The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-05-16 01:06:21

thegrumpyone
Member
Registered: 2019-05-16
Posts: 2  

Display settings [SOLVED]

Have just installed Devuan 2.0.0 amd64 1 and cannot get my three screens working as the display manager only registers with default display and I cannot make any changes whatever. Also when I go to synaptic to downaod packages it requests me to insert disc containing Devuan 2.0.0 amd64 to continue but I installed via USB and when I insert that it does nothing

Last edited by thegrumpyone (2019-05-17 00:10:06)

Offline

#2 2019-05-16 01:09:29

sl
Member
Registered: 2019-05-11
Posts: 7  

Re: Display settings [SOLVED]

If you have an Nvidia GPU you will need to install the nvidia-driver package and reboot. Then all of your screens should work. (However, when I tried to do this with KDE, it totally broke KDE for some reason and the desktop wouldn't load anymore. So I reinstalled with Xfce instead.)

To install packages, do sudo apt edit-sources and then put a # in front of any lines containing "cdrom". This will comment them out so that they are no longer used as sources. After that you will probably need to do sudo apt update. Hope this helps.

Last edited by sl (2019-05-16 01:10:43)


"When Satan tempts me to despair
And tells me of the guilt within
Upward I look and see Him there
Who made an end of all my sin"

Offline

#3 2019-05-16 11:25:25

thegrumpyone
Member
Registered: 2019-05-16
Posts: 2  

Re: Display settings [SOLVED]

How do I mark this as Solved??

Offline

#4 2019-05-16 12:02:41

ralph.ronnquist
Administrator
From: Clifton Hill, Victoria, AUS
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 328  

Re: Display settings [SOLVED]

Threads are dynamically named by the Subject line of their first post.
Thus: edit the first post, and change the Subject line.

Offline

#5 2019-05-16 15:38:14

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 157  
Website

Re: Display settings [SOLVED]

I think the nouveau package will also work with multiple displays as long as the firmware is installed:

https://pkginfo.devuan.org/stage/ascii/ … 130-5.html

There is a newer version in the ascii-backports repository if your card needs that.


Fabricando fit faber

Offline

#6 2019-05-20 10:46:09

ToxicExMachina
Member
Registered: 2019-03-11
Posts: 75  

Re: Display settings [SOLVED]

apt-get install arandr

May be you have to enable screens manually.

Besides, nvidia has the worst multidisplay support ever: https://www.tomshardware.com/news/nvidi … 24519.html

Offline

Board footer