The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-11-01 05:39:37

makh
Member
Registered: 2017-10-08
Posts: 19

(SOLVED) Systemd Library in Ascii

Hi

I have this library installed in Devuan Ascii.

libsystemd0:amd64

Are these components still in devuan?

Last edited by makh (2017-11-02 05:53:08)


HP Probook 440 G2: Arch, Debian Stable
Past: Debian, Centos, Ubuntu, Opensuse
GUI: Openbox, Cinnamon
VM: Devuan

Offline

#2 2017-11-01 08:25:37

cynwulf
Member
Registered: 2017-10-09
Posts: 98

Re: (SOLVED) Systemd Library in Ascii

If you've found it installed, that would suggest that it is in fact installed.

Offline

#3 2017-11-01 14:54:12

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 645

Re: (SOLVED) Systemd Library in Ascii

Yes, libsystemd0 is passively there not doing anything (so far) but systemd is not.  There are other remnants of systemd libs etc, scattered here and there like dead barnacles on a boat.  Not ideal but not enough (wo)man power to clean out the cruft which requires it.   This has been discussed MANY times over the years. Search on irc and dng etc.

Offline

#4 2017-11-01 16:01:01

cynwulf
Member
Registered: 2017-10-09
Posts: 98

Re: (SOLVED) Systemd Library in Ascii

How about checking why it's installed?

$ aptitude why libsystemd0

Offline

#5 2017-11-01 16:17:32

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 645

Re: (SOLVED) Systemd Library in Ascii

$ aptitude why libsystemd0
i   libpulse0 Depends libsystemd0

I think that vlc might need that.  pulseaudio is not installed.  But that's on jessie and Lydia_K cleared out most systemd deps.  Rinse and repeat needed for ascii

Offline

#6 2017-11-01 16:39:30

cynwulf
Member
Registered: 2017-10-09
Posts: 98

Re: (SOLVED) Systemd Library in Ascii

Do the same for libpulse0.

Offline

#7 2017-11-01 16:47:23

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 645

Re: (SOLVED) Systemd Library in Ascii

Ha!  Wasn't expecting this!

$ aptitude why libpulse0
i   qemu-system-x86 Depends libpulse0 (>= 0.99.1)

Offline

#8 2017-11-01 16:56:05

cynwulf
Member
Registered: 2017-10-09
Posts: 98

Re: (SOLVED) Systemd Library in Ascii

It looks like qemu was compiled with pulseaudio support, that's going to be the case with most Debian packages.

All very simple in your case however - getting rid of qemu would enable you to remove libpulse0 and libsystemd0.

However, as you've guessed, those libs don't do a whole lot on their own.  If you have pulseaudio installed however, libpulse0 is of some use. libsystemd0 however is cruft without systemd installed.

Offline

#9 2017-11-01 18:37:45

greenjeans
Member
Registered: 2017-04-07
Posts: 355
Website

Re: (SOLVED) Systemd Library in Ascii

libpulse0 gets dragged in with some of the media programs, VLC will do it.  My basic understanding from the documentation is that it's just there to translate if you are on a network and trying to deal with another machine that uses pulseaudio. In practice though it will dump a pulsecookie on you and make itself at home in your Home. I left part of it since VLC wants it but de-fanged it so it doesn't poop out pulsecookies every session.


https://sourceforge.net/projects/vuu-do/
Vuu-do GNU/Linux, minimal 64 and 32 bit Devuan-based openbox and mate systems to build on, maximal versions if you prefer your linux fully-loaded.

Please donate to support Devuan and init freedom! https://devuan.org/os/donate

Offline

#10 2017-11-01 18:42:51

greenjeans
Member
Registered: 2017-04-07
Posts: 355
Website

Re: (SOLVED) Systemd Library in Ascii

cynwulf wrote:

How about checking why it's installed?

$ aptitude why libsystemd0

Is there a way to do this if you don't have aptitude installed? I don't see a similar apt command....


https://sourceforge.net/projects/vuu-do/
Vuu-do GNU/Linux, minimal 64 and 32 bit Devuan-based openbox and mate systems to build on, maximal versions if you prefer your linux fully-loaded.

Please donate to support Devuan and init freedom! https://devuan.org/os/donate

Offline

#11 2017-11-02 05:52:44

makh
Member
Registered: 2017-10-08
Posts: 19

Re: (SOLVED) Systemd Library in Ascii

golinux wrote:

Yes, libsystemd0 is passively there not doing anything (so far) but systemd is not.  There are other remnants of systemd libs etc, scattered here and there like dead barnacles on a boat.  Not ideal but not enough (wo)man power to clean out the cruft which requires it.   This has been discussed MANY times over the years. Search on irc and dng etc.

Thankyou


HP Probook 440 G2: Arch, Debian Stable
Past: Debian, Centos, Ubuntu, Opensuse
GUI: Openbox, Cinnamon
VM: Devuan

Offline

#12 2017-11-02 16:36:23

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 442

Re: (SOLVED) Systemd Library in Ascii

greenjeans wrote:
cynwulf wrote:

How about checking why it's installed?

$ aptitude why libsystemd0

Is there a way to do this if you don't have aptitude installed? I don't see a similar apt command....

Not exactly the same, but it lists packages that depend on lsd0:

apt-cache rdepends libsystemd0

You may have to chase down some dependency trails until you recognize something that you know is installed.

Offline

Board footer