The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2022-03-04 14:57:48

k3yw0ow
Member
Registered: 2022-02-08
Posts: 21  

Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)

Hello everyone!

I'm tryin install Devuan via command-line - Devuan GNU+Linux Command-line Installation Guide (In progress). However, I encounter an error when installing certain packages inside the chroot, such an error appears for example:

 Errors were encountered while processing:
  orphan-sysvinit-scripts
 E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)

Thank you to whoever is willing helped me and a great job to the Devuan team.

Offline

#2 2022-03-04 16:32:18

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 2,326  

Re: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)

Perhaps it's your strange mount options.

Do you still experience the error if you use arch-chroot(8) instead of the string of mount commands?

This version works for me when chrooting into a test container from Alpine:

for i in proc sys dev{,/pts} ; do mount --bind /$i /mnt/$i ; done
chroot /mnt /bin/su -

Using /bin/su - instead of /bin/bash ensures the correct login environment.


To obtain a root shell use su -. Using just su will result in "command not found" messages.

Offline

#3 2022-03-04 22:12:57

k3yw0ow
Member
Registered: 2022-02-08
Posts: 21  

Re: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Perhaps it's your strange mount options.

Do you still experience the error if you use arch-chroot(8) instead of the string of mount commands?

This version works for me when chrooting into a test container from Alpine:

for i in proc sys dev{,/pts} ; do mount --bind /$i /mnt/$i ; done
chroot /mnt /bin/su -

Using /bin/su - instead of /bin/bash ensures the correct login environment.

Right, I tested an installation using arch-chroot instead of set the mount commands and the result was the same. I will try the other way you indicated above.

Last edited by k3yw0ow (2022-03-04 22:13:26)

Offline

#4 2022-03-07 00:18:19

k3yw0ow
Member
Registered: 2022-02-08
Posts: 21  

Re: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)

k3yw0ow wrote:
Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Perhaps it's your strange mount options.

Do you still experience the error if you use arch-chroot(8) instead of the string of mount commands?

This version works for me when chrooting into a test container from Alpine:

for i in proc sys dev{,/pts} ; do mount --bind /$i /mnt/$i ; done
chroot /mnt /bin/su -

Using /bin/su - instead of /bin/bash ensures the correct login environment.

Right, I tested an installation using arch-chroot instead of set the mount commands and the result was the same. I will try the other way you indicated above.

Error persists sad

Offline

#5 2022-03-07 09:28:48

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 2,326  

Re: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)

Well I can't reproduce the problem so I can't help. I have no problem installing packages in my test container.

EDIT: and I've just installed a new Debian bullseye system from Alpine using a similar method. Everything works fine.

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2022-03-07 14:26:42)


To obtain a root shell use su -. Using just su will result in "command not found" messages.

Offline

#6 2022-03-09 15:46:13

k3yw0ow
Member
Registered: 2022-02-08
Posts: 21  

Re: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Well I can't reproduce the problem so I can't help. I have no problem installing packages in my test container.

EDIT: and I've just installed a new Debian bullseye system from Alpine using a similar method. Everything works fine.

I also tested using devuan_chimaera_4.0.0_amd64_desktop-live.iso and it worked perfectly. I don't know what might be happening, maybe it's a problem with apt. hmm

Last edited by k3yw0ow (2022-03-09 15:47:45)

Offline

Board footer