The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2022-06-03 06:50:08

charliebrownau
Member
Registered: 2022-04-14
Posts: 46  

Alsa Default issues - Audiobox USB + mobo Onboard + AMD HDMI

Gday

After purging pipewire and pulse from my system
I'm having a few issues with default alsa settings

Im looking for some help please .... I might of pressed too many buttons

---

I did have Alsa working with - Smplayer + Mumble + LibreWolf + OpenRA, yet steam wasnt working
after a bit of mucking around its back to not working right anymore

---

PC:

CPU :   Ryzen 3700X
Mobo:  GA B450M S2H
Distro:  Devuan GNU/Linux 5 (daedalus/ceres) x86
Kernel:  5.17.0-1-amd64
GPU:     Asrock RX 580 (which comes up as ATI HDMI)
Sound card:  Presonus Audiobox USB

---

aplay -l


**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 10: HDMI 4 [HDMI 4]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 11: HDMI 5 [HDMI 5]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

card 1: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 0: ALC887-VD Analog [ALC887-VD Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 1: ALC887-VD Digital [ALC887-VD Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

card 2: USB [AudioBox USB], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

---

mousepad /etc/asound.conf

   defaults.pcm.card 2
   defaults.ctl.card 2


pcm.!default {
   type hw
   card 2
}

ctl.!default {
   type hw
   card 2
}


----

smplayer is v21.10.0 (apt installed )

---

Using volumeicon instead of pulseaudio tray
alsamixergui fails to load , yet previous reboot it dedefaulted to onboard sound

---

cli   alsamixer
defaults to Audiobox USB
choosing F6 lists

default 0 - HDA ATI HDMI
default 1 - HD-Audio Generic
default 2 - Audiobox USB

---

Can I remove/disable ATI HDMI and onboard HD-Audio ?

Also does dev1/debian include a proper audio mixer and sound levels program without
Pulse or pipewire besides alsamixergui , id like to select volume for steam/mumble/smplayer/browser/etc


Let me know if you need anymore info/config settings/etc

Regards
Charliebrownau
Charliebrownau@protonmail.com

Offline

#2 2022-06-03 09:13:22

GlennW
Member
Registered: 2019-07-18
Posts: 247  

Re: Alsa Default issues - Audiobox USB + mobo Onboard + AMD HDMI

Hi, if the onboard sound chip is not used by anyother OS, I disable onboard audio in the bios... Advanced/Onboard Devices Conf... HD Audio Controller.

That may simplify things a bit.

I also had hdmi sound from my video card... The way I stopped this from being activated was to rmmod the module in /etc/rc.local

On my system the module in question is "snd_hda_codec_hdmi"

you may find yours by

lsmod | grep hdmi

you should see one there with (ati and) hdmi in the name. Mine is an nVidia graphics card.

/etc/rc.local

rmmod -f snd_hda_codec_hdmi

Now, this may not be the most elegant way, but it works on my system (snd_hda_codec_hdmi has dependants like intel).

btw, I also use a USB sound box. Edirole UA-25EX

I hope this helps. regards Glenn

Last edited by GlennW (2022-06-03 09:15:06)

Offline

#3 2022-06-03 10:51:38

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 2,436  

Re: Alsa Default issues - Audiobox USB + mobo Onboard + AMD HDMI

charliebrownau wrote:

id like to select volume for steam/mumble/smplayer/browser/etc

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=131853


To obtain a root shell use su -. Using just su will result in "command not found" messages.

Offline

#4 2022-06-04 04:47:34

charliebrownau
Member
Registered: 2022-04-14
Posts: 46  

Re: Alsa Default issues - Audiobox USB + mobo Onboard + AMD HDMI

Gday
Thanks for the response

Ive disabled onboard audio in the BIOS

Ive used that tip to remove HDMI audio

It now has no option but to default to Audiobox USB

I ended up installing {{{ PULSEAUDIO}}

I'm doing some benchmarks and tests

and ill look into removing pulse again

{{{ THEY }}} don't make it easy to remove the subversion corporation creep bloat from Linux

All the best
have a great weekend all

Offline

#5 2022-06-04 05:22:40

GlennW
Member
Registered: 2019-07-18
Posts: 247  

Re: Alsa Default issues - Audiobox USB + mobo Onboard + AMD HDMI

Thank you charliebrownau, let us /me know how you go with no pulse...

I'd prefer not to use pulse but each time I try I end up with something/s not working, mostly web browsers audio.

Maybe I could use your tips.

Have a great day!

Offline

#6 2022-06-04 06:56:48

charliebrownau
Member
Registered: 2022-04-14
Posts: 46  

Re: Alsa Default issues - Audiobox USB + mobo Onboard + AMD HDMI

I found these programs work with ALSA only

*   LibreWolf - Web browser
*   SMPLAYER - Video player
*   Shortcut - Video editor
*   Mumble - VOIP gaming mic chat software

*   OpenRA - Game (non steam)
*   ATS/ETS - Game (steam)

Offline

#7 2022-06-04 09:24:39

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 2,436  

Re: Alsa Default issues - Audiobox USB + mobo Onboard + AMD HDMI

All my Steam games work just fine without any sound severs running in both Arch (with systemd) and Alpine Linux (with busybox/OpenRC), even under Proton.

I don't have any external cards but I do have HDMI that I didn't have to forcefully disable.

Here is my working /etc/asound.conf:

defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.ctl.card 1

Here are my devices:

$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Generic_1 [HD-Audio Generic], device 0: ALC257 Analog [ALC257 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
$

So card 1 is the analogue card. It would probably be better to use Generic_1 in case the numbers change but they never do.

Not sure why you're trying to access the hardware directly with the extra lines in your configuration but I don't really understand what that "mixer" thing does hmm


To obtain a root shell use su -. Using just su will result in "command not found" messages.

Offline

#8 2022-06-06 11:47:32

GlennW
Member
Registered: 2019-07-18
Posts: 247  

Re: Alsa Default issues - Audiobox USB + mobo Onboard + AMD HDMI

Correction!

I think removing the module, as I specified before may have been causing kernel lockups.

I saw one error that mentioned the snd-hda-intel module, which is dependant on (or to) snd_hda_codec_hdmi.

I'm using HoaS's asound configuration for ~.asoundrc, No lockups.

Offline

Board footer