The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#51 2022-10-16 18:00:43

aitor
Member
From: basque country
Registered: 2016-12-03
Posts: 219  
Website

Re: No Sound ALSA

aitor wrote:
aitor wrote:

One question arises: why do we need to rename the *.ko?
Better workarounds...?

I'm referring to this:

using modprobe with hyphens the later use of lsmod didn't list anything

I mean, using hyphens in the module name, it's not listed by lsmod

I answer myself:

# echo "alias snd-hda-codec-cs8409 snd_hda_codec_cs8409" >> /lib/modules/${kernel_version}/modules.alias

I see lots of aliases replacing hyphens by underscores in the modules.alias. Therefore, the workaround in the install target of the Makefile is superfluous if we add an alias for the driver.

c'est fini...?

Last edited by aitor (2022-10-16 18:02:07)


If you work systematically, things will come by itself (Lev D. Landau)

Offline

#52 2022-10-16 18:13:21

tux
Member
Registered: 2022-10-01
Posts: 45  

Re: No Sound ALSA

Now we are going to modify the install target in the Makefile, renaming the module before it's installation:

install:
	mkdir -p $(KDIR)/updates/
	mv snd-hda-codec-cs8409.ko snd_hda_codec_cs8409.ko
	cp snd_hda_codec_cs8409.ko $(KDIR)/updates/
	depmod -a

cd /usr/src/snd....... dir
mkdir -p $(KDIR)/updates/

error output
sudo mkdir -p $(KDIR)/updates/
bash: KDIR: command not found

Offline

#53 2022-10-16 18:35:39

aitor
Member
From: basque country
Registered: 2016-12-03
Posts: 219  
Website

Re: No Sound ALSA

tux wrote:

Now we are going to modify the install target in the Makefile, renaming the module before it's installation:

install:
	mkdir -p $(KDIR)/updates/
	mv snd-hda-codec-cs8409.ko snd_hda_codec_cs8409.ko
	cp snd_hda_codec_cs8409.ko $(KDIR)/updates/
	depmod -a

cd /usr/src/snd....... dir
mkdir -p $(KDIR)/updates/

error output
sudo mkdir -p $(KDIR)/updates/
bash: KDIR: command not found

No, no... You don't have to run this code. Make will do, because it's part of the Makefile. The recipes concerning to the install target. However, you can leave the Makefile as is, and use modprobe and lsmod without underscores:

# modprobe snd-hda-codec-cs8409
$ lsmod | grep snd-hda-codec-cs8409

But then you have to create an alias by adding the line:

alias snd-hda-codec-cs8409 snd_hda_codec_cs8409

to the modprobes.alias of the running kernel, located in /lib/modules/${kernel_version}/, as I explained previously.

Last edited by aitor (2022-10-16 18:38:17)


If you work systematically, things will come by itself (Lev D. Landau)

Offline

#54 2022-10-16 19:13:44

tux
Member
Registered: 2022-10-01
Posts: 45  

Re: No Sound ALSA

install worked

lsmod | grep snd_hda_codec_cs8409
snd_hda_codec_cs8409   163840  0
snd_hda_codec_generic    98304  2 snd_hda_codec_cs8409
snd_hda_codec         176128  3 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_cs8409,snd_hda_intel
snd_hda_core          110592  4 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_cs8409,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec

longer version

lsmod | grep snd
snd_hda_codec_cs8409   163840  0
snd_hda_codec_generic    98304  2 snd_hda_codec_cs8409
ledtrig_audio          16384  1 snd_hda_codec_generic
snd_hda_intel          57344  3
snd_intel_dspcfg       32768  1 snd_hda_intel
snd_intel_sdw_acpi     20480  1 snd_intel_dspcfg
snd_hda_codec         176128  3 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_cs8409,snd_hda_intel
snd_hda_core          110592  4 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_cs8409,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_hwdep              16384  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm_oss            65536  0
snd_mixer_oss          28672  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm               155648  4 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_core
snd_timer              45056  1 snd_pcm
snd                   118784  14 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hwdep,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_timer,snd_pcm_oss,snd_pcm,snd_mixer_oss
soundcore              16384  1 snd

then reboot and sound tests

Last edited by tux (2022-10-16 19:16:29)

