       1
UUID=0b4a75ba-8b74-47b1-8aaa-2d971f92732f       swap    swap    defaults        0       0

I forgot to said that in MXLinux Devuan is not even over there.

Sorry, it is over there but not as Devuan but as "volume of 104 GB".

MXLinux:

 GNU nano 2.7.4                          Fichero: /etc/fstab                                       

# Pluggable devices are handled by uDev, they are not in fstab
/dev/sda3 / auto defaults,noatime 1 1

Last edited by keos (2018-06-01 19:13:38)


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#4 2018-06-01 20:34:45

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,252  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

keos wrote:

This is what i have at  /etc/fstab what do you means by to put an entry for MX partition?

Yes.  I have these entries in my jessie fstab just in case I ever need something from there.  You should do something similar if you want to access MX from Devuan.

#wheezy root
UUID=0bd40b55-d186-42bd-ae7d-764c90a2414b /wroot	ext4	ro,noatime 0 0
#wheezy home
UUID=16bd883c-e550-4883-895c-a4564730b242 /whome	ext4	ro,noatime 0 0

I forgot to said that in MXLinux Devuan is not even over there.

Sorry, it is over there but not as Devuan but as "volume of 104 GB".

MXLinux:

 GNU nano 2.7.4                          Fichero: /etc/fstab                                       

# Pluggable devices are handled by uDev, they are not in fstab
/dev/sda3 / auto defaults,noatime 1 1

I suggest to always use UUID or labels rather than partition numbers (/dev/sdxx) which could change if you add removable devices and put you in a world of hurt..

Online

#5 2018-06-02 14:25:37

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 132  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

Well, you said that i should do "something similar" ... this is a bit complicated for me, i don't understand what you means, it is probably my English ... but thanks anyway for your answer.


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#6 2018-06-02 15:52:16

devuser
Member
Registered: 2018-04-30
Posts: 176  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

I think golinux just ment that you should add an fstab entry for the foreign partitions preferably using UUID instead of device name. If you are expecting to be able to mount these partitions as a regular user i don't think that'll really work out. It's sure possible but it's not a good idea to have users mount random partitions besides you'd likely still run into permission problems unless your user ids in the running system match those of the mounted partition.

If you really want to do it i'd recommend you to take a look at udevil and it's ability to use a mount wrapper. The way i handle foreign filesystems on removable media is to mount them as root and then stick a bindfs on top of it that makes all files appear as belonging to the user that requested to mount the device while setting the ownership of all written files to root which is not ideal but at least somewhat sane. I could post the scripts if you are interested.

Last edited by devuser (2018-06-02 15:59:55)

Offline

#7 2018-06-02 17:17:45

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 132  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

Thanks devuser but i”m realizing now that the whole thing is to complicate for me, it is not my English, this is not an easy subject, and i don't want to brake the system ...

It is better to wait for developers, i think so ... because other systems do not have this limitation, from MXLinux i'm able to go into Devuan without any problem, and when i was in Mint ...

Again, thanks!.

Last edited by keos (2018-06-02 17:19:30)


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#8 2018-06-02 17:52:22

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 873  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

There are many ways to accomplish what you want. Here's one simple way:

As root:

apt-get install pmount
echo "/dev/sda3" >> /etc/pmount.allow

As user:

pmount sda3
ls /media/sda3

If you want to unmount it,

pumount sda3

Offline

#9 2018-06-02 19:27:44

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 132  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

No, the same result as the in the capture of my first post : Not authorized to perform operation. -- i did it as root.


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#10 2018-06-02 19:52:44

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 873  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

You do not need to be root to use pmount.

Make sure you're a member of the plugdev group. Run groups to see what groups you're in. If plugdev is not listed, then run as root, adduser keos plugdev

Then the user must log out and log in again.

Offline

#11 2018-06-03 14:11:06

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 132  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

keos@kaos:~$ LANG=C groups
keos cdrom floppy sudo audio dip video plugdev netdev lpadmin scanner
keos@kaos:~$ LANG=C pmount sda3
Error: device /dev/sda3 is not removable
keos@kaos:~$ ls /media/sda3

devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#12 2018-06-03 14:26:26

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 132  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

It is working now!. i don't know what i did wrong before maybe because i did't log out as you said, but because i restarted the system?.

Last edited by keos (2018-06-03 14:27:03)


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#13 2018-06-03 14:34:46

devuser
Member
Registered: 2018-04-30
Posts: 176  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

keos wrote:

It is working now!. i don't know what i did wrong before maybe because i did't log out as you said, but because i restarted the system?.

Likely. Groups are only applied at login which i am quite sure you did after the reboot.

Offline

#14 2018-06-04 12:25:37

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 132  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

Well, today it doesn't works ... is it not a  permanent solution?. Do i have to do the same every time after turn off the pc?. Just asking ...

Last edited by keos (2018-06-04 12:26:05)


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#15 2018-06-04 16:30:26

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 873  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

What doesn't work? You should be able to mount the partition with pmount. It won't mount automatically. If you want that partition to always be mounted when you boot, an entry in fstab is a better choice.

/etc/fstab

UUID=6e55911a-2620-4ab6-b2b5-1458602e6252       /       ext4    defaults,noatime        0       1
UUID=0b4a75ba-8b74-47b1-8aaa-2d971f92732f       swap    swap    defaults        0       0
/dev/sda3    /mnt    auto defaults,noatime     0     0

If you have problems with drive order changing, replace /dev/sda3 with UUID=xxxxx  (where xxxxx is whatever uuid is shown for sda3 when you run blkid)

Offline

#16 2018-06-04 16:38:33

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,252  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

Ah, we've come full circle.

An entry in fstab was my first suggestion.

Online

#17 2018-06-05 12:51:28

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 132  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

Sorry if i  ...

This is what i did now:

GNU nano 2.7.4                            Fichero: /etc/fstab                                         

UUID=6e55911a-2620-4ab6-b2b5-1458602e6252       /       ext4    defaults,noatime        0       1
UUID=0b4a75ba-8b74-47b1-8aaa-2d971f92732f       swap    swap    defaults        0       0
/dev/sda3    /mnt    auto defaults,noatime     0     0

But now mxlinux do not even appear at the graphic ...

I”m not sure about what you said after run blkid:

root@kaos:/home/keos#  blkid
/dev/sda1: UUID="6e55911a-2620-4ab6-b2b5-1458602e6252" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="000f1103-01"
/dev/sda2: UUID="0b4a75ba-8b74-47b1-8aaa-2d971f92732f" TYPE="swap" PARTUUID="000f1103-02"
/dev/sda3: LABEL="MXLinux" UUID="66f3f330-78b2-4767-bc3e-8a9e7750e476" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="000f1103-03"
root@kaos:/home/keos# 

Do you means that i have to go into mxlinux and change what i have over there:

GNU nano 2.7.4                          Fichero: /etc/fstab                                       

# Pluggable devices are handled by uDev, they are not in fstab
/dev/sda3 / auto defaults,noatime 1 1

for something like this:

UUID="66f3f330-78b2-4767-bc3e-8a9e7750e476    /       ext4    defaults,noatime        0       1

devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#18 2018-06-05 13:07:26

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 873  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

keos wrote:

But now mxlinux do not even appear at the graphic ...

It won't show up on the desktop when it is mounted. Try 'ls /mnt' to see that it's there.

I”m not sure about what you said after run blkid:

root@kaos:/home/keos#  blkid
/dev/sda1: UUID="6e55911a-2620-4ab6-b2b5-1458602e6252" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="000f1103-01"
/dev/sda2: UUID="0b4a75ba-8b74-47b1-8aaa-2d971f92732f" TYPE="swap" PARTUUID="000f1103-02"
/dev/sda3: LABEL="MXLinux" UUID="66f3f330-78b2-4767-bc3e-8a9e7750e476" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="000f1103-03"
root@kaos:/home/keos# 

Do you means that i have to go into mxlinux and change what i have over there:

No. I mean you can edit devuan's fstab to use the uuid instead of /dev/sda3. If you only have one hard drive in the computer, you probably don't need to do this. (The order of hard drives can't change if there is only one.) You don't need to change anything in MX.

devuan's fstab: (be sure to remove the quotes around the uuid number)

UUID=6e55911a-2620-4ab6-b2b5-1458602e6252       /       ext4    defaults,noatime        0       1
UUID=0b4a75ba-8b74-47b1-8aaa-2d971f92732f       swap    swap    defaults        0       0
UUID=66f3f330-78b2-4767-bc3e-8a9e7750e476    /mnt    auto defaults,noatime     0     0

Since you have a label on the MX partition, you could do this instead:

UUID=6e55911a-2620-4ab6-b2b5-1458602e6252       /       ext4    defaults,noatime        0       1
UUID=0b4a75ba-8b74-47b1-8aaa-2d971f92732f       swap    swap    defaults        0       0
LABEL=MXLinux    /mnt    auto defaults,noatime     0     0

