The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-11-20 15:58:06

makh
Member
Registered: 2017-10-08
Posts: 29

[SOLVED] <Ascii> xfce4-terminal; No Scroll bar

Hi

Theres no scroll bar, to see the previous terminal display.

Kindly any fix?

Thankyou

Last edited by makh (2017-11-22 06:29:54)


HP Probook 440 G2: Arch, Debian Stable
Others: Debian, Devuan Centos, Ubuntu, Opensuse
GUI: Openbox, Cinnamon, Xfce
Chroot: Debian, Ubuntu, Fedora

Offline

#2 2017-11-20 16:24:49

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 684

Re: [SOLVED] <Ascii> xfce4-terminal; No Scroll bar

The little bit I've played with ascii I've noticed that the scrollbar on some GTK3 apps (synaptic for one) is rather hidden and very thin even when it does appear.  So try playing with your mouse to see if that's the problem in your case.

Offline

#3 2017-11-20 16:34:41

cynwulf
Member
Registered: 2017-10-09
Posts: 107

Re: [SOLVED] <Ascii> xfce4-terminal; No Scroll bar

It's years since I've used it, but it's highly configurable from the menu.  e.g. you can enable the scrollbar change the colours, fonts and set it up as a login shell, etc.

You can also scroll any terminal emulator in the same way as a VT (usually by SHIFT+PgUp/PgDn).

Finally, for commands which spit out many lines, you may not have a large enough scroll back buffer, so either increase it or just pipe your command output to a pager such as less, e.g:

$ ls -al|less

Offline

#4 2017-11-21 03:42:47

makh
Member
Registered: 2017-10-08
Posts: 29

Re: [SOLVED] <Ascii> xfce4-terminal; No Scroll bar

Hi

Can anyone confirm, this issue is on his xfce also?


HP Probook 440 G2: Arch, Debian Stable
Others: Debian, Devuan Centos, Ubuntu, Opensuse
GUI: Openbox, Cinnamon, Xfce
Chroot: Debian, Ubuntu, Fedora

Offline

#5 2017-11-21 05:08:29

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 684

Re: [SOLVED] <Ascii> xfce4-terminal; No Scroll bar

makh wrote:

Hi

Can anyone confirm, this issue is on his xfce also?

No problem here with my xfce4-terminal in ascii.  As I suspected and mentioned above the scrollbar is nearly invisible until the lines go beyond the end of the page.  Then a very narrow nearly invisible gray bar only a few mm wide pops up.  Clicking on it turns the clearlooks color.  Move the cursor away and it's invisible again.  It's yet another GTK3 annoyance.  There are also several scrollbar options in Preferences so make sure it's not disabled there.

Offline

#6 2017-11-21 21:59:23

cynwulf
Member
Registered: 2017-10-09
Posts: 107

Re: [SOLVED] <Ascii> xfce4-terminal; No Scroll bar

Right click in the terminal window and select "show menu bar" if it's not already enabled.  Then from the menu bar select 'edit', 'preferences'.  You can then configure it to your liking...

Or find the related dotfile in ~/.config/xfce4/terminal/terminalrc

Three possible states for the scroll bar:

1.

ScrollingBar=TERMINAL_SCROLLBAR_LEFT

2.

ScrollingBar=TERMINAL_SCROLLBAR_NONE

3.
Unspecified (default position on the right)

And if you mess it up, just rm ~/.config/xfce4/terminal/terminalrc and start afresh.

Self explanatory?

Offline

#7 2017-11-22 06:29:33

makh
Member
Registered: 2017-10-08
Posts: 29

Re: [SOLVED] <Ascii> xfce4-terminal; No Scroll bar

Hi

Checking into:

Applications > Settings > Appearance > Style

I solved it by choosing:

Crux instead of "Clearlooks-Phenix-Purpy"

Strange there is no side bar for terminal in "crux", rest were working.


Thankyou


HP Probook 440 G2: Arch, Debian Stable
Others: Debian, Devuan Centos, Ubuntu, Opensuse
GUI: Openbox, Cinnamon, Xfce
Chroot: Debian, Ubuntu, Fedora

Offline

#8 2017-11-22 15:59:57

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 684

Re: [SOLVED] <Ascii> xfce4-terminal; No Scroll bar

Happy to hear that you got that sorted.  I hadn't thought to ask about themes other than mention the havoc that GTK3 is causing.  There are  many outdated, unusable themes in the repos.  I am just now getting around to theming ascii.  The wallpaper is almost finished then I'll move on to the window theme.  I already know that there are problems with CPP so will have to find something else to use as a base.

Offline

Board footer