The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-10-30 12:36:53

fredg
Member
From: /france/lyon
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 4
Website

ifup wait at boot

Hello,

I am running Devuan Ascii on a laptop.

The boot process is a little bit long because of ifup.

When I boot with eth0 cable unplugged in the bootup log sequence I get:

Configuring network interfaces...
ifup: waiting for lock on /run/network/interfaces/ifstate.eth0

Then, the boot wait for about 1 min and I got the message:

ifup: interface eth0 already configured

And, boot continues.

f@g:~$ cat /etc/network/interfaces
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

Any clue ?

++

Offline

#2 2017-10-30 12:50:50

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 553

Re: ifup wait at boot

Replace 'allow-hotplug' with 'auto'.

Offline

#3 2017-10-30 13:05:30

fredg
Member
From: /france/lyon
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 4
Website

Re: ifup wait at boot

When done, it hangs a bit on :

DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255?255.255.255....

So, as wicd manage the network on the laptop, I have chosen to remove all eth0 related things on the config file. And, of course, it works wink
Is it a good way or not ?

++

Offline

#4 2017-10-30 13:50:57

cynwulf
Member
Registered: 2017-10-09
Posts: 136

Re: ifup wait at boot

The interfaces config file sources /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

What files do you have in that directory?

As you use a network connection manager (wicd), you can safely comment out all the lines from the interfaces file, as you have done.

You could also setup eth0 as fsmithred suggested and also add your wlan device, essid and psk.  But if you're not just wired but also connecting to lots of different wireless APs (public wifi, etc) it's probably better to stick with wicd.

Last edited by cynwulf (2017-10-30 13:51:42)

Offline

#5 2017-10-30 13:57:02

fredg
Member
From: /france/lyon
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 4
Website

Re: ifup wait at boot

The interfaces config file sources /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

What files do you have in that directory?

No files.

Ok for the advices. Thank you very much.

++

Offline

#6 2017-12-19 00:19:26

MiyoLinux
Member
Registered: 2016-12-05
Posts: 445

Re: ifup wait at boot

I've tried everything in this thread, and none of it helped me with the delay at start-up in Ascii.

As I build all of my systems from a base system, there have been times that I haven't experienced the delay on some Ascii builds, but at other times, I did.

So, I compared a "delay build" with a "no-delay build". I eventually ended up replacing the "network" file in a "delay build" with the one from a "no-delay build" found in /etc/intid.d/networking.

That got rid of the delay, and the boot process flies again to my login screen. However, I now have a "Failure" notification in networking during the boot process. It goes so fast that I can't catch enough of it to write it down. Yet, networking works perfectly after booting into the desktop. Might take some more investigating.


I have been Devuanated, and my practice in the art of Devuanism shall continue until my Devuanization is complete. Until then, I will strive to continue in my understanding of Devuanchology, Devuanprocity, and Devuanivity.

Veni, vidi, vici vdevuaned. I came, I saw, I Devuaned. wink

Offline

#7 2017-12-19 00:41:52

golinux
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 786

Re: ifup wait at boot

Are you booting without a connection?  https://lists.dyne.org/lurker/message/2 … ed.en.html

Offline

#8 2017-12-19 00:48:11

MiyoLinux
Member
Registered: 2016-12-05
Posts: 445

Re: ifup wait at boot

golinux wrote:

Are you booting without a connection?  https://lists.dyne.org/lurker/message/2 … ed.en.html

Well, on my builds with the delay, the delay only occurred if the Ethernet wasn't plugged in. If I had an Ethernet wire plugged in, there was no delay. Still haven't figured out why some builds have this issue and some don't.


I have been Devuanated, and my practice in the art of Devuanism shall continue until my Devuanization is complete. Until then, I will strive to continue in my understanding of Devuanchology, Devuanprocity, and Devuanivity.

