The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2022-03-29 16:06:52

Micronaut
Member
Registered: 2019-07-04
Posts: 169  

How do you get stubby to actually work?

After installing stubby I has assumed that it did what was necessary to activate it's service. But actually, it does not. My resolv.conf is set to Google, which is what my modem/router is set to put in it's DHCP notifications. It turns out that you have to manually change your Network Manager settings to not get DNS from DHCP, and then manually edit resolv.conf to point to 127.0.0.1 -- and after doing his I have no DNS. Stubby is not resolving addresses.

So, who has this actually working and how did you do it?

Last edited by Micronaut (2022-03-29 16:07:03)

Offline

#2 2022-03-29 17:12:06

Camtaf
Member
Registered: 2019-11-19
Posts: 189  

Re: How do you get stubby to actually work?

Via the menu.

Applications > Settings > Panel

Offline

#3 2022-03-30 09:45:18

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 2,429  

Re: How do you get stubby to actually work?

The package doesn't supply an init script but it seems to work if stubby is run manually so see https://dev1galaxy.org/viewtopic.php?id=4865 for a way to generate and enable an init script from /lib/systemd/system/stubby.service using sysd2v.sh.


To obtain a root shell use su -. Using just su will result in "command not found" messages.

Offline

Board footer