Offline

#55 2022-10-16 19:54:49

tux
Member
Registered: 2022-10-01
Posts: 45  

Re: No Sound ALSA

aitor nice work, I think one final edit of your first post with correct revisions. then site admins should add this very helpful guide to https://www.devuan.org/os/documentation/dev1fanboy/ page.

I used hyphens for the /usr/src/snd.... dir folder name.

switch alsamixer pulseaudio default to card: HDA Intel PCH chip:Cirrus Logic CS8409
one PCM volume unmuted

no sound after reboot

speaker-test -c2 -t wave                           

speaker-test 1.2.4

Playback device is default
Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 2 channels
WAV file(s)
Rate set to 48000Hz (requested 48000Hz)
Buffer size range from 96 to 1048576
Period size range from 32 to 349526
Using max buffer size 1048576
Periods = 4
was set period_size = 262144
was set buffer_size = 1048576
 0 - Front Left
 1 - Front Right
Time per period = 4.433372
 0 - Front Left
 1 - Front Right
Time per period = 4.391042
 0 - Front Left
 1 - Front Right
Time per period = 4.394210
 0 - Front Left
 1 - Front Right
Time per period = 4.386391
 0 - Front Left
 1 - Front Right
Time per period = 4.393002
 0 - Front Left
 1 - Front Right
Time per period = 4.389116
 0 - Front Left
 1 - Front Right
Time per period = 4.394633
 0 - Front Left
 1 - Front Right
Time per period = 4.394972
 0 - Front Left
 1 - Front Right
Time per period = 4.390509
 0 - Front Left
 1 - Front Right

Offline

#56 2022-10-16 21:46:54

aitor
Member
From: basque country
Registered: 2016-12-03
Posts: 219  
Website

Re: No Sound ALSA

tux wrote:

no sound after reboot

Unfortunately sad


If you work systematically, things will come by itself (Lev D. Landau)

Offline

#57 2022-10-17 08:32:15

Camtaf
Member
Registered: 2019-11-19
Posts: 408  

Re: No Sound ALSA

I assume you did save your choice - alsactrl store

https://linux.die.net/man/1/alsactl

Offline

#58 2022-10-17 21:14:10

aitor
Member
From: basque country
Registered: 2016-12-03
Posts: 219  
Website

Re: No Sound ALSA

tux wrote:

no sound after reboot

speaker-test -c2 -t wave
...

The following command sends ramdom noise output to hw:0,0 (i.e. :<card>,<device>)

$ aplay /dev/urandom -f dat -D hw:0,0
Playing raw data '/dev/urandom' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 48000 Hz, Stereo
^CAborted by signal Interrupción...

Last edited by aitor (2022-10-17 21:15:27)


If you work systematically, things will come by itself (Lev D. Landau)

Offline

#59 2022-10-17 22:04:54

aitor
Member
From: basque country
Registered: 2016-12-03
Posts: 219  
Website

Re: No Sound ALSA

tux wrote:

below is snd blacklist to prevent conflict with othe snd settings.
/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf                       

blacklist snd_soc_skl

You'll find blacklisting worked, but the codec may be reverted back. Here you are one scenario where sound modules are autoloaded on boot despite blacklisting:

https://superuser.com/questions/429255/ … eze-solved

In such cases, it may be a good idea to block loading as well. For example:

blacklist snd_hda_codec_generic
install snd_hda_codec_generic /bin/false

Last edited by aitor (2022-10-17 22:24:35)


If you work systematically, things will come by itself (Lev D. Landau)

Offline

#60 2022-10-18 21:31:28

davmes
Member
Registered: 2021-10-14
Posts: 7  

Re: No Sound ALSA

Have you tried deleting the files in ~/.config/pulse and then doing a "pulseaudio -k"? It fixed my sound problem.

