The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2023-11-02 09:14:25

vanbinsbergen
Member
Registered: 2023-08-16
Posts: 15  

How to set default desktop?

Guys,

If i search internet people sent me to /usr/share/xsession but that's not the case in devuan i presume. File doesn't exists it says.

I'd like to set cinnamon as my default desktop

How is setting a default desktop done in devuan?

Offline

#2 2023-11-02 13:36:07

The-Amnesiac-Philosopher
Member
Registered: 2023-08-24
Posts: 309  

Re: How to set default desktop?

Do you have a .dmrc file in your HOME folder?

If so, you can set it there.

I've never used Cinnamon, so I don't know what should be written there to set Cinnamon as the default...sorry. Here's what is written in my .dmrc file...

[Desktop]
Session=kwin-session

I'm using kwin as a standalone window manager. If you can find out what needs to be written for the Cinnamon desktop to be the default, you many need to log out (or reboot) for it to take effect.

Also, if you're using lightdm as your session manager, it "should" set Cinnamon as the default if you choose it???

Hope that helps in some way.

Last edited by The-Amnesiac-Philosopher (2023-11-02 13:37:52)

Offline

#3 2023-11-02 13:54:23

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 1,114  

Re: How to set default desktop?

I am using Cinnamon with Lighdm, no other DE installed. Then the default is Cinnamon. Haven't changed or configured anything. Is so by installation.

Last edited by rolfie (2023-11-02 13:55:10)

Offline

#4 2023-11-02 15:14:39

Andre4freedom
Member
Registered: 2017-11-15
Posts: 155  

Re: How to set default desktop?

Just a brief note:
When you do as rolfie did, then it's easy to use tasksel to add a second desktop environment (as I say, just add another environment. don't de-select anything there!).
The installation-script will then ask which shall be your preferred DE. (at least, it did so with earlier versions of Devuan)
I guess you have done a standard install by booting a Devuan iso image-file.

Offline

#5 2023-11-02 16:55:59

Gregors
Member
From: Freiburg, Germany
Registered: 2018-08-09
Posts: 41  
Website

Re: How to set default desktop?

vanbinsbergen wrote:

Guys,
How is setting a default desktop done in devuan?

I think you should be able to do this by installing a login manager that lets you choose which desktop environment to use. I think gdm may be a good choice.

HTH

Gregor

Offline

#6 2023-11-03 16:41:52

Andre4freedom
Member
Registered: 2017-11-15
Posts: 155  

Re: How to set default desktop?

I have to correct myself:
when installing another DE to an existing Devuan / Cinnamon installation, you don't even have to configure anything:
Install another DE using tasksel and lightdm will let you choose the DE on the login-screen. And it keeps the last selection.

If you start with a Devuan / XFCE installation, you will have SLIM as Display Manager (DM, or also Login Manager).
There you can add a second DE as well.
If you prefer the more comfortable lightdm as Display Manager, THEN the install process will ask you which DM you prefer as the default: lightdm or slim .

Adding another DE (Desktop Environment) is best done using tasksel.
Adding or substituting the DM (Display Manager) can be done using apt.

Should work with GDM as well(?)
Good luck.

Offline

#7 2023-11-04 07:51:25

vanbinsbergen
Member
Registered: 2023-08-16
Posts: 15  

Re: How to set default desktop?

Tanks ya all

I didn't knew tasksel existed. That's easy stuff! deselect all other then cinnamon, all will be removed. Select cinnamon, cinamon will be installed (again)

But.. all other then cinnamon are still there and cinnamon is not the default when i check with F1.

Thanks

Last edited by vanbinsbergen (2023-11-04 08:05:22)

Offline

#8 2023-11-04 12:18:42

RobertTVarga
Member
Registered: 2023-11-04
Posts: 1  

Re: How to set default desktop?

Hi,

I just was searching for answers on Google regarding on DM situation to change from Slim, as it is an abandonware since 2013, and instead, I found the help right here by reading a few minutes on this forum. Kudos to everyone and thank you so much for your helping hands!

I dig the Devuan experience as for the distro!

Offline

#9 2023-11-04 14:07:20

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 1,114  

Re: How to set default desktop?

LightDM is a good choice. I am using it on Mate or Cinnamon since many years now.

Offline

Board footer