The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2022-08-25 02:17:47

Gregors
Member
From: Freiburg, Germany
Registered: 2018-08-09
Posts: 21  
Website

[done] Hibernate not working

Hi there!

When I leave my PC for a short time I use suspend-to-ram („Bereitschaft“) which works fine.

In order to save energy I would like to use suspend-to-disk („Ruhezustand“), which either gives me an error message:
error.png
when pressing the power button (swap is 11.8G [says fdisk], RAM is 8G)
-or-
when using pm-hibernate leaves my system powered on with a blank screen - and I can't bring it back to life.

So, what can I do to put my system into a state where I can „pull the plug“ without using „halt“?

TIA

Gregor

Last edited by Gregors (2022-08-25 16:20:23)

Offline

#2 2022-08-25 08:10:37

Marjorie
Member
From: Teignmouth, UK
Registered: 2019-06-09
Posts: 153  

Re: [done] Hibernate not working

Have you told the system where swap for hiberation is?

The usual place is in the file /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume

On my system swap in on a LVM volume, so I have:

marjorie@grendel:~$  cat /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume
RESUME=/dev/mapper/grendel--vg-grendel--swap

For a non-LVM system this would be:
RESUME=/dev/sdxn

where /dev/sdxn is your swap partition.

You can also specify swap using UUID
RESUME=UUID=

To disable change it to
RESUME=NONE

You will then need to update your initramfs to make it work.

sudo update-initramfs -u
sudo reboot

Last edited by Marjorie (2022-08-25 14:30:22)

Offline

#3 2022-08-25 14:18:05

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 2,528  

Re: [done] Hibernate not working

Gregors wrote:

swap is 11.8G [says fdisk]

The fdisk utility can't tell if the swap is activated and in use.

Use

cat /proc/swaps

Or

free -h

Offline

#4 2022-08-25 15:23:16

Gregors
Member
From: Freiburg, Germany
Registered: 2018-08-09
Posts: 21  
Website

Re: [done] Hibernate not working

Oh, you're right.

'cat /proc/swaps' gives me

root@mimi:/home/gszaktilla# cat /proc/swaps 
Filename                                Type            Size            Used            Priority
root@mimi:/home/gszaktilla#

and 'free -h' tells

root@mimi:/home/gszaktilla# free -h
               total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:           7.8Gi       1.3Gi       5.6Gi        16Mi       900Mi       6.2Gi
Swap:             0B          0B          0B
root@mimi:/home/gszaktilla#

So i'll try to fix that. Thanks a lot so far!

Gregor

PS: After changing the fstab line to use the PARTUUID everything works fine. Thanks for the help!

Last edited by Gregors (2022-08-25 16:19:59)

Offline

Board footer