The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2022-12-31 13:20:12

Mike-thinky
Member
Registered: 2021-10-28
Posts: 53  

[SOLVED] HP envy 360 with ryzen and radeon multiple issues Q

Hi

bought a cheap light laptop recently, trying to get Daedalus onto it currently.

The native resolution of the display is 1980x1080, BUT xrandr insists it is only capable of 1024x768, makes it hard to do things as it makes a lot less text visible, any tips to force it to behave? I found some posts from 2017, but it just said change the config, but did not name the files that held the config...

Also, currently the wifi does not work, so I need to update the realtek driver, but having problems getting xfce/thunar to run gdebi.

Also having problems getting linux-headers-$(uname -r) to work, it seems to not see the $(anything) part, any ideas how to fix that?

currently running the mobile tethered to it, so unable to easily copy across any info from it.

Any usable suggestions welcome, would like to learn how to fix these issues.

Offline

#2 2022-12-31 13:36:48

ralph.ronnquist
Administrator
From: Clifton Hill, Victoria, AUS
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 868  

Re: [SOLVED] HP envy 360 with ryzen and radeon multiple issues Q

For the display you could try adding your own mode line with something like the following

# xrandr --newmode 1920x1080  173.00  1920 2048 2248 2576  1080 1083 1088 1120 -hsync +vsync
# xrandr --addmode LVDS 1920x1080
# xrandr --output LVDS --mode 1920x1080

You obtain the details for the "newmode" line with cvt, and I guessed on "LVDS" as your output name, but xrandr tells you what that is. The command sequence is 1) define the mode line, 2) attach it as an option for an output, and 3) select that mode line for the output.

hth

Offline

#3 2022-12-31 14:15:29

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 3,097  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] HP envy 360 with ryzen and radeon multiple issues Q

Mike-thinky wrote:

The native resolution of the display is 1980x1080, BUT xrandr insists it is only capable of 1024x768

That suggests that either the driver or firmware isn't loaded. The 2022-12-26 daedalus ISO includes the non-free firmware, did you try that?

For the driver and firmware use these commands to check:

# dmesg | grep firmware
$ lspci -knn | grep -iA3 'vga\|3d\|display'
Mike-thinky wrote:

Also, currently the wifi does not work, so I need to update the realtek driver

Again, could be firmware so

lspci -knn | grep -iA3 net

Generally speaking it's best to use the driver from the kernel but it is sometimes necessary to build your own.

Mike-thinky wrote:

Also having problems getting linux-headers-$(uname -r) to work

Only shit guides give that advice :-)

Use this instead:

# apt install module-assistant
# m-a prepare

^ That will pull in everything you need to build custom kernel modules.

EDIT: if you want to share command line output then use the pastebinit package to upload the output and share the returned URL here. The ArchWiki shows a version that will work with plain curl: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/List_o … n_services

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2022-12-31 14:19:44)


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII, 18.

Offline

#4 2022-12-31 15:05:17

Mike-thinky
Member
Registered: 2021-10-28
Posts: 53  

Re: [SOLVED] HP envy 360 with ryzen and radeon multiple issues Q

well dmesg | grep firmware tells me that the firmware didnt get installed along the way.
The iso did give some error messages about a list that was missing, but that was two or three days ago

Ahh, just done an update again, and it tells me that deb.devuan.org/merged daedalus-updates Release gives a 404, and then does not have a release file, so cannot update securely

So I need to fix the updates first so that it can get to non-free somehow, then I may be able to see what I am doing, these days I find the 1024x768 postage stamp display hard to work with...

etc/apt/sources.list has deb.devuan.org/merged daedalus(&-updates, on the next line) main contrib non-free    ( all enabled)

Last edited by Mike-thinky (2022-12-31 15:09:25)

Offline

#5 2022-12-31 15:16:21

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 759  

Re: [SOLVED] HP envy 360 with ryzen and radeon multiple issues Q

Have a look at https://www.devuan.org/os/packages. For Daedalus the sources.list must contain the main repo line only.

deb http://deb.devuan.org/merged daedalus          main contrib non-free

That will do the job.