Offline

#61 2022-10-19 17:36:44

tux
Member
Registered: 2022-10-01
Posts: 45  

Re: No Sound ALSA

Cirrus Logic Chip mean no sound
Cirrus chips have no documentation, must be reverse engineered by developers. scripts on configs not liky to commited to KMS.

alsamixer cli must have Cirrus Logic CS8409

stable is Cirrus Logic Generic
backport is Cirrus Logic CS8409 with aitor install instructions

adding blacklist snd_hda_codec_generic not sound after reboot
alsamixer with blacklist  install snd_hda_codec_generic /bin/false on shows pulse no other card options.

sudo pulseaudio -k
E: [pulseaudio] main.c: Failed to kill daemon: No such process
sudo insmod ./snd-hda-codec-cs8409.ko sadf
insmod: ERROR: could not load module ./snd-hda-codec-cs8409.ko: No such file or 
directory

install 5.19 first install failed. output

sudo apt-get install linux-headers-5.19.0-0
dkms: running auto installation service for kernel 5.19.0-0.deb11.2-rt-amd64:Error! Could not locate dkms.conf file.
File: /var/lib/dkms/snd_hda_codec_cs8409/1.0/source/dkms.conf does not exist.
 failed!
run-parts: /etc/kernel/header_postinst.d/dkms exited with return code 4

synaptic install of 5.19 success. on bootin kernel panic

new 5.18 kernel find card. daedalus 5.10.70 older than backports. ceres at 5.14.9 according to distrowatch. no 6.1 backports.

Last edited by tux (2022-10-19 21:19:39)

Offline

#62 2022-10-19 18:11:30

aitor
Member
From: basque country
Registered: 2016-12-03
Posts: 219  
Website

Re: No Sound ALSA

tux wrote:
sudo apt-get install linux-headers-5.19.0-0
dkms: running auto installation service for kernel 5.19.0-0.deb11.2-rt-amd64:Error! Could not locate dkms.conf file.
File: /var/lib/dkms/snd_hda_codec_cs8409/1.0/source/dkms.conf does not exist.
 failed!
run-parts: /etc/kernel/header_postinst.d/dkms exited with return code 4

Files located at /usr/src/snd_hda_codec_cs8409-1.0/ are copied to /var/lib/dkms/snd_hda_codec_cs8409/1.0/source/ where the build process is carried out.
I guess that you forgot to edit dkms.conf in /usr/src/snd...

Last edited by aitor (2022-10-19 18:31:37)


If you work systematically, things will come by itself (Lev D. Landau)

Offline

#63 2022-10-19 18:17:11

aitor
Member
From: basque country
Registered: 2016-12-03
Posts: 219  
Website

Re: No Sound ALSA

tux wrote:

install 5.19 first install failed. output

$ sudo apt-get install linux-headers-5.19.0-0
...

Is that the running kernel? Higher versions like 5.19.0-2 do exist in Daedalus.


If you work systematically, things will come by itself (Lev D. Landau)

Offline

#64 2022-10-19 18:26:33

aitor
Member
From: basque country
Registered: 2016-12-03
Posts: 219  
Website

Re: No Sound ALSA

On the other hand, are you getting random noise with:

$ aplay /dev/urandom -f dat -D hw:1,0

or any other card,device pair?

Last edited by aitor (2022-10-19 18:26:51)


If you work systematically, things will come by itself (Lev D. Landau)

Offline

#65 2022-10-19 18:35:58

aitor
Member
From: basque country
Registered: 2016-12-03
Posts: 219  
Website

Re: No Sound ALSA

Are you trying to build the driver again? If so, you are mixing hyphens and underscores. Use hyphens instead, and include an alias after the installation as I pointed out on sunday.

Last edited by aitor (2022-10-19 18:36:27)


If you work systematically, things will come by itself (Lev D. Landau)

Offline

#66 2022-10-19 21:36:31

tux
Member
Registered: 2022-10-01
Posts: 45  

Re: No Sound ALSA

aplay /dev/urandom -f dat -D hw:1,0
aplay: main:830: audio open error: No such file or directory

how install daedalus with signed 5.19.13 or highter, kernel 5.19 give kernel panic at boot

hyphens set and it install correctly, the script must be altered and include specific hardware numbers.
davidjo at github go into more detail in issues pages.

scritps build developed on higher linux kernel

Last edited by tux (2022-10-19 21:44:23)

Offline

#67 2022-10-20 19:54:46

aitor
Member
From: basque country
Registered: 2016-12-03
Posts: 219  
Website

Re: No Sound ALSA

tux wrote:
sudo apt-get install linux-headers-5.19.0-0
dkms: running auto installation service for kernel 5.19.0-0.deb11.2-rt-amd64:Error! Could not locate dkms.conf file.
File: /var/lib/dkms/snd_hda_codec_cs8409/1.0/source/dkms.conf does not exist.
 failed!
run-parts: /etc/kernel/header_postinst.d/dkms exited with return code 4

Remove the folder /var/lib/dkms/snd_hda_codec_cs8409 and reinstall the headers:

$ sudo apt-get --reinstall install linux-headers-5.19.0-0

If you work systematically, things will come by itself (Lev D. Landau)

Offline

#68 2022-10-20 20:01:51

tux
Member
Registered: 2022-10-01
Posts: 45  

Re: No Sound ALSA

aitor you release a fork today and have time time to trouble shoot, how?

testing fork iso with 6.1 incoming?

Last edited by tux (2022-10-20 20:02:46)

Offline

#69 2022-10-20 20:04:57

aitor
Member
From: basque country
Registered: 2016-12-03
Posts: 219  
Website

Re: No Sound ALSA

tux wrote:

aitor you release a fork today and have time time to trouble shoot, how?

testing fork iso with 6.1 incoming?

Fork? Sorry,  but I don't know what are you talking about. I didn't release anything today.

Last edited by aitor (2022-10-20 20:09:50)


If you work systematically, things will come by itself (Lev D. Landau)

Offline

#70 2022-10-20 20:18:24

tux
Member
Registered: 2022-10-01
Posts: 45  

Re: No Sound ALSA

distrowatch listed gnuinos for upcoming review, distro released earlier?

Offline

#71 2022-10-20 20:25:58

aitor
Member
From: basque country
Registered: 2016-12-03
Posts: 219  
Website

Re: No Sound ALSA

tux wrote:

distrowatch listed gnuinos for upcoming review, distro released earlier?

This is the first I have heard of gnuinos being mentioned in distrowatch.


If you work systematically, things will come by itself (Lev D. Landau)

Offline

#72 2022-11-21 13:02:47

seeker
Member
Registered: 2019-02-17
Posts: 20  

Re: No Sound ALSA

Skimming this thread while getting ready for work, and this may have been covered already.

I had a problem with sound not coming back after I use the Mute keys on my laptop (Fn + F1). You can hit the toggle and it says Muted/Unmuted on the LXDE Volume widget. Ran a bunch of the tests you ran earlier and everything checked out fine. Don't remember how I found it, but if I looked in QasMixer the dot at the bottom of the Master Volume slider was not filled. Clicked that and suddenly there is sound. May have been when I was in Alsamixer GUI and it the speaker icons above the Master control were white and did not have the "sound waves" (parenthesis symbols) on them. You can click the icons to turn them on and off.

Start a stream and set the volume level pretty high, so you can see if the sound comes on when you click either of the control icons I referenced above.

Offline

Board footer