The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-04-20 22:04:18

coyotito
Member
Registered: 2019-09-26
Posts: 9  

command line problems

Seems there are changes to Debian buster that affect the command line.
For some reason they have messed up the PATH variable for root so things like dpkg-reconfigure no longer work.
This error was carried over to my netinst installation (Debian ncurses installer from usb stick).
That has to be fixed, confusing for the user.
And please include wvdial in a standard install with DE and Wicd, so useful if you only have an usb 4G modem.

Offline

#2 2020-04-20 22:29:33

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 654  
Website

Re: command line problems

http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=142973

This issue is also covered in the first post in the Devuan beowulf beta thread.


"Il semble que la perfection soit atteinte non quand il n'y a plus rien à ajouter, mais quand il n'y a plus rien à retrancher." — Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Offline

#3 2020-04-20 23:05:33

coyotito
Member
Registered: 2019-09-26
Posts: 9  

Re: command line problems

Sorry smile This installation is a bit weird. Now it refuses to run Synaptic, says command not found in terminal.. I'll get it sorted. Sheesh .. now music files are playing double speed..  Not boring anyway

Last edited by coyotito (2020-04-21 00:09:23)

Offline

#4 2020-04-22 18:31:05

coyotito
Member
Registered: 2019-09-26
Posts: 9  

Re: command line problems

Found a weird bashrc in the root folder, replaced it with the one in /etc/skel and manually added the normal folders for executables, just to be sure. Now Synaptic etc start from terminal. Audio file playback speed sorted itself out after a reboot. Looking good for a beta

Offline

#5 2020-05-05 21:29:04

coyotito
Member
Registered: 2019-09-26
Posts: 9  

Re: command line problems

PATH is still messed up, most commands don't work in console.
The export path command only fixes it until next reboot. Well, I can find workarounds for the few things I need the console for.

Other than that the installation is very stable and stuff works.

Offline

#6 2020-05-05 21:57:20

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2019-03-24
Posts: 654  
Website

Re: command line problems

coyotito wrote:

PATH is still messed up, most commands don't work in console.

How is your PATH "messed up"? Which commands don't work?

To help us understand the problem please log in as your normal user and show us the output of

echo $PATH

Then run this command and post the PATH again:

su -

^ That should result in the /sbin directories being included.


"Il semble que la perfection soit atteinte non quand il n'y a plus rien à ajouter, mais quand il n'y a plus rien à retrancher." — Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Offline

Board footer