The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-07-29 10:48:06

lea0342

Questions for switching from Arch Linux to Devuan

First of all sorry for the long post!

Hello, I've been using Arch Linux since mid 2007, mainly for personal use, but in recent years, for work in coding. I do Testing Automation in Java.

As an Arch Linux user, i'm used to the latest versions of applications and so many updates on a daily basis, that gives me a sense of my system to have security fixes for the applications i use. Also i use some applications from the AUR, but not so much, mainly some games like Doom and Quake source ports, and Google Chrome as I need it to test sites at work.

In recent times i've less and less time to fiddle with my computers, 2 at home and 3 at work, (2 little sons... building our own house... etc) and the idea of stop using a rolling release distribution, with stable packages, in which i can only install what i need is more and more appealing to me, as i really don't need the bleeding edge of Arch. Also, i've a passion for open source and love that Debian/Devuan have separate repositories for "main contrib non-free" software, and that the kernel doesn't have any closed source blobs.

I've configured and using Devuan in a vm for some days now, and installing the base system, with xorg, openbox, tint2 and suckless-tools was different from Arch, yes, but amazingly fun to learn, fun that i didn't have in a lot of time with linux.

With that background, i have some questions and/or concepts about Debian/Devuan that i wanted to know your opinions to learn more.

-Build applications that are not in the repos: