The officially official Devuan Forum!

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-04-08 07:06:32

lafat
Member
Registered: 2020-04-08
Posts: 14  

Beowulf Beta Issues

Guys, not sure if this is the place to post problems but here we go:

1. netinstall failed after installer downloaded everything; it simply failed (USB install from downloaded netinstall.iso, clean system, not virtual pc)
2. Libreoffice cannot run from Live-DVD/USB
3. grub install from Live-DVD/USB takes FOREVER. Tried on multiple machines.
4. Sound issue (mentioned in release note)
5. Redshift does not work (important for me). It runs beautifully on ASCII
6. Boot and general running feel slower compared to ASCII (intel i3-380m, 8G ram, SSD)
7. Not a bug but is it possible to use XFCE 4.14? Need 4K HIDPI.


I'm not a tech savvy person. I just want to run a stable system. ASCII has been perfect for me for the last 2 years. I hope the kinks in Beowulf get ironed out soon.

Devuan is awesome. Thanks guys.

Last edited by lafat (2020-04-08 07:11:12)

Offline

#2 2020-04-08 09:02:28

danista
Member
Registered: 2017-10-18
Posts: 32  

Re: Beowulf Beta Issues

lafat wrote:

Guys, not sure if this is the place to post problems but here we go:
7. Not a bug but is it possible to use XFCE 4.14? Need 4K HIDPI.

You can try changing the source.list to chimaera instead beowulf

Offline

#3 2020-04-08 09:10:39

Andre4freedom
Member
Registered: 2017-11-15
Posts: 34  

Re: Beowulf Beta Issues

I think lafat is right to post installation issues here....?
I'd like to add my few notes about the most recent Beowulf-beta installation media.

devuan_beowulf_3.0.0_beta_amd64_desktop-live iso: (march 13, 2020)
- All the install-process goes pretty well,
- The live iso recognizes the AMD radeon graphics chip correctly (great!)
- The refracta-installer does it's job
- Installation of the GRUB Boot loader (on a MBR-BIOS system) completely fails:
- System not bootable

devuan_beowulf_3.0.0_beta_amd64_desktop iso : (march 13, 2020)
- text-installer (ok)
- process works quite well, as usual
- does not install AMD radeon graphics xorg driver (can be done at the command-line)
- installer does NOT honour language and keyboard settings after reboot (can be fixed...)
- when choosing cinnamon desktop:
-- /etc/pam.d/lightdm-greeter still not correct (uses pam_systemd.so instead of pam_elogind.so)
-- /etc/pulse/client.conf.d/00-disable-autospawn.conf still wrong (comment out: autospawn=no)

My productive desktop and laptop systems all use Beowulf, but after installation of Ascii and upgrading them to Beowulf. And then they run like a charm (very happy).
Servers are still on Ascii, the run very well. Everything runs with Open-RC.
I think Devuan is still the best and I love it.
Thank you all!

Offline

#4 2020-04-08 09:13:41

danista
Member
Registered: 2017-10-18
Posts: 32  

Re: Beowulf Beta Issues

lafat wrote:

Guys, not sure if this is the place to post problems but here we go:
6. Boot and general running feel slower compared to ASCII (intel i3-380m, 8G ram, SSD)

Yes, I also confirm, not using ssd. I tried different kernels. Thunar run slowly, the interface is stupidly slow compared to acsii. But most likely this is no longer a Devuan problem.

Offline

#5 2020-04-08 22:44:09

ralph.ronnquist
Administrator
From: Clifton Hill, Victoria, AUS
Registered: 2016-11-30
Posts: 420  

Re: Beowulf Beta Issues

Good place for comprehensive reports. The ISO build team sends its "thanks!".

Offline

#6 2020-04-09 04:07:04

Dutch_Master
Member
Registered: 2018-05-31
Posts: 141  

Re: Beowulf Beta Issues

Some quick notes from me:

- bare-metal installation, re-used Samsung EVO750 SSD
- upgrade via ASCII (basic ascii system install, change sources to beowulf, dist-upgrade)
- sudo not installed (I don't use it, under ascii it's pulled in anyway, IIRC as dependency somewhere)
- installing package with dpkg fails with complaint about missing PATH for root (as root!)
- installing same package with apt works
- added Webmin repo in sources.list (+ apt-key), installed Webmin successfully
- cannot halt system via cli (as root!), via Webmin interface works (system shuts down)

This is a temporary install for a short-term project, shutting down in the next week or so.

HTH!

Offline

#7 2020-04-09 13:27:47

aus9
Member
Registered: 2020-03-24
Posts: 37  

Re: Beowulf Beta Issues

@Dutch_Master writes

snip
installing package with dpkg fails with complaint about missing PATH for root (as root!)

here is the contents of /etc/profile that might assist?