Offline

#19 2018-06-05 13:36:58

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 132  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

O'k, step by step, you need to know first what is there after:

root@kaos:/home/keos# ls /mnt
bin   build  etc   lib	  lost+found  mnt  proc  run   sys  usr
boot  dev    home  lib64  media       opt  root  sbin  tmp  var
root@kaos:/home/keos#

Any way i tried this, but without any result:

UUID=6e55911a-2620-4ab6-b2b5-1458602e6252       /       ext4    defaults,noatime        0       1
UUID=0b4a75ba-8b74-47b1-8aaa-2d971f92732f       swap    swap    defaults        0       0
LABEL=MXLinux    /mnt    auto defaults,noatime     0     0

Last edited by keos (2018-06-05 14:18:21)


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#20 2018-06-05 14:26:38

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 873  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

keos wrote:

O'k, step by step, you need to know first what is there after:

root@kaos:/home/keos# ls /mnt
bin   build  etc   lib	  lost+found  mnt  proc  run   sys  usr
boot  dev    home  lib64  media       opt  root  sbin  tmp  var
root@kaos:/home/keos#

That looks correct. You can confirm that it's mxlinux by looking in /mnt/home/keos and recognizing files in your mx home. Or look at other files under /mnt that you can identify as mx files, or run 'mount' or 'df -h' to show that the right partitions are mounted in the right place.

Any way i tried this, but without any result:

UUID=6e55911a-2620-4ab6-b2b5-1458602e6252       /       ext4    defaults,noatime        0       1
UUID=0b4a75ba-8b74-47b1-8aaa-2d971f92732f       swap    swap    defaults        0       0
LABEL=MXLinux    /mnt    auto defaults,noatime     0     0

What does "without any result" mean? Again, what's the output of df -h?

Offline

#21 2018-06-05 14:56:07

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 132  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

whithout any result means it is not displayed at the gestor of files

keos@kaos:~$ df -h
S.ficheros     Tamaño Usados  Disp Uso% Montado en
udev             1.7G      0  1.7G   0% /dev
tmpfs            343M   704K  342M   1% /run
/dev/sda1         95G   7.4G   83G   9% /
tmpfs            5.0M   4.0K  5.0M   1% /run/lock
tmpfs            895M      0  895M   0% /run/shm
/dev/sda3         95G   7.6G   83G   9% /mnt
tmpfs            1.7G      0  1.7G   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
tmpfs            343M   8.0K  343M   1% /run/user/1000
keos@kaos:~$ 

devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#22 2018-06-05 15:41:36

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,252  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

In your case, I'd use the label LABEL="MXLinux" which is human readable rather than UUID in your fstab.

Online

#23 2018-06-05 16:08:58

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 873  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

It is displayed on this line of your output:

/dev/sda3         95G   7.6G   83G   9% /mnt

The partition that holds MXLinux is mounted at /mnt. The files in your MX home are under /mnt/home/ and are available to you in Devuan. Is this not what you want?

Offline

#24 2018-06-05 16:55:05

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 132  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

Hi,

I'm not sure if i understand what you are saying ...

golinux, i did it before:

UUID=6e55911a-2620-4ab6-b2b5-1458602e6252       /       ext4    defaults,noatime        0       1
UUID=0b4a75ba-8b74-47b1-8aaa-2d971f92732f       swap    swap    defaults        0       0
LABEL=MXLinux    /mnt    auto defaults,noatime     0     0

fsmithred, look at this,

from MXLinux [this is what i want].


Captura_de_pantalla.png

you click at 'volumen 104' (Devuan) and that is all!!.

Thanks!

Last edited by keos (2018-06-05 16:57:02)


devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

#25 2018-06-05 17:05:02

keos
Member
Registered: 2017-06-16
Posts: 132  

Re: Problems going into another operative system. [solved]

Question:

and if from mxlinux i go to fstab and change what is over there:

# Pluggable devices are handled by uDev, they are not in fstab
/dev/sda3 / auto defaults,noatime 1 1

to this:

UUID=6e55911a-2620-4ab6-b2b5-1458602e6252       /       ext4    defaults,noatime        0       1
UUID=0b4a75ba-8b74-47b1-8aaa-2d971f92732f       swap    swap    defaults        0       0
LABEL=MXLinux    /mnt    auto defaults,noatime     0     0

devuan_ascii_2.0.0-rc_amd64_desktop-live.iso  [Xfce]

Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7640G integrated graphics
GPU: AMD/ATI Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]

Offline

Board footer