The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2022-12-11 18:00:59

dev-1-dash-1
Member
Registered: 2018-08-02
Posts: 99  

[SOLVED] Beowulf's debootstrap doesn't contain "daedalus" script

In beowulf official repos, there are 2 versions of debootstrap.
A standard one, and a backported one.
Neither one contains "daedalus" script in "/usr/share/debootstrap/functions".

Offline

#2 2022-12-11 23:59:58

ralph.ronnquist
Administrator
From: Clifton Hill, Victoria, AUS
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 859  

Re: [SOLVED] Beowulf's debootstrap doesn't contain "daedalus" script

Note that all Devuan scripts are links to the ceres script. E.g.

/usr/share/debootstrap/scripts/daedalus -> ceres

You'll need to set that.

Online

#3 2022-12-12 00:41:00

dev-1-dash-1
Member
Registered: 2018-08-02
Posts: 99  

Re: [SOLVED] Beowulf's debootstrap doesn't contain "daedalus" script

ralph.ronnquist wrote:

Note that all Devuan scripts are links to the ceres script. E.g.

/usr/share/debootstrap/scripts/daedalus -> ceres

You'll need to set that.

Thanks for the reply.

Does the actual link name (i.e. "daedalus" in this case) have any effect on the result, or I can just call it "qwiehpjadshflakjhds", link it to ceres, and it will install the same testing/ceres system?

Also, is there any difference between, say, creating a "daedalus" link on my beowulf system, and getting a later (from chimaera) version of debootstrap and using that? I usually use the latter approach.

Offline

#4 2022-12-12 01:21:17

ralph.ronnquist
Administrator
From: Clifton Hill, Victoria, AUS
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 859  

Re: [SOLVED] Beowulf's debootstrap doesn't contain "daedalus" script

The name of the link is used to nominate the "suite" being loaded. That part of the scripting is the same for all suites. Other than that, the debootstrap software may differ between versions.

Online

#5 2022-12-12 01:51:55

dev-1-dash-1
Member
Registered: 2018-08-02
Posts: 99  

Re: [SOLVED] Beowulf's debootstrap doesn't contain "daedalus" script

ralph.ronnquist wrote:

The name of the link is used to nominate the "suite" being loaded.

Well, that much is obvious indeed.

Let's mark this one solved.

Offline

Board footer