Last edited by rolfie (2022-12-31 16:20:16)

Offline

#6 2022-12-31 15:28:59

Mike-thinky
Member
Registered: 2021-10-28
Posts: 53  

Re: [SOLVED] HP envy 360 with ryzen and radeon multiple issues Q

rolfie wrote:

Have a look at https://www.devuan.org/os/packages. For Daedalus the sources.list must contain the main repo line only.

deb http://deb.devuan.org/merged daedalus          main contrib non-free

That will do the job.

Well it has that in the list, and somehow it has got the linux headers in advance of the current install:
uname -r by itself works, and tells me 6.0.0.6-amd64

whilst as part of a script it fails, grr,
but apt install linux-headers-6.0.0.6-amd64 tells me the system is already at the newest version, 6.0.12-1. which surely wont work?

well I removed all linux headers, then added
apt install linux-headers-6.0.0.6-amd64
and ended up with the same headers, so they must be right.

First step is getting the amd non-free binary installed I think.

Last edited by Mike-thinky (2022-12-31 15:31:46)

Offline

#7 2022-12-31 15:52:59

Mike-thinky
Member
Registered: 2021-10-28
Posts: 53  

Re: [SOLVED] HP envy 360 with ryzen and radeon multiple issues Q

Am I better off re-installing as Chimeara? Daedalus seems not quite ready yet for less mainstream kit.

Offline

#8 2022-12-31 15:57:43

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 759  

Re: [SOLVED] HP envy 360 with ryzen and radeon multiple issues Q

Well, you are getting confused by mixing up two naming schemes.

1.) There is the Debian way to name their kernel/header packages: 6.0.0.6-amd64 tells you its the 6th version of the 6.0.0 kernel. This is a very Debian specific way to name the deb package.
2.) Linked to that is the official naming scheme by Linus: 6.0.12-1 corresponds to the 6.0.0.6 Debian package.

To avoid too much confusion, you might consider using dummy packages for kernel and header that make sure always the correct version is updated: linux-image-amd64 and linux-headers-amd64.

You might consider installing build-essentials or dkms, these packages also pull in the headers.

Last edited by rolfie (2022-12-31 16:04:19)

Offline

#9 2022-12-31 16:03:05

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 759  

Re: [SOLVED] HP envy 360 with ryzen and radeon multiple issues Q

Mike-thinky wrote:

Am I better off re-installing as Chimeara? Daedalus seems not quite ready yet for less mainstream kit.

Why? I have got my main desktop running Daedalus for more than a month now without major problems, my laptop is on Daedalus for 3 months now, and I am just installing Daedalus on an older AM3+ PC for test purposes.
You have run into one or the other misunderstanding or slight mistake, but I see nothing that cannot be sorted. Attack it one by one ...

Offline

#10 2022-12-31 16:05:27

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 3,097  
Website

Re: [SOLVED] HP envy 360 with ryzen and radeon multiple issues Q

Mike-thinky wrote:

Am I better off re-installing as Chimeara?

Yes. Especially if you're not going to listen to suggestions and advice. The daedalus branch is still testing, the bookworm freeze doesn't start until next month, so it should probably only be used by people who know what they're doing. Or people who don't mind gratuitous random breakage.


“Et ignotas animum dimittit in artes.” — Ovid, Metamorphoses, VIII, 18.

Offline

#11 2022-12-31 16:18:37

Mike-thinky
Member
Registered: 2021-10-28
Posts: 53  

Re: [SOLVED] HP envy 360 with ryzen and radeon multiple issues Q

Well I have been following instructions.

I have found out that it is not pulling in the non-free that is declared in the sources.list
it already had

deb http://deb.devuan.org/merged daedalus          main contrib non-free

even before I did the update & upgrade tango

The scripts, even on this site call for linux-headers-$(uname-r), but for some reason, on this iso it does not work.
I have now found I do have the latest headers when I can fix the problem with gdebi on xfce.

But before that I need to fix the resolution. It has not pulled in the non-free, so presumably I need to force it to understand what hardware is present.