# /etc/profile: system-wide .profile file for the Bourne shell (sh(1))
# and Bourne compatible shells (bash(1), ksh(1), ash(1), ...).

if [ "`id -u`" -eq 0 ]; then
  PATH="/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin"
else
  PATH="/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/local/games:/usr/games"
fi
export PATH

if [ "${PS1-}" ]; then
  if [ "${BASH-}" ] && [ "$BASH" != "/bin/sh" ]; then
    # The file bash.bashrc already sets the default PS1.
    # PS1='\h:\w\$ '
    if [ -f /etc/bash.bashrc ]; then
      . /etc/bash.bashrc
    fi
  else
    if [ "`id -u`" -eq 0 ]; then
      PS1='# '
    else
      PS1='$ '
    fi
  fi
fi

if [ -d /etc/profile.d ]; then
  for i in /etc/profile.d/*.sh; do
    if [ -r $i ]; then
      . $i
    fi
  done
  unset i
fi

also for others in case they are interested.....there is a note in Devuan 3 Beowulf Release Notes that to get root environment you need to run

su -

and not just su

or post 1
https://dev1galaxy.org/viewtopic.php?pid=20509#p20509

cheers

Last edited by aus9 (2020-04-09 13:33:49)

Offline

#8 2020-04-09 14:21:55

fsmithred
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-25
Posts: 1,503  

Re: Beowulf Beta Issues

To revert to the old behavior of su, put the following line in /etc/default/su

ALWAYS_SET_PATH yes

Note: you could put that line in /etc/login.defs instead, but then you may get a useless error message when you log in.

Offline

#9 2020-04-09 14:48:14

Dutch_Master
Member
Registered: 2018-05-31
Posts: 141  

Re: Beowulf Beta Issues

Thx for that. this is what I got after upgrading to beowulf:

cat /etc/profile
# /etc/profile: system-wide .profile file for the Bourne shell (sh(1))
# and Bourne compatible shells (bash(1), ksh(1), ash(1), ...).

if [ "`id -u`" -eq 0 ]; then
  PATH="/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin"
else
  PATH="/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/local/games:/usr/games"
fi
export PATH

if [ "${PS1-}" ]; then
  if [ "${BASH-}" ] && [ "$BASH" != "/bin/sh" ]; then
    # The file bash.bashrc already sets the default PS1.
    # PS1='\h:\w\$ '
    if [ -f /etc/bash.bashrc ]; then
      . /etc/bash.bashrc
    fi
  else
    if [ "`id -u`" -eq 0 ]; then
      PS1='# '
    else
      PS1='$ '
    fi
  fi
fi

if [ -d /etc/profile.d ]; then
  for i in /etc/profile.d/*.sh; do
    if [ -r $i ]; then
      . $i
    fi
  done
  unset i
fi

Probably me, but I can't see a difference?

I'll try the set-path option to see if that works (I assume it will, but one never knows: I've been known to break stock installs tongue wink )

Offline

#10 2020-04-09 15:51:05

Andre4freedom
Member
Registered: 2017-11-15
Posts: 34  

Re: Beowulf Beta Issues

To the "su -" question:
it makes perfect sense to use "su -" to get the root's path.
To use just "su" helps to replace the user that executes a program.
That's the way it was invented and had to be used in the olden days of Unix already.
su = substitute user (uses root when no user given, - executes new users login-shell, the man pages help!)
Cheers to all.

Offline

#11 2020-04-09 18:58:10

PedroReina
Member
From: Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2019-01-13
Posts: 99  
Website

Re: Beowulf Beta Issues

Andre4freedom wrote:

That's the way it was invented and had to be used in the olden days of Unix already.

I agree with you. I like customizing my workplace and I override this classic behaviour. Since around 1999, I change all the profile files of Bash so I just need "su" to get evething in place. I love freedom!

Offline

#12 2020-04-09 19:10:27

lafat
Member
Registered: 2020-04-08
Posts: 14  

Re: Beowulf Beta Issues

Couldn't get Bluetooth to work no matter what... Gave up, went back to ASCII. Life's suddenly better. Everything works and yes, it indeed is faster than Beowulf Beta atm.

Offline

#13 2020-04-09 19:18:57

lafat
Member
Registered: 2020-04-08
Posts: 14  

Re: Beowulf Beta Issues

danista wrote:
lafat wrote:

Guys, not sure if this is the place to post problems but here we go:
7. Not a bug but is it possible to use XFCE 4.14? Need 4K HIDPI.

You can try changing the source.list to chimaera instead beowulf

Thanks but that will give me updates I don't want. I wanna lock in to Beowulf or ASCII and use XFCE 4.14, don't know how to do that. lol tongue

So far, ASCII works much better for me. I'll give Beowulf another try once it's Beta2/RC or released.

Offline

Board footer