Veni, vidi, vici vdevuaned. I came, I saw, I Devuaned. wink

Offline

#9 2017-12-19 01:40:44

ralph.ronnquist
Administrator
From: Clifton Hill, Victoria, AUS
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 149

Re: ifup wait at boot

Just a little bit of background:

When '/etc/network/interfaces' (or any one of its sourced files) includes a line "auto eth0", it is a signal to the networking init script, that it should bring up eth0 on boot. That init script has been improved to not consider the cable status, but simply bring up the interface and run dhclient for getting it configured.

When '/etc/network/interfaces' (or any one of its sourced files) includes a line "allow-hotplug eth0", it is a signal to udev, that it should bring up eth0 on boot (and also keep monitoring for later cable events). Its control script has been improved to not consider the cable status, but simply bring up the interface and run dhclient for getting it configured.

Of course, dhclient is only used as part of bringing up the interface if '/etc/network/interfaces' also has the line 'iface eth0 inet dhcp'.

If you are using a network manager, then you should avoid telling the networking init script or udev to bring up eth0, but rather let the network manager daemon deal with it. Whether that induces a boot delay or not depends on whether it has been improved in parity with the scripts.

btw, for the sake of clarity: I write 'improved' but I mean 'destroyed'.

Offline

#10 2017-12-19 02:18:56

MiyoLinux
Member
Registered: 2016-12-05
Posts: 445

Re: ifup wait at boot

ralph.ronnquist wrote:

Just a little bit of background:

When '/etc/network/interfaces' (or any one of its sourced files) includes a line "auto eth0", it is a signal to the networking init script, that it should bring up eth0 on boot. That init script has been improved to not consider the cable status, but simply bring up the interface and run dhclient for getting it configured.

When '/etc/network/interfaces' (or any one of its sourced files) includes a line "allow-hotplug eth0", it is a signal to udev, that it should bring up eth0 on boot (and also keep monitoring for later cable events). Its control script has been improved to not consider the cable status, but simply bring up the interface and run dhclient for getting it configured.

Of course, dhclient is only used as part of bringing up the interface if '/etc/network/interfaces' also has the line 'iface eth0 inet dhcp'.

If you are using a network manager, then you should avoid telling the networking init script or udev to bring up eth0, but rather let the network manager daemon deal with it. Whether that induces a boot delay or not depends on whether it has been improved in parity with the scripts.

btw, for the sake of clarity: I write 'improved' but I mean 'destroyed'.

Thank you r.r; I appreciate it sir.

Yet, I'm still confused. Yes, I include a network manager in my builds; however, I follow a guideline in how I build. Therefore, all builds are the same, yet some builds have this delay while others don't. Strange...strange indeed. smile


I have been Devuanated, and my practice in the art of Devuanism shall continue until my Devuanization is complete. Until then, I will strive to continue in my understanding of Devuanchology, Devuanprocity, and Devuanivity.

Veni, vidi, vici vdevuaned. I came, I saw, I Devuaned. wink

Offline

#11 2017-12-20 21:30:01

greenjeans
Member
Registered: 2017-04-07
Posts: 408
Website

Re: ifup wait at boot

MiyoLinux wrote:

Thank you r.r; I appreciate it sir.

Yet, I'm still confused. Yes, I include a network manager in my builds; however, I follow a guideline in how I build. Therefore, all builds are the same, yet some builds have this delay while others don't. Strange...strange indeed. smile

Well now i'm confused. All my Vuu-do builds trace back to the original Miyolinux I started with, and I have never experienced this issue.

Just for clarity though: The builds were started offline completely, from a clean install of Miyolinux (liveCD), and never to this day have I plugged in an ethernet cable to the laptop I build with, all updating is done through wi-fi.

I do delete a LOT of stuff that might otherwise stay in a normal install, especially before I roll an iso, my Refracta-excludes file is relentless.

Last edited by greenjeans (2017-12-20 21:32:49)


https://sourceforge.net/projects/vuu-do/
Vuu-do GNU/Linux, minimal 64 and 32 bit Devuan-based openbox and mate systems to build on, maximal versions if you prefer your linux fully-loaded.

Please donate to support Devuan and init freedom! https://devuan.org/os/donate

Offline

Board footer