Offline

#12 2022-12-31 16:28:21

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 759  

Re: [SOLVED] HP envy 360 with ryzen and radeon multiple issues Q

If non-free isn't pulled e.g. because of a typo or the repo being off you should get an error. apt update tells me:

# apt update
Holen:1 http://deb.devuan.org/merged daedalus InRelease [38,9 kB]
Ign:2 http://deb.devuan.org/merged daedalus/main amd64 Packages
Ign:3 http://deb.devuan.org/merged daedalus/main i386 Packages
Holen:4 http://deb.devuan.org/merged daedalus/contrib i386 Packages [47,3 kB]
Holen:5 http://deb.devuan.org/merged daedalus/contrib amd64 Packages [53,3 kB]
Holen:6 http://deb.devuan.org/merged daedalus/non-free amd64 Packages [117 kB]
Holen:7 http://deb.devuan.org/merged daedalus/non-free i386 Packages [90,5 kB]
Holen:2 http://deb.devuan.org/merged daedalus/main amd64 Packages [8.950 kB]

There just was a sync problem with the i386 main repo.

Check your sources.list thoroughly and show us what you are getting on apt update ...

Last edited by rolfie (2022-12-31 16:29:15)

Offline

#13 2022-12-31 16:51:05

Mike-thinky
Member
Registered: 2021-10-28
Posts: 53  

Re: [SOLVED] HP envy 360 with ryzen and radeon multiple issues Q

Well apt update gives me get:1 ... InRelease [39kb]
Ign:2 http://deb.devuan.org/merged daedalus-updates InRelease
Err:3 ditto
404 Not Found[IP: 89.174.102.150 80]
last time it was a different ip address, with another 404
get:4 http:(as above) daedalus/main and64 Packages [8,948 kB]
Reding package lists... done
Then a warning about repository not having a release file, and the update cant be done securely

With broken wifi, and waiting for an ebay usb/ethernet dongle, copying is going to be painful and slow

Offline

#14 2022-12-31 17:03:23

aluma
Member
Registered: 2022-10-26
Posts: 119  

Re: [SOLVED] HP envy 360 with ryzen and radeon multiple issues Q

Offline

#15 2022-12-31 17:15:38

rolfie
Member
Registered: 2017-11-25
Posts: 759  

Re: [SOLVED] HP envy 360 with ryzen and radeon multiple issues Q

Chimaera also will fail if you haven't got a reliable network connection. With wifi not working you need a wired connection. Wait for the dongle to arrive ...

Offline

#16 2022-12-31 17:17:06

Mike-thinky
Member
Registered: 2021-10-28
Posts: 53  

Re: [SOLVED] HP envy 360 with ryzen and radeon multiple issues Q

finally half sorted, I had to comment out the daedalus-updates line,

Then it let me update a file,
Then I listed apt list *amd*
and found firmware-amd-graphics, which it did not call me out and say it was upgradeable...

Anyway I have some acceptable resolution now, so easier to find out what is wrong with gdebi, as a way of updating the wireless.

following this thread:  https://dev1galaxy.org/viewtopic.php?id=4900

The final suggestion from HOAS did not work for me...

so I tried an install of gdebi again, this time it pulled in lots of stuff, and worked, yay

I have the mx19 and the mx21 deb files, does it matter which one I use?
I am hoping this will work too.

I have revisited dmeg | grep firmware, there is a missing driver for an rtw_8822be
and also an error in the mwrepo.com/mx/repo/pool/main/r/rtl8821ce returned exit status 10

Last edited by Mike-thinky (2022-12-31 18:03:23)

Offline

#17 2022-12-31 18:15:50

Mike-thinky
Member
Registered: 2021-10-28
Posts: 53  

Re: [SOLVED] HP envy 360 with ryzen and radeon multiple issues Q

well I installed libmtp-runtime.
then reinstalled firmware-realtek
and rebooted, solved, I now have wifi too.

Last edited by Mike-thinky (2022-12-31 18:16:44)

Offline

Board footer